We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese and wione - what a combination”

Fairview Wine and Cheese
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.68*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheese and wione - what a combination”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Despite its size and popularity, this is well worth a visit. Great service, combined with good wine and awesome cheese. Lacks the personal touch, but the quality cant be faulted. Goat tower a great stop for children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    252
    55
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding from start to end.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

As well as being a working winery, they seem to have got the balance right for visiting tourists too. The grounds leading up to the tasting room from the car park are lovely. The knowledge of the lady guiding us through the wine tasting was exceptional. The wine we tasted were good and the cheeses were very good too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank R1ch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cheese and Wine”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband was very keen to visit Fairview in order to mainly reminisce his childhood visits when holidaying in the Western Cape and to be honest I can figure out why we hadn't done in it on a previous visit to the area. For just R25 rand we got to taste 6 wines from a choice of over a dozen and sample and then re sample a wide variety of cheeses. Our sommelier was excellent and listened to our tastes and what types of wine we wanted to try before making recommendations.

Set in a lovely area my friends and I were very excited to see a goat walking up the spiral footpath the the entrance of the goat tower before posing for photos. Unfortunately we visited on a rather rainy day otherwise I'm sure we would have spent more time exploring the property. We did, however spend about an hour trying to choose a number of cheeses to buy from the cheese shop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Departed_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Getting too touristy”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We'd visited here in 2004 and thoroughly enjoyed seeing a business that was beginning to make a name for itself by being quirky. Now that has been done, it seems, it is resting on its laurels, and has become very commercialized. We were only stopping for lunch, but the service was offhand and the menu lacked variety. The big indoor part of the restaurant was dark and not very welcoming (no one had offered us seating anywhere), so depite it being a bit chilly and raining we sat on the covered verandah just for the light. The service was also a bit slow, but when it did come the food was very good. There is a token goat still out there on the tower (there may have been another inside) which is now hemmed in by other buildings. I remember more space, more goats, a more congenial atmosphere.
The number of loos made me think they are now catering mainly to tourist parties. Such a shame.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine Tasting Guided by Professional Sommelier”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was so excited to visit this winery because it also a cheese producer. Their icon is a Goat Tower & is prominently featured on their cheese & wine labels. We arrived to see the goat tower in front of the winery but I was disappointed to find only one goat in it & he wouldn't come out.

My disappointment was quelled by the excellence of the tasting programme. We had 2 options; one to belly up to the tasting bar for random samples or to hire your private sommelier to sit down to a professionally presented wine tasting of 8 selections paired with 8 cheeses. Our sommelier was very informative and the pairings were good. As a restaurateur I was very impressed with this level of hospitality. We bought a few bottles of wine and some cheese & olives from the gourmet shop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairview Wine and Cheese also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Fairview Wine and Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing