We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
79
42
8
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
42
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar suitewatch towernight safarizip linethirunelli templewest bengalmalabar giant squirrelscamp firekabini riverracket tailed drongoadventure activitiesspot elephantsthe cottagesfull marksneat roomskerala foodelectric fencing
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 134 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2017

I stayed with my family for two nights in Windward Suites as the other cottages were sold out. This suite appeared to be an old building converted to a bed space with a living room and of course with an attached bathroom. I couldn't use the living area as the diwan bed they arranged in the corner was dusty. It was pretty sure that this suite was unoccupied for several days/week and we ended up using the living area as a dump-yard for our luggage. Bedroom was better compared with living area, still dust particles were all across windows, furniture etc. Many lights were not working in the bedroom though. Bathroom is spacious but smelly. Beware, windward suite is very close to their DC generator room and power failure is pretty common in this locality - the smell of diesel and sound could play spoilsport.

Apparently, the landscaping and the in-house activities were planned very well when they started this property but sadly, they look terrible now. The dining space, camp fire area and a near by hut were all dusty. To make my stay even more terrible, there were a large group of 2-3 very noisy families and it was very annoying to have them around in the dining area at least.

The approach road to their very limited parking space is moderately steep, rocky and slippery. There were uneven rocks all across the approach road make sure you drive in first gear with air-con turned off. If you have plan to leave the property very early for a morning drive, make sure you park the car before you start climbing the approach road, otherwise you may end up having trouble in taking your car if you park it too inside close to the cottages.

The food is good and is prepared at a near by house, though the options are limited. The only thing I liked at the property is the staff, they are very much friendly and courteous and it's proximity to Kuruva dweep. I'll not recommend this property unless they work on the maintenance.

Room Tip: Do not choose Windward Suites
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, General Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Many Many thanks for your critical feedback..Ordered full maintenance already. Really glad to open our eyes..Will be different on your next visit..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017

Pugmarks is a great stay in the jungle with nice room and good view from the sit-out area. We stayed here with our kid and all of us enjoyed it.
the good aspects are
- The design of the room and the fireplace. The rooms offer good privacy
- View from the sit-out area.
- Good food
- Fenced jungle area where you can do some activities and take a walk.
- There is a watch tower where you can spend time and enjoy the view and silence of the jungle
- The service of the staff was really good and they were accommodative to our small request.

Overall, had a good stay there.

Room Tip: Cedar suites offer good view and privacy
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkp_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, General Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Many thanks for your nice feedback. Our small service team would be delighted with this feedback Great to hear that the guest enjoyed staying with us and showing the courtesy to appreciate it..Looking fwd to your kind patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

We stayed in this lovely place for 2 days with group of friends I must sincerely admit that we wish we had stayed little longer. This rustic place is surrounded on 3 sides by dense forest and lush green paddy fields on other. Close to Tholpetty (7kms) and Nagarhole wild life sanctuary (12 kms) and many other attractions like Tirunelli temple(10 kms) ,Brahmagiri National park this is ideal place to simply chill and relax and forget all the tensions and just be with nature. Don’t expect spas and swimming pool ,bar and restaurants etc what you will get and feel here is peace and tranquility of nature. If you are lucky you may spot Deers,Bison and elephants from watch tower inside lodge. They made excellent arrangements for barbeque and camp fire. Food is simple, made to order but was delicious &homely , with typical Kerala Taste. Rooms are neat clean,spacious and well maintained. Manager and the staff is very supportive and helpful. I will strongly recommend this place to any wildlife lovers and guests who wants to have a quiet and amazing time away from busy city life.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, Manager at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Many thanks for your fabulous review...especially from a Senior trip advisor reviewer. Our whole team is absolutely motivated and we do hope to continue with the same commitment. Looking fwd to your kind patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

I stayed with my family for 3 days ... the place is just perfect for a jungle camp natural environment ... not to miss the night drive through the forest to get to see the wild life...at its best.... the camp provides good homely food ...and well managed team to service you anytime... good place to getaway from city with family or friends

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gopa, Director of Sales at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Many thanks for your proactive review. Our team also enjoyed hosting you and your lovely family. Looking forward to your gracious patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We were at this property on Sept 10th - 11th with a batch of 23 people from Chennai. Eventhough this place was little away from Wayanad mains as we approached from Kozhikode side via the Thamarssery churam, it was very well worth the travel as we were happy to be in the middle of the thick dense forest and also good roads leading to Pugmarks Jungle Lodge. The Manager - Shinoj received us and we had booked all the accomodation types available including the Cedar camp, Cedar suite, Windward suite, Tents etc. After settling down we had Coffee & Snacks and then went on for an evening/night ride on the Thirunelli road for about 20 km. The road was really scenic and we were really excited to see lots of herds of deers, bisons on our way which made it really thrilling. We visited this some 5000 odd years old temple and the Aqua duct that brings fresh water to the temple from the Bhramagiri hills. Now the much awaited sight was what we saw on our return from Thirunelli to the resort, A single male tusker on the road side in full view. Awesome! We sped past as soon as the tusker started approaching our vehicle. Really Thrilling.. Back at the resort we settled in for a camp fire, Barbeque and Dinner. The food was really excellent and felt home made. Thanks to Gopa varma in helping me customise the menu to include Fish fry, Chicken curry and Kozhukatta (sweet). The rooms were cozy,comfortable and well themed. Need to specially mention my experience staying in the tent accommodation. Sounds of nature made it really exciting in the night and it was one of an experience.Our guys and especially the ladies in the group enjoyed the swings, zip lines, etc. Walk to the watch tower and the view from there to get a glimpse of the thick forest and the coffee plantation in the early morning was worth it.

Being a frequent traveller along with several small and big groups some points that really stand out are:
*Hospitality ( Shinoj & other staff there)and the willingness to help accommodate most of my requests into the plan itself.(Thanks to Gopa Varma)
* We wanted to experience an Offbeat acco kind of, right inside the forest in the lap of nature- Thanks to Pugmarks
* Great food ( not five star sort of) but really to our liking.
* The view of green paddy fields and the farms on one side from the dining area is also good.
* Great place to simply chill and relax and forget all the tensions and just be with nature. The slightly unkempt nature of the property gives it a feel of wild nature!

Thank you Pugmarks for helping make this visit to Wayanad a very interesting and thrilling one.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arunc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPugmarks, Director of Sales at Pugmarks Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2016

Great to hear about your feedback Arun. It is a great motivation to our team to hear the positive experience and the great gesture to let us know that you had a good experience. Looking forward to your kind support in future too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews