We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely overpriced for the quality”
Review of The Kikar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rupnagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kikar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely overpriced for the quality”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went with a group of 10 families. Thankfully we were a group or there is nothing much than half day activities to enjoy. Activities (Separately charged) are the only charm of the hotel. Food quality is just about average. This resort costs about 7500 a Night. Similar resorts at other places cost about Rs 4000 - 4500 (Last I paid for River View in Jim corbett Rs 3600 for similar resort). Room maintenance is not upto the mark. I went in cold weather. There was a short circuited Room heater in my room. OK for people from Punjab. But for anyone as far from Delhi, Just avoid. Probably any other resort would have been better.

Room Tip: Make sure you carry all medicines as the place is cut off. Hotel does not keep any emergency medicin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir,
We at the Kikar Lodge have over 15 activities and most of them if done properly take over a couple of hours. I am certain that you did not try all our activities, maybe due to the pricing factor, but to provide professional and safe activities we have priced our activities accordingly.
Where as resorts in other destinations goes you are most welcome to go and try out other CHEAPER places, if that fits your budget.
I think it is wrong to say that The Kikar Lodge is good for the people from Punjab and not Delhi, for your information, Delhi is a very big market for us and at least 60 to 65% of delhi moves to the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    33
    23
    26
See reviews for
116
28
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

WE are a small family, a couple and 2 years old baby. We went to t his place over the weekend. Its a massive property and has few adventurous activities a bit pricey tho. The staff is helpful n polite. Food is good. Forest view rooms are nice. Pool side view is best I think and close to the restaurant. Clean place. Comfortable too. Nice place for a short stay as 2-3 days. Please do not even think of taking the tent accommodation, very shabby.

They should arrange some evening activities for the guests, that will be quite entertaining for small families.

REcommended.

Room Tip: Pool View is best. Forest view is not bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaOberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for you feedback,
We have taken you suggestion and have started arranging some light music etc during the weekends. We look forward to having you and your family back with us soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recommend it strongly to everyone. It has many activities, including zipline. And the hosts are very warm and friendly and see to your comfort in every way. The rooms are super and the food is good.

Room Tip: All rooms good and have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudakesh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to having you back with us soon. Best wishes to the family.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The only 'Great' thing about this quaint, off-the-madding-crowd property is its location ! Really cut-off from maddening cities, stretched afar from the nearest den of civilization and with very scant regard for mobile signals, this place will surely give you that much-needed pollution-free short break that you were dreaming of !

But apart from this, there isn't much to write home about ! The accommodation is just basic, furniture creaky, gadgets available in the rooms seem age-old & worn-out, and the property, though clean, but certainly not as vibrant and bright as they exhibit on their website. Food is plain, -and even drab, on occasions- not much of a variety, surely not a gourmet's delight which you otherwise might expect in Punjab's villages.

There are a few so-called adventure facilities like dirt-biking, flying-fox, etc, which the discerning tourist can partake of. The safari or jungle trail, is again, not worth even the trying, unless of course you are particularly interested in rodents, oxen and mongooses !

If you are planning to go there, do take detailed driving instructions beforehand as the last part of the route could be quite tricky and cellphone signals could be wavering, or else, you could ask them to arrange for a pick-up. My experience says that a hard bargaining could fetch you a good package deal, so my suggestion would be to speak to their Sales guys personally.

Overall, an average kind of resort, please don't believe in everything that they advertise or promote on their website or other travel sites !

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near to the kitchen if you are travelling with a small baby or old parents. That ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiladitya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for you feedback.
The Kikar Lodge is a off beat property and the idea was to get away from the maddening crowd. The only available network is BSNL, though we have spoken to various companies. As for the adventure activities we are very proud of the number of activities that are available at the lodge, and i can say that very few properties have the such activities, non the less i do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
I hope to see you back with us soon, when your child is a little bigger for all of you to enjoy our activities together.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amritsar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at kikar lodge for two nights and have opted for the all meal package which in turned out to be a perfect option as the food was great both in taste and variety. The deluxe rooms we opted for the stay were a decent choice as being three families with children, the playground was in front side so u can actually relax watching ur kids from rooms. The resort staff was quite hospitable and took good care of all our needs. The adventour sports are an icing on a perfect cake as you really enjoy with your kids. Definitely kikar resort a perfect family getaway but be sure to plan it with at least two or three couples so as to enjoy it to the fullest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aman0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we at The Kikar Lodge try and make every guests trip a pleasant and memorable one. We are constantly looking at adding more and more adventure/outdoor based activities so that the guests can enjoy themselves as much as possible. We look forward to having you and your family with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our anniversary trip, this year we had to take smthn close by therefore chose a good highway from delhi n therefore Kikar. we took the all meals plan.
My first disappointment started when we reached around 4:30pm and got no food. we had even called them up at 1 pm to save or pack some for us since there is no other place to eat around. forget lunch, we had to "Ask" for our welcome drink after waiting for almost an hr.
The room we had is supposedly their "prime" property, the pool suite. the biggest room no doubt, but very shabbily furnished.The hot water came only for 5 mins. And the beds, oh god, one night i actually thought of sleeping on the floor because i had got a backache. Hardly any furniture, just one table to keep your stuff, the wallpaper was coming off and no tub! For the price we were paying we would've got a plush room in Delhi/Jaipur. we later changed to another suite which was 20% better i guess.
The next disappointment was the food. i wished i had not taken the full meal plan. we had to eat almost the same menu for two days! third day we gave up and ordered some! if you are a fish lover or allergic to something don't take the meals!
The adventure sports are a good catch considering there isn't anything else to do. but they are all very expensive. Zipping is more expensive than Neemrana, i wonder why though.

Basically its a night getaway, and dont expect the service or luxury you would normally expect for this price. I wish they'd do up atleast the suite rooms, i would pay more then! Kikar Lodge has immense amount of scope!

Just because it was my anniversary trip I did not get angry and still have no hard feelings. I just enjoyed the nature and relaxed in the SPA.
Thanks!

Room Tip: haha we had the best room n yet not satisfied. DOn't take the suite! Probably smaller rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjkansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Maam,
Thank you for your feedback,
We at the lodge try our level best to ensure that all our customers go back satisfied from out little piece of heaven.
I really apologize for your experience at the lodge and i have already taken up the feedback with the concerned departments and i assure you that the management of the lodge does not tolerate such kind of lack luster and shoddy experience of any guest.
i would really appreciate it if you could send me your email, and i would like to have you back with us and actually show you the true Kikar Hospitality.

Looking forward to your response,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

the place as the name suggests is part of the kikar forest. The resort is nice and the amenities are good. Lots of activities for kids and adventure sports for people my age.

We enjoyed the ZIPLINE the most and was very cheap cost wise as compared to other places in india and world. I rate it as good as the flight of gibbon in chang mai, Thailand.

The owner Amarinder took great care of us and was available anytime for anything the guests needed.

We were a large group and had lots of fun, i recommend the place to everyone.

Though i would suggest the management to upgrade the rooms little bit to make it perfect experience for everyone.

Room Tip: for a large group the forest view cottages are good.....for families rooms near the reception and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guranchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guranchal,
Thank you for your feedback.
As suggested by you we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and other facilities. I look forward to having you and your friends and family with us as soon as that is done.
Once again i thank you for choosing The Kikar Lodge for your New Year destination and giving us your feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rupnagar
17.2 mi away
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
23.1 mi away
Legend Sarovar Portico
19.0 mi away
Hotel Gianz
Hotel Gianz
#6 of 8 in Baddi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Park
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
#1 of 1 in Dhar Kalan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.9 mi away
Anand @ The Satluj
Anand @ The Satluj
#2 of 5 in Anandpur Sahib
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kikar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kikar Lodge

Property: The Kikar Lodge
Address: Village Kangar, Nurpur Bedi | Ropar, Rupnagar 140117, India
Location: India > Punjab > Rupnagarr District > Rupnagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rupnagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Kikar Lodge Punjab, India - Rupnagar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing