We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Century Grand Hotel(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Dream Land Residency(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brahmagiri(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Haksons(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
Ichumma's Inn(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jungle Edge(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kottayil Homestay(Mananthavady)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
78
42
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
42
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar suitewatch towernight safarizip linethirunelli templewest bengalmalabar giant squirrelscamp firekabini riverracket tailed drongoadventure activitiesspot elephantsthe cottagesfull markswild boarcourteous staffneat rooms
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 133 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2017

The resort is small but in a very scenic location. The staff behaviour is what makes this place unique. Very courteous staff who always have a smile on their face and ready to do whatever you request. Right from the bellboy to the manager has a can do attitude written on the face. Credit has to go to Mr Gopakumar too for having the vision to set up something refreshing. The food was homely, fresh and tasty that suits more of South Indian taste buds. The chef will cater as per your requirement. The location was awesome, and weather is always romantic in Wayanad. I would recommend this property to anyone who would want to stay near the thirunelly temple and is on a budget vacation. The Manager will also help you with additions like night safari etc. IF you are lucky you could spot wildlife, we saw elephants, Gaur, Sambar deer, spotted deer, wild boar, etc

Advice to the Management - The cots in the rooms are nice which gives you a feeling of resting on top of a tree, but the cot bars/legs are little dangerous since it is a bit broader and curvy than a standard bed bar. All of us in the room at least once was hit, and it can be very painful especially for little children. Suggest you cover the bars with some rubber bedding

Room Tip: Cottages were nice
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jayadeepb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, General Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2017

Many thanks for your encouraging feedback. Our small service team would also be happy to see your proactive support..Thanks a lot for your critical observation on the Cots..! Would definitely do that, as suggested..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

I stayed with my family for two nights in Windward Suites as the other cottages were sold out. This suite appeared to be an old building converted to a bed space with a living room and of course with an attached bathroom. I couldn't use the living area as the diwan bed they arranged in the corner was dusty. It was pretty sure that this suite was unoccupied for several days/week and we ended up using the living area as a dump-yard for our luggage. Bedroom was better compared with living area, still dust particles were all across windows, furniture etc. Many lights were not working in the bedroom though. Bathroom is spacious but smelly. Beware, windward suite is very close to their DC generator room and power failure is pretty common in this locality - the smell of diesel and sound could play spoilsport.

Apparently, the landscaping and the in-house activities were planned very well when they started this property but sadly, they look terrible now. The dining space, camp fire area and a near by hut were all dusty. To make my stay even more terrible, there were a large group of 2-3 very noisy families and it was very annoying to have them around in the dining area at least.

The approach road to their very limited parking space is moderately steep, rocky and slippery. There were uneven rocks all across the approach road make sure you drive in first gear with air-con turned off. If you have plan to leave the property very early for a morning drive, make sure you park the car before you start climbing the approach road, otherwise you may end up having trouble in taking your car if you park it too inside close to the cottages.

The food is good and is prepared at a near by house, though the options are limited. The only thing I liked at the property is the staff, they are very much friendly and courteous and it's proximity to Kuruva dweep. I'll not recommend this property unless they work on the maintenance.

Room Tip: Do not choose Windward Suites
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, General Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Many Many thanks for your critical feedback..Ordered full maintenance already. Really glad to open our eyes..Will be different on your next visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017

Pugmarks is a great stay in the jungle with nice room and good view from the sit-out area. We stayed here with our kid and all of us enjoyed it.
the good aspects are
- The design of the room and the fireplace. The rooms offer good privacy
- View from the sit-out area.
- Good food
- Fenced jungle area where you can do some activities and take a walk.
- There is a watch tower where you can spend time and enjoy the view and silence of the jungle
- The service of the staff was really good and they were accommodative to our small request.

Overall, had a good stay there.

Room Tip: Cedar suites offer good view and privacy
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkp_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, General Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Many thanks for your nice feedback. Our small service team would be delighted with this feedback Great to hear that the guest enjoyed staying with us and showing the courtesy to appreciate it..Looking fwd to your kind patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We stayed in this lovely place for 2 days with group of friends I must sincerely admit that we wish we had stayed little longer. This rustic place is surrounded on 3 sides by dense forest and lush green paddy fields on other. Close to Tholpetty (7kms) and Nagarhole wild life sanctuary (12 kms) and many other attractions like Tirunelli temple(10 kms) ,Brahmagiri National park this is ideal place to simply chill and relax and forget all the tensions and just be with nature. Don’t expect spas and swimming pool ,bar and restaurants etc what you will get and feel here is peace and tranquility of nature. If you are lucky you may spot Deers,Bison and elephants from watch tower inside lodge. They made excellent arrangements for barbeque and camp fire. Food is simple, made to order but was delicious &homely , with typical Kerala Taste. Rooms are neat clean,spacious and well maintained. Manager and the staff is very supportive and helpful. I will strongly recommend this place to any wildlife lovers and guests who wants to have a quiet and amazing time away from busy city life.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Many thanks for your fabulous review...especially from a Senior trip advisor reviewer. Our whole team is absolutely motivated and we do hope to continue with the same commitment. Looking fwd to your kind patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

I stayed with my family for 3 days ... the place is just perfect for a jungle camp natural environment ... not to miss the night drive through the forest to get to see the wild life...at its best.... the camp provides good homely food ...and well managed team to service you anytime... good place to getaway from city with family or friends

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopa, Director of Sales at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Many thanks for your proactive review. Our team also enjoyed hosting you and your lovely family. Looking forward to your gracious patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews