We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“BIRTHDAY DISSAPOINTMENT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Camden Arms Restaurant

The Camden Arms Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Pembury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BIRTHDAY DISSAPOINTMENT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

.We arrived at the camden arms early evening on the 7th august 2013,at the reception we noticed a score of four and a half out of five from trip advisor.We went to the bar and we were asked if we was eating that evening,before we knew it we was taken to a table and seated and given a menu,the waitress walked off and never asked if we would like a drink.after 10 minutes the waitress returned we orderd two cokes,a steak bagguette with chips & my wife orderd the camden chicken in ciabatta and cajun onion rings.twenty minutes later the waitress turned up with our dinners.The steak in my baguette was hard,fatty and chewy,My wifes cajun onion rings tasted of fish,the ciabatta was hard and stale,the camden chicken was tasteless.
After we finished eating we went to the bar to pay thats when the bar lady asked if our dinner was ok and we replied no it was'nt.The manager was called over and we was refunded for my wifes dinner.My birthday dinner was spoilt and we will not return to the camden arms again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 388terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    55
    25
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely meal lovely pub lovely outside area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the area for a wedding didn't want to eat at the hotel we was in so thought we would give this place a try had good reviews and menu looked good WOW loved it 5 of us went and all had different meals sirloin steak, gammon, lamb, salad and stroganoff every meal was excellent hot and tasty. Staff were all friendly and pub was clean and welcoming, would recommend this place to eat

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dsmith282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We picked this restaurant after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and it didn't Disappoint we all had different meals the service was quick and the meals where just the same the food was hot the very well Presented. My wife can be I little fussy when we go to places we don't know but I must say the food was amazing and will be going back very soon. Make sure your hungry because you will be leaving stuffed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane212smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Firstly we must say that we went to this pub to eat and not to stay.
The Sunday night carvery looked quite nice and we thought that a good country pub could not mess that up. How wrong we were!
The roast beef & turkey were tasteless but the ham was ok as it was salty and could not be overlooked.
The roast potatoes looked nice and crisp so we expected them to make up for the poor meat. They were worse! Overlooked and hard as rocks just like the parsnip. The other vegetables were just OK

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlylehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great for a Sunday Roast, the carvery is excellent value for money. Service is good and food plentiful. Go early and you don't need to book.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CynRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camden Arms Restaurant also viewed

Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Camden Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing