We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Never stayed, but the food is fab!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Camden Arms Restaurant

The Camden Arms Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Pembury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never stayed, but the food is fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have never stayed at this hotel and one could easily be put off by the huge car park and the "big pub on the green " look about the place.This may be offputting, however stick with it and get inside. The beers and wines selection are fantastic! The friendly energy and keenness of the staff to enable you to enjoy the fare on offer is overwhelming, and just get hold of that menu! How do the kitchen staff cope with the prep and service of such a wide range of food in such good time? It will take longer than average to make your selection. You can eat in the bar or the restaurant set aside and the quality of the food is sublime, from beautifully prepared scallops to a boxed Camembert, just dont follow it, like I did, with the breaded lamb shank. Generous portions? The expression was contrived for this place. This is good home cooking with a swanky twist if you want it. As for the four hungry blokes back from clay shooting in the rain. This was just what was required! Well done Camden Arms Hotel!!!!!!!!!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    26
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed place to enjoy a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ate four night running because of ease of access to the hotel for semi disabled guests. Plenty of choice-amazing crab salad one night. Very friendly staff and plenty of room between tables. There are two tables overlooking the village green and in winter there's some cosy snugs. Very reasonably priced for quality of food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good-but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having been here many years ago when this pub was part of the beefeater chain I vowed never to return. However, due to unforseen circumstances we were stuck in Pembury and needed some food-quickly. The pub opposite was not serving until 7pm????so we reluctantly tried the camden arms.
It does look a bit tired-country pub, but not that well looked after-but could be worse. The menu is huge! often the sign of a bad pub/restaurant-how can they cook all that lot well and fresh??
Well we kicked off with the baked camenbert and chilli jam to share-what arrived was a molten bowl of yumminess and the jam had a nice kick! Only observation was the bread portion was a bit tight-even for people that dont eat much bread! To be fair we did not ask for a top up-which i feel would have been gladly provided. I then had the local sausage baguette and chips, and my other half the haloumi pitta and chips. Both were very nice-good sausage-really nice chips-not your average soul less pub ones but nice and thin-still with a bit of skin on. Over all it was great-and quite reasonably priced.
The big dissapointment was the service-it was quick, but lacked any character-the waitresses seemed more focussed on gossiping at the bar than giving a good experience. I also could not work out how to give a tip on the card terminal-for those two reasons we did not leave a tip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sestevenswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well presented and fresh tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We only had lunch but it was well presented and all homemade which was nice. Nice size portions too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuliaT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“OK but rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived at 6 30 on a Sunday evening to be welcomed by staff and a wide choice of seats. We chose the carvery, (only available on Sundays). Meat portion size was possibly small, for the money, but vegetable choice was excellent. Meat quality good- we had one beef and one turkey. (Beef was well done.) The whole meal was very satisfactory from taste and general quality perspective. Good choice of real ales but I thought the price of sparkling water excessive. Staff were pleasant but waiting staff seemed very eager to clear the table. (It got very busy as we dined.) The only upset was the older lady behind the bar who I felt was quite rude when I asked if tips were distributed to all staff. (I left 10% so I hope they were.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waffler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camden Arms Restaurant also viewed

Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Camden Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing