We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Kerala” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls
Ranked #1 of 3 Athirapally B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Kerala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Athirapalli and this gem of a hotel is not yet as well known as it should be! The falls and the cataract a few kilometres upstream are clean and quiet tourist sites that allow you to admire the atmosphere in peace - unlike some of the better known tourist attractions in Kerala.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good - you just need to be fit to climb the stairs to the lower rooms. We wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillivala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    77
    29
    20
    15
See reviews for
81
109
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our only regret for this property was that we only stayed one night. Had we realised how great it is we would have planned a longer stay. The setting is magnificent, with each room having an unobstructed view of the falls. The staff were really friendly and professional and very helpful. The rooms are excellent quality with good a/c and facilities. Even the bathrooms have a view of the falls! The hotel is in the forest reserve and we arranged a jeep safari in the evening. We saw elephant, deer, buffalo and lots of monkeys.
The dining area is open and faces onto the Athirapally waterfall. Meals are buffet style with a good selection of Indian food. Hotel is remote from other facilities and you need to allow 4 hours travel time from Kochin.

Room Tip: Higher floors have easier access as hotel is built on a hillside and reception is at top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballynattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The best thing about this property is its location. The resort is located bang opposite to the Athirapally waterfalls in a small private jungle. The view from the balcony of the rooms is a real treat for the eyes. The waterfall, greenery and the variety of birds that we saw from the room was an amazing experience. The resort charges a huge premium for staying there but after having stayed there I won't regret the decision of selecting this resort. The rooms are spacious with decent amenities. Overall we had a wonderful stay. The resort also organizes a trip to the waterfall with a local guide. We found it very useful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debraj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I just loved everything about this resort , the customer service is excellent and very obliging people , they took care of our needs and gave a very quick response when ever asked . Talking a little about this place , its so damn beautiful and the water fall is like heaven on earth , the rooms were clean and awesome very well designed .
I would say take a little time from the heavy work schedule or a honeymoon stay this place is perfect and a good choice .
i had a one day stay just after my marriage and it was a stay worth to remember , i also did like the tree top room .
i would definietly visit next time and stay in the tree top .
Keep up the good work and hospitality .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Worst hotel ever.Worst hospitality with bad food quality.They spoiled our honeymoon.They fooled us by saying the ac is not working and actor R Madhavan has occupied all the rooms.They let us compromise in spending one night in avenue regent in kochi.Apart from this they didnt let us come to the hotel even though we reached the hotel when we were supposed too.They send us to see all the waterfalls even letting us in the hotel.They spolied our honeymoon no one ever gave our money back.They charged the most in kerala.They are the worst hotel group ever known to me.Worst people dont go there its worsed even more.My aunt also faced the same things when she went a week ago.Please avoid this place otherwise you will suffer

Room Tip: Dont go it is the best way to avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roheen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Enveloped in the dense forests of Kerala is the beautiful property of Rainforest. It has only 9 rooms with excellent hospitality from the entire staff. this is combined with great food (all meals). All the rooms overlook the stunning waterfalls in Athirapally. The rooms are also very tastefully designed. All in all a very good property. Would have loved to stay longer than the 2 days that we stayed there...the place is only 1.5 hours from Kochi airport.

I recommed that you do the safari with the local guide (called Baiju) during your stay. The hotel can organise it.

The only improvement I can suggest is that they could do with a bigger and a better swimming pool and its surrounding area.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and face the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here in Oct 2010 with my family and in laws.We enjoyed the stay and the service at the hotel was really nice.The best part of our stay was the toilets were open to the falls.
Overall an amazing experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balachn1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athirapally
13.8 mi away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chedi Spring Valley Resort
Chedi Spring Valley Resort
#2 of 3 in Athirapally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bethania Resort
Bethania Resort
#6 of 11 in Chalakudy
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hydel Palace Hotel Resort
Hydel Palace Hotel Resort
#3 of 3 in Athirapally
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
8.0 mi away
Elephant Pass Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat
15.2 mi away
SAJ Earth Resort
SAJ Earth Resort
#4 of 9 in Nedumbassery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls

Property: Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls
Address: P IV/93 A, Kannamkuzhy PO | Chalakudy, Athirapally 680721, India
Location: India > Kerala > Athirapally
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Athirapally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May we introduce our new property 'Rainforest' a boutique resort located at the foot of the Athirapally waterfalls. Perched on the edge of the luxurious wilderness of the Sholayar Range, Rainforest is a never before experience in nature holidays, offering you the perfect getaway for a weekend of natural delight. Within the breathtaking embrace of the deep forests, a rich and diverse flora & fauna abounds. While some of the species actually live on Rainforest property, others make it a point to pay an occasional visit. Behold the spectacular view of the crashing 80 ft waterfalls from any and every suite at 'Rainforest.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Resort Athirapally Falls Hotel Thrissur
Rainforest Hotel Kerala
Rainforest Hotel Athirapally Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing