We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting, helpful staff, food pretty good.”
Review of Hamelin Bay Winery

Hamelin Bay Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Karridale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Winery cellar door offering wine sales and tastings - 10.30 am to 4.45 pm. You can enjoy a glass of wine or a beer on our deck overlooking our fabulous view. Our restaurant is open daily from 12 noon to 3 pm and 5pm to 8pm Sat. We offer a wide range of casual Australian dishes, inc steaks, fish and chips and platters of ham and cheese. Vegetarian and GF options available. Check hours on Public Holidays may be closed.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The winery is tucked away in a hinterland valley, looking down across the vines to its own large dam, with fields and forest beyond. You can dine on the wooden deck, in good weather on the lawn in front, or indoors. In all cases, you have this wonderful view with you. The building itself is a further pleasure. The wines are good, but not always top-flight. We were fortunate to have a very knowledgeable staff member show us the best of the tasting card, and also guide us with the menu. We enjoyed our long lunch, but it is good, not outstanding, food. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taxidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at Hamelin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Gosh, good review but slammed the wines. Why? Haliday has given us a 5 star winery rating in his 2018 compendium and given 93 points to 3 wines. 94 points to 3 wines and 95 points to 2 wines. I call them the FAB 8, they are here for tasting reds and whites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

We called in for lunch last week and were pleasantly surprised. Attentive and knowledgeable staff. The menu while not extensive offered enough to satisfy. We had a bottle of the Rose with our meal. Very nice.

Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at Hamelin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thanks for the review Geoff, we have just extended our menu to include local Bronzy (fish) and chips, chicken parmigiana with napoli sauce and grain fed steaks so hope to see you back to try them out. Cheers Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

had lunch here. WE both chose shepherds pie type meals, mine was chicken and my partners was beef. It was like a casserole type thing with mashed potato on top and then a layer of flaky pastry. It seemed as though the pie with the potato had been nuked in the microwave first and then teh pastry added on top. My potato was over cooked and gone hard on the edges. You have to pay extra for the little salad to accompany it. We both felt it wasn't worth the money. Would not eat here again.

Thank jojackjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at Hamelin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Well very sorry that you didn't enjoy your pies. they are very popular. I have checked with our staff to make sure we do better with the presentation. There is no excuse for not providing a light and fluffy mash. the salad extra, well we cant win here, because we do have some vegetables in the pies so may maybe you don't want a salad but if you do $4 extra is very reasonable. Cheers Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful winery
Breathtaking atmosphere,
Sit down on the couch with a nice glass of red outlooking the vineyard
Fabulous cab merlot

Thank Leondra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at Hamelin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Yes, I love you, thanks, cheers Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

The wines are lovely, however the aspect that is unfortunately remembered most is the long wait (over an hour, with no apology from the staff) for our pot pies and kids meals which were seriously lacking in flavour...a disappointing $100 spent, should have gone to the bakery for a pie.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sharlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Owner at Hamelin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Hi Sharlee, Sorry you had to wait for service, I can only presume it was particularly busy. Our ramekin pies are cooked with our wines and fresh local ingredients and are way ahead of the standard you might expect from bakery style pies. I'm sorry you didn't appreciate them. We provide wines at retail prices to accompany our meals so its about half what you would pay in a city restaurant and that makes it a good value experience. But if all you want is a bakery pastry pie we are not the place for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamelin Bay Winery also viewed

Augusta, Margaret River Region
Augusta, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Augusta, Margaret River Region
 
Augusta, Margaret River Region
Augusta, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Hamelin Bay Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing