We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Trip. Very Costly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kikar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rupnagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kikar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Trip. Very Costly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I went with my family, A couple and 4 year old baby. I didn't find anything exciting there. Adventure activities was every costly. Done few of those but didn't find very much exciting. Room service was very poor. For any stuff in the room we need to call them 2 to 3 times or sometimes they don't even pick the phone. Instead of this resort , we should try some other resort as it was total hopeless experience.

Room Tip: Nothing good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samira0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback,
first of all i appologise for your experience at the lodge, I have looked into your complaint and have corrected and checked the concerned department and person. I do hope that you will come back to us again and give us an opportunity to make things right.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    33
    22
    25
See reviews for
114
28
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Nice rooms and pool. Area is neat and clean.

The best part are the adventure sports- the zip line, the ATV bike rides. Very nice, good instructors, good equipment. The activities are very affordable.

A nice Place to spend a few days away from the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kochhar_arjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Arjun,
Thank you for your feedback, look forward to having you and your family with us soon.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went with a group of 10 families. Thankfully we were a group or there is nothing much than half day activities to enjoy. Activities (Separately charged) are the only charm of the hotel. Food quality is just about average. This resort costs about 7500 a Night. Similar resorts at other places cost about Rs 4000 - 4500 (Last I paid for River View in Jim corbett Rs 3600 for similar resort). Room maintenance is not upto the mark. I went in cold weather. There was a short circuited Room heater in my room. OK for people from Punjab. But for anyone as far from Delhi, Just avoid. Probably any other resort would have been better.

Room Tip: Make sure you carry all medicines as the place is cut off. Hotel does not keep any emergency medicin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir,
We at the Kikar Lodge have over 15 activities and most of them if done properly take over a couple of hours. I am certain that you did not try all our activities, maybe due to the pricing factor, but to provide professional and safe activities we have priced our activities accordingly.
Where as resorts in other destinations goes you are most welcome to go and try out other CHEAPER places, if that fits your budget.
I think it is wrong to say that The Kikar Lodge is good for the people from Punjab and not Delhi, for your information, Delhi is a very big market for us and at least 60 to 65% of delhi moves to the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rupnagar hotels

Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

WE are a small family, a couple and 2 years old baby. We went to t his place over the weekend. Its a massive property and has few adventurous activities a bit pricey tho. The staff is helpful n polite. Food is good. Forest view rooms are nice. Pool side view is best I think and close to the restaurant. Clean place. Comfortable too. Nice place for a short stay as 2-3 days. Please do not even think of taking the tent accommodation, very shabby.

They should arrange some evening activities for the guests, that will be quite entertaining for small families.

REcommended.

Room Tip: Pool View is best. Forest view is not bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaOberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for you feedback,
We have taken you suggestion and have started arranging some light music etc during the weekends. We look forward to having you and your family back with us soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recommend it strongly to everyone. It has many activities, including zipline. And the hosts are very warm and friendly and see to your comfort in every way. The rooms are super and the food is good.

Room Tip: All rooms good and have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudakesh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to having you back with us soon. Best wishes to the family.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The only 'Great' thing about this quaint, off-the-madding-crowd property is its location ! Really cut-off from maddening cities, stretched afar from the nearest den of civilization and with very scant regard for mobile signals, this place will surely give you that much-needed pollution-free short break that you were dreaming of !

But apart from this, there isn't much to write home about ! The accommodation is just basic, furniture creaky, gadgets available in the rooms seem age-old & worn-out, and the property, though clean, but certainly not as vibrant and bright as they exhibit on their website. Food is plain, -and even drab, on occasions- not much of a variety, surely not a gourmet's delight which you otherwise might expect in Punjab's villages.

There are a few so-called adventure facilities like dirt-biking, flying-fox, etc, which the discerning tourist can partake of. The safari or jungle trail, is again, not worth even the trying, unless of course you are particularly interested in rodents, oxen and mongooses !

If you are planning to go there, do take detailed driving instructions beforehand as the last part of the route could be quite tricky and cellphone signals could be wavering, or else, you could ask them to arrange for a pick-up. My experience says that a hard bargaining could fetch you a good package deal, so my suggestion would be to speak to their Sales guys personally.

Overall, an average kind of resort, please don't believe in everything that they advertise or promote on their website or other travel sites !

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near to the kitchen if you are travelling with a small baby or old parents. That ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiladitya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for you feedback.
The Kikar Lodge is a off beat property and the idea was to get away from the maddening crowd. The only available network is BSNL, though we have spoken to various companies. As for the adventure activities we are very proud of the number of activities that are available at the lodge, and i can say that very few properties have the such activities, non the less i do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
I hope to see you back with us soon, when your child is a little bigger for all of you to enjoy our activities together.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amritsar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at kikar lodge for two nights and have opted for the all meal package which in turned out to be a perfect option as the food was great both in taste and variety. The deluxe rooms we opted for the stay were a decent choice as being three families with children, the playground was in front side so u can actually relax watching ur kids from rooms. The resort staff was quite hospitable and took good care of all our needs. The adventour sports are an icing on a perfect cake as you really enjoy with your kids. Definitely kikar resort a perfect family getaway but be sure to plan it with at least two or three couples so as to enjoy it to the fullest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aman0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we at The Kikar Lodge try and make every guests trip a pleasant and memorable one. We are constantly looking at adding more and more adventure/outdoor based activities so that the guests can enjoy themselves as much as possible. We look forward to having you and your family with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rupnagar
17.2 mi away
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
23.1 mi away
Legend Sarovar Portico
19.0 mi away
Hotel Gianz
Hotel Gianz
#6 of 8 in Baddi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Park
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
#1 of 1 in Dhar Kalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
6.9 mi away
Anand @ The Satluj
Anand @ The Satluj
#2 of 5 in Anandpur Sahib
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kikar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kikar Lodge

Property: The Kikar Lodge
Address: Village Kangar, Nurpur Bedi | Ropar, Rupnagar 140117, India
Location: India > Punjab > Rupnagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Kikar Lodge Punjab, India - Rupnagar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing