We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Reviewed August 17, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jazzie44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 922 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Not a 4 star hotel. The room interiors are average and the lack of air conditioning is a big drawback. The open windows pull in road noise.
The service standard from the staff was not customer centred.
We avoided the breakfast given other reviews.
The car park should be better lit.
The location is good for access to the A21 and Tunbridge Wells.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mhglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear XX14

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am sorry that we did not give you the experience that you expected. Please be assured that this is not the standard that Mercure Tunbridge Wells ordinarily deliver. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Spent one night here with my partner on Saturday for our anniversary. Rooms basic but very clean & comfortable, staff were very helpful nothing was too much bother. However the rooms are very hot, as the hotel has no air conditioning but we notified reception and they were very quick to have a fan sent up to the room.

All in all was a good stay and we'd definitely return if we was to visit the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XX14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear XX14

I would like to thank you for your review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your relaxing stay at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells. We all look forwards to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We contacted this hotel specifically to request a double and a twin room because the children (18 and 15) will share a room but not a bed. On arrival this information had been lost and we'd been allocated 2 doubles. The receptionist was lovely but it was a deal breaker. She did find a family room for the children but warned us that the function room was in use for a party so it may be noisy. As we were attending said party it wasn't a problem.
The rooms were furnished as expected but on one of the hottest weekends of the year I was disappointed at no air conditioning particularly when you consider that it's pretty much standard even in budget hotels in the UK these days. We made the mistake of sleeping with the window wide open, not realising that the bins would be emptied just below us very early the following morning.
Breakfast was a disaster. There were only 3 members of staff and between them they couldn't keep up with clearing and resetting tables, showing guests to tables, taking coffee and tea orders and topping up the breakfast buffet. Consequently there were no juices until asked for, it took two attempts to get hot drinks and the hot food was a farce. A platter of bacon came out and everyone swooped on it, but there were no sausages, eggs or mushrooms. By the time these had been topped up there was no bacon left and so on. It was almost as if the kitchen couldn't keep up with demand. Now here's the thing; you have to check in for breakfast which is pre paid with the room so the hotel should know how many to cater for and staff accordingly. Shan't go back

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Judytapp

I would like to thank you for your review, I would also like to ensure you that breakfast on the morning in question was not to the standard that Mercure Tunbridge Wells are now delivering and I apologise for the experience. The hotel have also ensured that we have enough manual fans to accommodate the heat.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night as went to a wedding reception nearby.
We arrived at reception and the receptionist didn't even smile or welcome us and just asked for our name which took her ages to find.
Another receptionist then came along and started to talk to one dealing with us and both totally ignored us and not even apologised when they finished.
We then was told where our room was and went there. We had a lie down as long journey and for two hours all we could hear was dogs barking so we could not get a nap.
The bed was comfy and we both had a good night sleep and breakfast was very nice.
The decor in the bedroom is very tired looking and needs a refresh big time.
We normally would stay at Premier Inn but was booked up so we couldn't. We wouldn't stay here again by choice as expensive compared to Premier Inn and what you get at Premier Inn is for more than here and a much fresher looking room.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Princess0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Princess0612

I would like to thank you for your review, and the detail regarding check in service. Please be assured that we hold first impressions and customer interaction paramount in the success of our business, I will ensure that I personally follow this up.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Average but comfortable accommodation and strangely laid out bedroom; with more than adequate desk/dresser surfaces, for some reason, to make tea/coffee, guests have to hoik the beverages tray from the top wardrobe shelf . Being caffeine addicts, we were disgruntled that there were only two coffee sachets and two tea bags per room ......

The restaurant prices were beyond our budget -- £13 for a Margherita pizza -- so we had dinner elsewhere, and overall, our stay was marred by a less than mediocre breakfast. The charge of £10 a head for the full English that stews in bain maries from 6.30am is a disgrace.The bacon was pale pink, the sausages shrivelled, the scrambled eggs loofah-like and the 'toast' that emerged (after a long wait) from the conveyer-belt toaster was soggy.
If we stayed again, we'd breakfast at Asda!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ihavetastebuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear ihavetastebuds

I would like to thank you for your review and take on board your comments regarding breakfast offering, please be assured I am taking a great personal interest in the quality.

Thanks Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
745 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
2.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing