We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Nearby Hotels
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anand Lodge(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$67
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel du Vin & Bistro(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$115
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Wells Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Smart and Simple Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Warwick Park Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveler rating
159
315
276
142
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
315
276
142
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstunbridge wellsleisure facilitiesrestaurant staffweekend breakpublic areasbooked this hotelplenty of parkinglounge areastayed here for one nighttown centretescotlckent
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 973 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Driving up drive, it looked very like an OPA home. Opened door to our room, and the heat and smell hits you, ok so no air con, but no fan! Asked a member of staff about a fan, and the reply was "your be lucky". A very hot and noisy night, with window open near the main road. Cold shower in the morning with towels that have seen better days. A well over priced "Hotel"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Interesting, useful analysis. Thank you. We value feedback, reading contributions here with care and a constructive mind.

It really is such shame ‘Sue B’ is unhappy; it's especially sad that although we lack air conditioning in our bedrooms, this is clearly stated on our website. Should this have been a necessity for “Sue B” they could have even called the hotel direct where we would have been more than happy to inform “Sue B” of our facilities available before booking, much like many of our other guests who take the time to investigate websites before booking.

I’m assuming “Sue B” means “OAP” as appose to “OPA”. If this is in fact correct, I will challenge this statement.

Mercure Tunbridge Wells is a 21 year old building. Our hotel is styled around a feature oast house and surrounded by summer seating area and pond. We host conferences in our eight light-flooded meeting rooms or laze in our health Club. Our bedrooms provide Flat-screen TV's and come with Standard accommodation at the Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel. An Executive package gives unlimited in-room movies while the Suite comes with private lounge and double-ended bath. Or you can upgrade to one of our themed feature bedrooms for that special occasion.

The hotels landscaped gardens are the ideal backdrop for wedding pictures and you can choose from one of our tailor-made wedding packages. I very much doubt an “OAP” home can provide these facilities at a "reasonable" prices.

It’s a shame “Sue B” could only comment on the negative aspects such as the weather, which is out of the hotels control and not on the hotel service and facilities they might have experienced.

We are, of course, available for ‘Sue B’ to talk to personally, should they wish. They will have our contact details.

Best Regards
Denise Vas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel on and off for a month or so now. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly. It is about 3 miles from the centre of Tunbridge Wells. If you are travelling without a car (like me) There is an excellent bus service that stops right outside the hotel gates and runs every 10 minutes or so. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful woodlands, good for walks. There is an indoor swimming pool and spa. Also is a bar and restaurant although I have not tried these, as i generally go into T.Wells where there are any number of good places to choose from. For local shopping - a Tesco can be found lurking behind some trees by the crossroads and there is a small co-op at the filling station close by. Pembury village itself (5/10 mins walk) has a couple of pubs and a fish and chip shop.
There is also free wifi in the hotel, although the signal is a bit sporadic. It maybe has to do with which part of the hotel you are staying in. Like many hotels, the TV can be quite baffling - I have had a different set of menu options in each of the 3 rooms I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmondCroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you "AlmondCroissant " for your feedback. It is very kind of your to take the time to review Mercure Tunbridge Wells, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for a night whilst attending a wedding locally and found the experience without any real drama.
Check in at around 15:00 hrs was a bit patchy but too be fair the young lady was a bit pushed with the number of people presenting all at the same time, an extra few members of staff at that point may have helped.
Nothing special about our studio room apart from the fact I would not call a bed the size actually a "KING", there is a tendency for chains to be eloquent with the truth in some respects.
As we were at a reception some way away we were unable to enjoy the hotels ambience to any degree other than the bar area was deluged with another wedding party and very crowded and noisy.
When we returned at about midnight sleep proved not to be a problem until the local cockerel began "giving it some" not long after dawn, or early!!!!
Even on a Sunday breakfast starts at 07:30 which was good news for us as we had a long transfer. Breakfast itself was the now normal buffet job with toasting machine and no waiters.
The quality was average, neither good, nor as bad as I have known elsewhere, even at more expensive and "swankier" venues, but I think all our expectations have been lowered over recent years and somewhere like this could do so much better for the most important meal of the day.

Room Tip: earplugs or shotgun for "daddy Chicken"
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room at the Mercure, originally booking our stay via booking.com earlier this year.

One member of our party is disabled and uses a wheelchair - the hotel had booked us into a dirst floor room but when enquiring if they had a lift in the building, they conformed that no lift was available and kindly transferred us into a ground floor room without fuss.

The hotel was very clean and smartly furnished, the room was super and much better than what we had expected it to be like. Staff were friendly and well accomdating, even making sure there was space for a wheelchair in the restaurant when we arrived for dinner.

The evening food was a carvery of meat, self service vegetables and dessert which was very tasty and enjoyable. Breakfast was a buffet with a wide selection of cereals, hot food, yoghurt etc.

Overall, the hotel was a good place to stay whilst we were in Tonbridge Wells although we would probably have booked a town centre hotel if we haf known how far it was from the town centre.

If you want a good, reasonably priced Tonbridge Wells hotel and have your own transport then the Mercure is for you - if you don't drive then the Mercure can be hard to reach from Tonbridge Wells - taxi fair from the station was £17!

We had a great time at the Mercure Tonbridge Wells Hotel and would like to thank the staff for all their help and assistance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellowActually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews