We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff make a good first impression.

The rooms are clean and relatively simple, nothing amazing, but for the price, they were adequate.

Our room did not have aircon, and was noticeably warm on entry, opening the window brought the temperature down, but amplified the noise from the adjacent main road. On a hot day, it might well be too hot.

The location is pretty good, ample parking, and a short £8 cab ride in to Tunbridge Wells centre.

All in all, decent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you "Jamin110" for taking the time to review our work. We are pleased that you found something of value in what we are doing, and hope you have occation to visit us again.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    275
    237
    111
    66
See reviews for
165
348
17
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Peckham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Colin & Christine Broad
We had our reception at the Mercure and only have the highest prase for all the staff at the Hotel. Laura who organised the event was just fantastic. All though we didnot stop at the hotel over night some of our guest did and they told us they were very impressed with the rooms and the breakfast they hadin the morning.
We would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 791ColinB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
"791ColinB1951" - Thank you for your courteous comments.

We enjoyed helping you host your celebrations, and are delighted that things went so satisfactorily for you. Thank you "791ColinB1951" for your time and trouble in reviewing Mercure Tunbridge Wells.

We would like to offer our congratulations and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here overnight and enjoyed a really pleasant stay. My wife likes to be early and this occasion was no different, as such we arrived at 10am, hours before check-in. However this wasn't a problem, we were offered a coffee in the restaurant and asked to wait whilst our room was prepared. It was turned over in about 10 minutes and we were in! Great service and all delivered with a warm smile. They geuinely couldn't do enough.

We didn't spend a great deal of time using the hotel facilities because we had a wedding to go to, but the room was great and loooked out on to well kept gardens and grounds.

We visit the area from time to time to see friends and will be using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Rob M- Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are pleased you found our hotel and service exceptional and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future on your next visit to the area.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

hotel bar and lounge area too small, restaurant only offered a carvery at the time of our visit, bar bistro food offering was poor for the evening, day offering was good, hotel was cold in public areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Trip advisor member – Thank you for your comments.

I’m sorry you found the size of our lounge and bar area inadequate, however as endorsed by other authors our service offering makes up for what we lack in square footage.

The Brasserie menu is a standard menu for the company, this is served in all lounge areas, restaurant and bedrooms, the carvery is purely an additional extra served in the restaurant, albeit the brasserie menu is still available should this not be to your liking – I’m sorry neither was to your taste.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we welcome all feedback equally of a negative and positive nature.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed overnight but couldnt fault it. Room and breakfast excellent value. Receptionist ..very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately did not have dinner there as invited to wedding reception elsewhere but breakfast was very good and my omelette cooked to order was sensational.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
ElaineWorcs - Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to endorse what we do well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

A friend and I were doing some garden visits around Kent and Surrey and this was an excellent base for us. Our room was very comfortable with a double and single bed and had plenty of coathangers in the wardrobe - essential for two ladies I always think - and is often something lacking in modern hotel rooms. There was also a cleverly designed iron and ironing board plus the usual hairdryer and coffee making facilities. We ate in the restaurant the first night and found the staff very courteous and efficient. The standard of food was excellent. There was a large choice at breakfast time. Check-in and check-out were efficient and I would have no hesitation in using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
lillibet12309 - Thank you for your courteous feedback

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel facilities, staff and service exceptional. Thank you for taking time out of your day to post such positive comments on a public forum.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Denise Vas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very pleasant stay- have stayed before and would stay again..

The service was very good and courteous. The food was good quality and everywhere was very clean.

I would recommend the hotel to others without hesitation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Swin55Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise V, General Manager at Mercure Tunbridge Wells, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Swin55Traveller - Thank you for your kind words.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel, staff and service exceptional. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughtful comments. I'm delighted you returned to the hotel and found our product and service consistent.

We appreciate you taking time out of your day to feedback on a public forum and we hope to see you against shortly.

Best Regards
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Property: Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing