We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For A Spectacular View Of Athirapally Waterfalls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls
Ranked #1 of 3 Athirapally B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For A Spectacular View Of Athirapally Waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

A suite done up in minimalist style, with a beautiful baclony overlooking Athirapally waterfalls. You couldn't get closer to the falls than this! You go to sleep listening to the sound of the waterfalls amid pitch darkness and wake up to a spectacular view of clear water gushing over the rocks.

The bed is situated on a higher platform so that you can view the falls from there. The balcony has an easy chair and a coffee table. Even the bathroom has a clear view of the falls! The restaurant too, faces the falls. You just can't miss the falls while you're here.

The toilet is spotless and spacious, the rooms immaculate, the staff extremely polite. The chef prepares delicious Kerala cuisine. There's a beautiful swimming pool and a lounge where you can read or play carrom.

The Rainforest is the perfect getaway. The only sound you will hear is that of water against rocks and bird calls. We spent the entire weekend just gazing at the waterfalls!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zcaarthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    77
    29
    20
    15
See reviews for
81
109
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KSA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

India Was one of the best vacations of my life and staying in this hotel was the chairy on top of the ice-cream, we only stayed one night I wish that we had stayed ten. Everything was wonderful from the picnic by the falls to the beautiful and well kept rooms I recommend it to anybody even children over 7 years of age

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank world_travler_ksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

My friend and I stayed in this stunning hotel for one night, my only problem was that it definitely was not long enough.
We were greated by friendly staff who provided superb service, were helpful and polite with interesting local information and good food advice! The guide who showed us round the falls not only saved my friend from falling in the river but had a wealth of knowledge of the plant and animal life surrounding us.
Our room was beautiful, with fantastic views of the falls from both our balcony and the hot tub (which relieved our tired muscles after spending an exhausting day chilling by the stunning pool)!
I would definitely recommend this hotel...perfect for romantic getaways or a relaxing base for exploring the rainforest.... actually any excuse I can think of to go I would use!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

I don’t link this hotel , due to his manager attitude. i came to this hotel with my wife and children’s . i did not have enough cash with me instead i carried some credit cards.
I asked the manager if i could use my credit card but i shocked with answer that this service is not available in the hotel and he did not have ATM or credit card, also he was very un polite when he said that i don’t heard that someone does not carry money with him and relay on credit cards!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and he does not provide me with any solution or even call my travel agency... which I did and they change my plan to half board ( easy solution if he was polite and smart enough).
the area does not have any close restaurant so you must eat lunch and dinner in hotel also the nearest ATM is within 2 hours drive by the car as the manager mentioned!!!
during our dinner ( which was paid by the travel agency) my wife get down to the room to find one of the hotel staff inside the room ( guess what he was doing ???)
any way he get confused and exit from the room.
think twice before spend one night in this hotel.
you are in the middle of a forest and even there is no doctor in the hotel so if you or one of your family got sick you need to drive one hour to the nearest village.
i recommend you to get the site and take any drink in the hotel to see the water fall and processed away .... don’t spend one night there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ehabsaggaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Nilgiris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Think about it. A simply superb location, at the lip of the Athirapally Falls. The Celestial Suite which really is divine, done up in crisp white and vivid orange, with views of the Falls. A blue-blue pool hedged in by mango and jackfruit trees, with views of the Falls. Lip-smacking food that runs the gamut of Kerala and pan-Indian cuisine, served up by master chef Baiju, at a restaurant with views of the Falls.Last but definitely not the least, an exciting night safari in the Sholayur forests. No view of the Falls this time but you are too busy spotting Malabar squirrels, bison, wild boar and elephants to really miss that.
This is a lovely place..I recommend you make an annual R and R, it will do you a world of good.

Sheila Kumar. Wellington, The Nilgiris.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FleabaneTheNilgiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed in the Celestial room.

The place was well kept. great view of the falls. Loved the food.

We had a great family outing

  • Liked — The ambience of the resort
  • Disliked — the jaccuzi switch being outside the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uvama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

My wife and I decided to celebrate our first year anniversary here and while we were a bit skeptical before we arrived, we were greeted with an immediate feeling of elation upon seeing the resort. The drive from the airport takes about an hour to an hour, fifteen minutes. The property is literally situated in the middle of a dense jungle/forest, overlooking the Athirapally waterfalls. In total, the place can't have more than 10 - 15 rooms, insuring a private affair, with more attention being showered on you. We stayed in the Celestial Room, purportedly the best room in the place, and it was truly magical. A larger entry way, an amazing bathroom with a jacuzzi tub (jets weren't working), and bar to entertain (if the need arises), a patio that overlooks the actual waterfalls, and a bed that faces a top-to-bottom glass wall looking out towards the waterfalls as well - can it get better?

The resort does their best to create a host of activities for their guests - everything from night safaris, to camping trips, to speed boat rides and visits to the many types of plantations (coffee, tea, spices, bananas, herbs, cashews, etc.). I will admit that most of these will either meet your expectations or be a little underwhelming - one should not expect the African Serengeti on the night safari - but all in all, we enjoyed the outing.

There is almost nothing to do outside of the resort on your own - you'll pretty much be confined to eating what the resort makes for you (great local Keralan food, heavier on the seafood). Most of the room packages include meals, which means that breakfast, lunch and dinner are served buffet-style. While this is not horrible, a fuller, always-available a la carte menu would be appreciated.

All in all, an amazing locale, surrounded by perhaps some of the most natural beauty in the world. Waterfalls, wild fruit and nut trees, and a lot of local wildlife (elephants, leopards, deer, monkeys, geckos, many species of birds, etc.). If you need a few days away from the world, and need almost total detachment, there is no better place that I have yet been to in India.

A point of note: we did have good cell reception here, but there was absolutely no way to access the internet (unless you're carrying along your blackberries).

  • Liked — The locale!
  • Disliked — The lack of an a la carte menu
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deapubhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athirapally
9.0 mi away
Hotel Dewland
Hotel Dewland
#56 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chedi Spring Valley Resort
Chedi Spring Valley Resort
#2 of 3 in Athirapally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bethania Resort
Bethania Resort
#5 of 11 in Chalakudy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
8.0 mi away
Elephant Pass Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat
5.9 mi away
Hydel Palace Hotel Resort
Hydel Palace Hotel Resort
#3 of 3 in Athirapally
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls

Property: Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls
Address: P IV/93 A, Kannamkuzhy PO | Chalakudy, Athirapally 680721, India
Location: India > Kerala > Athirapally
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Athirapally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May we introduce our new property 'Rainforest' a boutique resort located at the foot of the Athirapally waterfalls. Perched on the edge of the luxurious wilderness of the Sholayar Range, Rainforest is a never before experience in nature holidays, offering you the perfect getaway for a weekend of natural delight. Within the breathtaking embrace of the deep forests, a rich and diverse flora & fauna abounds. While some of the species actually live on Rainforest property, others make it a point to pay an occasional visit. Behold the spectacular view of the crashing 80 ft waterfalls from any and every suite at 'Rainforest.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls Hotel Thrissur
Rainforest Hotel Kerala
Rainforest Hotel Athirapally Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing