We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, whilst attending a birthday party. Lovely use of all facilities, sauna, steam room, pool ect. Hotel & rooms v clean. Staff were friendly, receptionist lovely girl. Bar staff friendly & will serve you till whatever time you want. breakfast staff slightly slow service, bit hectic but was busy, food nice though. Would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemstar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear gemstar30

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Mercure Tunbridge Wells, please be assured that this will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 922 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
5  Thank Susiebelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

For the price of £150 a room I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. We stayed here as we were at a wedding near by. The breakfast staff were just bad. Whilst we waited to be seated at one point a member of staff walked towards us, looked at us and walked away. The buffet wasn't great and wasn't filled up on time.

The rooms were pretty standard although the bed was really springy and twanged a lot when we moved and wasn't very comfortable. Any movement was also amplified as it travelled through the springs meaning my partner gently moving his foot resulted in me bouncing up and down. We were on the ground floor (of 2 floors in total) and were woken each morning as the people above us got up to move around by creaky floor boards.

I would not stay here again. A pretty naff hotel with an overpriced tariff.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank sja1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear sja1964

Thank you for your feedback and please be assured that we will utilise your feedback effectively to ensure our team are focussed on delivering great experiences for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here last Saturday, on arrival there was no one at reception, we waited a while then two women came from the back room. There appearance could do with smartening up. We checked in and were initially given a room with two single beds but we were able to change to a double bedded room without any fuss which was appreciated.
The room was clean but had that dated feel to it, a lovely large bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was functional but we only had one bath towel and one hand towel between the two of us which I thought a bit odd.
We had room 139 which was on the end of a block and felt like we were on the hard shoulder of the motorway. So if you are a light sleeper don't accept this room. The window frame at the bottom was covered in mould which wasn't very pleasant.
The room cost £80 with no breakfast included which felt a bit high especially as it was not near any facilities, the location was not great to be honest. Breakfast is an extra £10 per person and offered a good selection. There seemed to be a lack of waiting staff and we had to wait a very long time for tea and coffee and then again when we wanted a second up. I didn't eat breakfast as I did not feel well and they very kindly deducted this from our bill without any problem.
We wouldn't rush to stay there again as the location was too far out from the town centre and restaurants etc but if your passing through it would be OK. I would try to negotiate breakfast to be included as £100 for two people for one night is a bit steep, during the week hotels are full of business people but at the weekends I would hope to get a better deal.

Room Tip: Avoid room 139. They have weddings here and we were told when we checked in that there could be so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Champagne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Champagne 1958

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please be assured that the room rate pricing is market appropriate. Please also be assured that I am reviewing all your feedback with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A four star hotel which was our base for a Kent and Sussex gardening trip. The main areas were very good and initially we used a room which was used for conferences for our evening meal until we were changed on the third night as another coach party had left. Unfortunately none of us were told of this move which I could have been informed about to let the group know in advance, as the group leader. My room was of a very good standard but was behind the reception where a lot of noise came from the staff which went on until late in the evening and started early in the morning at 5am! The service in the restaurant left a lot to be desired,. This was after I gave out the menus each day and handed them into reception each evening on our return, so that they knew in advance what we wanted. I felt overall that the management was not as good as it should have been for its 4* rating. I was not happy one time when I went to reception when another guest was leaving and was obviously not happy about something and the receptionist pulled a face as he left! Not very professional!

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is well away from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Maria H

Thank you for your review and please be assured that I will pick up on all of your points internally at the hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly should you require any further feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I, as members of a coach group, have just returned from spending four nights at the hotel. It was a most pleasant experience from the moment our room keys were handed to us on the coach until we reboarded to go home. Our luggage was taken to and collected from our room. The room was maintained each day to a very high standard; no detail was overlooked. We were made most welcome in the dining room by friendly, courteous and efficient staff who were well managed. On a personal note we found the food to be well prepared and to our liking. There was a problem on the first night in serving over forty people who had made their choices from the menu at the beginning of the meal. This was solved for the subsequent nights.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Keith R

Thank you for taking the time to post your review for the Hotel and thank you for your kind comments regarding the service and experience you received. I do hope you enjoyed your Kentish experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband, my self and our 2 children stayed at the hotel after attending a wedding there in April, the hotel was clean and well presented, the staff where very helpful and all smartly dressed and polite and all of them where good with the children and the wedding itself had everyone's needs catered for beautifully! Our room was clean, tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was great and had everything you could ask for, over all our experience was excellent, so much so that we decided to stay again a couple of months later for another wedding and again had a great experience, we couldn't have found fault if we tried!! Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, it catered for all.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateyMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear KateyMcG

Thank you for you kind review regarding your experience athe the Mercure Tunbridge Wells. I was delighted to read of all of your positive experiences and please be assured that I will pass on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
745 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
328 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
933 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
2.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing