We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on a hot summers day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“on a hot summers day”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend in the summer.
Hotel was very friendly, breakfast was good, evening meal was actually a pleasant surprise especially as the place was hosting a wedding.
Parking was easy and ample. only issue was room was really hot and no ac was available, bar that all in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    282
    244
    122
    72
See reviews for
173
370
17
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed in the hotel with my girfriend for 2 nights,the rooms were very clean,the food in the restaurant was very good.the room service was good,and restaurant service perfect,thanks to andrea the restaurant manager that was training the waiters in a good way,and he was friendly and professional not only with us but with all the customers.....i will come back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauricis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel certainly looks the part, however on arrival at 4.30pm, (so it was dark), the hotel looked as if it were closed, it was very dark and the drive up to the hotel was not lit. Once inside, the receptionist was friendly and our room was very nice. Thats where it all ends. Most of the staff are foreign speaking and were void of personality. No-one made an attempt to make conversation the atmosphere was very cold. We had one drink in the bar, as a pint of Stella and a large Pinot cost £11.50, it was also like sitting in a waiting room, no ambience. The menu looked good but very pricey so we ate out. Breakfast was awful, the experience and the food. The waiter on the first morning was more interested in setting the tables for lunch, we felt as if we were in their way. I had to ask twice for my breakfast request which was smoked haddock and a poached egg. The waiter apologised and said the chef could not find the haddock!! he then returned and said there wasn't any smoked haddock but they had plain, I went for it but when it came it was over cooked and the poached egg look great but the white was not cooked inside. On day two I went for scrambled egg, waited 10 minutes for it, when it arrived it was so overcooked it was laughable, a 5 year old could have cooked them better. Again the two members of staff working were more concerned about getting ready for lunches at 9am, no conversation, you know " how is your stay, are you enjoying yourselves, can I offer you anything from the menu or will you eat fom the buffet". Simple stuff like that makes all the difference. The buffet was not changed so the bacon was like rubber and the sausages were chipolata's really. I expected so much more, maybe my expectations are too high! The breakfast in a good hotel can define it and this breakfast defined this hotel as pretty mediocre. We will not be returning, we were givin the stay as a gift bought on Groupon so no financial loss to us. My advice to the Mercure is, light up the drive, light up the outside of the hotel, it looks closed and uninviting. Make the bar area more cosy and inviting, change your chef, and train your staff to be more friendly and interested in the people paying a huge amount to stay at your hotel. Get ready for lunches once breakfast is finished, put some personality into your boring establishment. My only compliment is to the gentleman that fixed our TV (twice) who was friendly, and the beds, they were so comfortable I had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pembury hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on business, I can comfortably say the person who gave this place 4 stars did not stay in my room where ther was a large hole punched in the wall (probably ordered the steak.) and every peice of porcalain in the bath room was cracked, nor did they attempt to order an incredibly overpriced drink at the tiny bar from the foreign speaking children serving, nor did they order the same thing from the menu three times on three seperate occasions only to receive three different meals in quantity appearance and taste,nor did they get woken by the same foreign staff seemingly running upand down the corridors when they finished every night @11.30. This hotel is better than sleeping in your car, just.

Room Tip: Premier Inn perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eat-sleep-wash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

One or two staff were very good and helpful. Others lacked manners, grace and wit. I really do not know how anyone calling themselves a cook or chef could, in their right minds, call what they serve, food. We had two evening meals there. One was edible in parts but I fail to see how a disc of solid potato could be classed as 'fondant' - frozen? Dinner #2 was bad beyond belief. Lentil soup? cheap. Dry dry dry chicken, no vegetables, rice with sultanas and a sad fruit salad. How they can charge money for it I do not know. Rooms are mediocre. Pool is warm - breakfast is as so many hotel breakfasts are these days - undercooked bacon kept warm and solid eggs. I've bored myself now!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Trainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked a last minute Wahanda deal at this hotel and it was pretty average. We paid £99 for the night with a "three course" dinner and breakfast.

The dinner is not three courses at all - you get £22 towards dinner so that is very much false advertising. The service in the restaurant was slow, portions small and the food was really poor. I had a prawn cocktail to start which consist of a grand total of 9 tiny prawns. I had mullet for main which was clearly frozen, rock hard and grey. Not what you expect from a £16 dish!

There was a wedding taking place in the hotel which took over the whole bar area so we couldn't have drinks before dinner which was annoying.

The 'spa' is not a spa. There is a pool and a jacuzzi. The steam room was broken and apparently had been for weeks. It was a bit dirty and not relaxing in the slightest. We had a massage each too but got well under the allotted time advertised.

We were awoken at 5am on Sunday morning to awful banging pipes that went on for 45 minutes with some loud maintenance staff trying to fix it. Not what you want on a Sunday morning. Breakfast was ok, again nothing special.

Overall, the hotel was very average. A member of staff mentioned that they had just taken over from Ramada Jarvis so I wonder if they were still experiencing teething problems. Whilst the stay itself was only £99, once we had paid for drinks and spa treatments, we spent £200 and this hotel was absolutely not worth that much. It is a 3 star hotel at best and definitely needs so love, attention and staff training to bring it up to it's advertised 4 star category.Wouldn't stay again in a hurry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weloveanicebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

stay in a superior room, one double bed and breakfast rate. ( 139.00 pounds per night ). lots of car parking for guests, which was a good start. front of house staff and reception were very good, and the place looked quite clean and tidy. the room ( suite 400 ) was of a reasonable standard, but the floor creeked very badly from one side of the room to the other. some of the lights in the room did not work or flashed on and off, the shower tray did not run a way quick enought so you had to turn off the shower a few times mid use to allow this, was woken up a few times by people coming up the stairs, which also creek, these are right on the other side of your bedroom wall, also woken at 5.30 by next doors power shower pump. would stay again, but not in this room. breakfast was very nice, and the highlight of our stay. hotel let its self down and a small few points need to be addressed, for 140 pounds we did expect a better experience. sat 24/11/2012.

Room Tip: we only stayed one night, found suite 400 a bit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembury
3.0 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
857 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
169 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tunbridge Wells

Property: Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Address: 8 Tonbridge Road, Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells > Pembury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Hotel Pembury
Ramada Hotel Tunbridge Wells
Ramada Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells Ramada
Mercure Tunbridge Wells Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing