We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great local farm shop, but needs to keep the "local"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downingbury Farm

Downingbury Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Pembury
Attraction details
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great local farm shop, but needs to keep the "local"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Downingbury Farm is a great farm shop on a working farm, and a wonderful place to shop and pick the fruits when in season. Always a great selection of local grown produce, and local meats and other produce.

The only disappointment for me has been when I bought eggs from Downingbury Farm, expecting farm eggs - but they were from caged hens. Ok so I should have checked before buying - but I never buy caged hen eggs even from the supermarket, and presumed that from a farm shop they would be at least free range.

But well worth a visit, and good for buying local produce - just check you are buying what you would expect from a farm shop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kids love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We went strawberry picking here the last couple of summers. The kids love being able to pick their own fruit and it keeps them entertained trying to find the biggest strawberries

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pick your own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Brilliant - what a fantastic thing that you can take the kids and pick your own fruit. The kids love it and of course so do we.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Flangelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This place is wonderful, you can pick your own fruit with the kiddies and there is so much fresh food on offer you feel spoiled for choice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenchley, Kent
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wide range of top quality 'pick your own fruits'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Apart from the 'pick your own' the farm shop has a huge selection of other produce too large to mention

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ManofKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downingbury Farm also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Downingbury Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing