We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Aamod Shoghi”
Review of Aamod

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aamod
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shoghi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good stay at Aamod Shoghi”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

It was my dad's birthday on the Republic Day of India and that's when we planned we will give him a surprise birthday party in the middle of the jungle at Shoghi. I called Aamod about a week in advance and booked a family premium cottage. The guy who took the reservation(Lalit) was quite helpful and gave us all the possible options that there could be. We started from Delhi at 6 pm and reached our destination at 2 am. The resort is right on the highway and easily accessible.
As we entered we realised that the car parking was about 500 meters from the cottages. A shuttle takes all "passengers" from the parking to the cottage. You can choose to walk. The property even at night looked beautiful. Cottages in the middle of a jungle always fascinated us. Our cottage was a cosy little set of three rooms. The 24 hour restaurant was a real relief after the long journey. Tea and sandwiches in the cold of the night were amazing. The staff was polite and arranged for heaters in all the rooms on request(which is what you would expect after paying the money you do.). The only disadvantage of staying in the family cottage is that it is far from the reception and with parents it became a little difficult because of the steep flight of stairs. This I thought should have been told while we were booking the rooms.
The breakfast next day was just OK. Could have been a lot better I guess..The idlis were cold and stale and the sambhar was also served cold.The choley in the "choley bhature" just OK. The fruit salad was served on a quarter plate. These things could have been looked after, I thought, especially when Aamod boasts of outstanding hospitality. gave this feedback to their manager who was very receptive.
For us the best part of the stay was the open air Jacuzzi in their spa. Clean and nice, the hot water jacuzzi overlooks the mountains and we had not seen anything like this earlier. It was refreshing. The spa is small but very well managed and both the spa and the jacuzzi are definitely recommended.
The overall experience was great and had we stayed for a day more we definitely would have tried their bicycle tours, rock climbing and other activities.:) Next time may be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DishaNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    95
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
103
85
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Aamod @ Shoghi is a beautiful place, away from city and is maintained\managed very well.
The location of Aamod makes it unique as it is situated on a separate hill and built beautifully with spacious jungle surroundings.

The activity area in the resort makes the journey all the more interesting as it is not just a usual holiday. There are a number of interesting activities executed in presence of guides which also provide physical exercise for the body.

The food in the resort is very well both in terms of hygiene as well as taste.

From my side it is a must go if you are planning a weekend getaway close to NCR or while on a trip to Shimla.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Away from the routine metro life - traffic, office hustle, stress, etc, Aamod resorts are a best getaway for all. Have been to Aamod Shoghi in October (16 Kms to shimla) and Narkanda in january (60 Kms ahead of Shimla) in the past 3 months with friends as well as family.

The experience has been simply outstanding. Location, scenic beauty, infrastructure, polite n humble housekeeping, A-class hospitality are some of the key attractions of Aamod properties.

Besides the breath taking valley views, Aamod offers a whole bunch of activities for your entertainment like, Burma Bridge, Flying fox, rock climbing, spider web, cycling, etc under the guidance of trained professionals with proper safety measures.

I had never imaged myself walking on a single rope without any support but just a harness and that too can be a lot more than just fun!

Aamod Shoghi is a property where you need to treck from one room to another, though not advisable for people having joint problems or are of old age. It's an art & example of professionalism that your food is served steaming hot n that too in ample quantity, in huge trays on top of the hill. We were lucky and are thankful to the organiser to have got the rooms on the top of the hill - Room @ 101 and 102.

What will you do if you need to drink tea at 2 AM in night after treck to your room n find out that there are no tea bags. Nothing!! just call the housekeeping & you will get it in 2 mins.

Aamod TETHY @ Narkanda is a place to be - especially in snow. At -2 degree celcius, with a view of snow covered peaks from your room window, you just feel "This is Heaven". Yes, Room Spiti (203) and Pabbar (202) are the 2 best valley facing rooms in Aamod Tethys Narkanda. This time again we were lucky to have been upgraded to a deluxe suite as the other one was not available.

One would have never imagined that even at -2 degrees, where you are able to hardly catch a breath, Burma bridge would be again so much of fun!

With Oil Heaters in our room, outside temperature is not a concern even if you have a kid along.
Bon fire outside in snow at midnight was a different experience all together. Morning are fantastic and thanks to the sun poring great shine through your balcony.

I am becoming a huge fan of Aamod Resorts and rate it with 5 stars. One must visit Aamod whether with friends or family.
Looking forward to explore the rest of Aamod Properties soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the Valey Facing rooms... All have a breathtaking view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishabhChoudhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

we stayed at aamod shoghi to break our journey back to delhi.never expected such a beautiful resort..small cottages with attached bathrooms..just perfect for some peace and quiet.wonderful walking trails all over the area..excellent food!!!what more could one ask for..recommend it to anyone for a relaxing time away from hustle and bustle of the city..

Room Tip: take huts nearer to reception you will have to climb less..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful haven on earth jan.2014 & we enjoy a lot .all staff member are so good & always care ur needs . Rooms are so good lavish with modern facility . u can enjoy with your family Aamod adventure & spa . sorry friends it difficult to express the experience in words unless you go and stay there. food is quite tasty & hygienic .

Room Tip: all room have there own specility
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himanshusuryabanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Decided to celebrate my anniv at this resort but pathetic service standards . Not at all value for money . no basic medicine was available at the reception , TV was not working , heater was not working, playing cards were not available . You call up the reception and they never ever revert back. Despite the fact that entire resort was free these guys did not shift us to another room. i had to went all the way to shoghi to buy the medicine myself. the room and bathroom size are very very small. i had to check out on account of bad service standards and no one was interested in knowing as to why am leaving early when decided to stay for two nights!!!. The worth of this place is not more than 2k per day and these guys are charging whopping amount against the same.. The only good part was the scenic view and food...

Room Tip: depends on your taste any which way to see the ridge you need to walk a lot hence try to stay close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hemant_pareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

It is on d NH-22 on d way to Shimla. At d first sight, as u take a curve reaching Shoghi, u can find this beautiful n serene place cocooned in a corner. It has got great ethnic hutments as hotel rooms. A great place for adventure seekers who luv trekking to d core.

Moving on to its food, d Times of India has rated its lip-smacking as one of d top 10 highway palette. Different items u can try. The restaurant n d kitchenette are always spick n span.

Just enjoy revellers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurishankar304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoghi
3.1 mi away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Shoghi Eco Valley Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
15.9 mi away
Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
5.6 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#12 of 112 in Shimla
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aamod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aamod

Property: Aamod
Address: Village Shahlaghat, P.O. Kaithlighat | Tehsil Kandaghat, Shimla, H.P, Shoghi 173215, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shoghi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shoghi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aamod 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aamod at Shoghi, on a gentle hill slope, under a thick cover of oak and pine trees, is a natural haven that is both idealistic and comfortable- every holiday maker’s utopia. Amongst its many attractions is the unusual design philosophy, not a single tree was chopped when the property was built. The structures are built on natural clearings within the forest. Anything man-made at Aamod perfectly blends in with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Aamod reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing