We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full religious ,”
Review of Virasat E Khalsa

Virasat E Khalsa
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Rupnagar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Chandigarh, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“full religious ,”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

very historic place for sikh community ,
this place shows the history of sikhism . one must visit it you are passing nearby .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank puneet-jain-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Right place ot Know about the sikhism, history, culture of traditional Punjab”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This attraction is located at the historic place Sh. Anandpur Sahib, birth place of khalsa.
If one is interested to know about Sikhism, tradition and culture of Punjab is the best place. The place is air conditioned with great ambience and views.
Galleries have audio commentary in 3 languages English, Hind and Punjabi hence very easy to under stand the things and staff is very friendly.

The availability of food is limited.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheerajBatish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Must visit with children ”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I went with my family. It is a true experience to visualise whole punjab and sikh. Infrastructure n architecture is superb. Every one can learn sikh history in 3 hours. Must watch !!!!

Helpful?
Thank Terjinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, awesome, must see”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have visited Anandpur Sahib/ Keshgarh Sahib on 2 previous occassions and missed going to Virasat e-Khalsa bec we arrived late in the evening, spent the night, and left early next morning. This time we went to see Holla Mahala in mid March and spent a week in Anandpur Sahib. Tickets are free, but during this period there was a long queue. Need a free ticket to enter. Once you step into the compound, you are transported to a different world. Green, clean, smart, orderly, systematic, clean clear water (I am told was from numerous (5?) water sources) etc. The building is a 'misfit' (in a positive way) to the environment/ neighbourhood. Its modern in design and technology. Inside, we were blown away with the first display, which was cultural and everyday living - so modern in display, using high tech. We could not believe what we saw! In my vast travelling, I have never seen anything close to this. The 2nd part is Sikh history from the 1st Guru thru the 10th chronologically with interactive audio guide available free in English and Punjabi. If you dont have the audio guide, you will not be lost as most of it is well written and displayed at the exhibits. We came out of it in awe after 3 hours. I am told by a former Jathedar (leader) this is only 40% complete. Cant wait to make my next trip when its 100% completed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bhupinder2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A wonderfully presented Sikh heritage Centre”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is one of modern building designed by Mshe Safdie famous artitect highlights the blend of new and unique with wonderful exhibition of sikh history through audio-visual and artistic ways.

It is extremely busy site and expect some queues on weekends and holidays, Only small batches are allowed every so often. It covers massive area and has few check points on the way.

Do combine the visit along with numerous sikh temples around the area of historical significance

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Channi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virasat E Khalsa also viewed

Rupnagar, Rupnagarr District
Rupnagar, Rupnagarr District
 
Rupnagar, Rupnagarr District
Anandpur Sahib, Rupnagarr District
 

Been to Virasat E Khalsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing