We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay..will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Writing this review a little late, but still worthwhile to share the experience. We stayed here for couple of nights in late February, we were upgraded to a suite. On arrival, we had a pleasant checkin experience with welcome drinks, staff was extremely friendly. Food was good, nothing to complain when you are in the middle of the jungle. Since there were few families, there was no buffet but à la carte. The kitchen staff was super friendly and great customer service. Spa was good, swimming pool was decent but some strange insects floating around. We used the morning safari organized by the resort, little pricey but we were not lucky to find any big cats and not even herds of elephant. We tried the afternoon safari organized by the forest department bus, still no luck in spotting.

The rooms were immaculately clean with great service. The only issue was that there were lot of monkeys in the premises and some guests were busy feeding them all, the management should make it clear or post signs not to feed animals.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us at The Windflower Tusker Trails Bandipur was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here especially on day one (Friday) because it was almost empty and therefore peaceful and quiet. We had the pool to ourselves. On day two (saturday) there were some very noisy people who spoiled it but thankfully our suite room was on the edge of the complex and away from them.
We were unable to go on any safari because of the fire in the jungle so had little to do except relax which was actually a nice change to the frantic tour we were on. I went on the hour country walk with the security man but it was not great - he wanted to get back really. There are no fences around the complex so you cannot wander far and should be in your room after 10.30 pm.
If it was full with similar noisy people we would have hated it as they were just out for a weekend and a 'good time'. Avoid Saturday and Sunday.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a forest view away from the restaurant/games room and pool. Nice windows to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us at The Windflower Tusker Trails Bandipur was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you want to stay away from urban noisy crowded herd then Windflower Resort, Bandipur is the place to be! Not even phone calls will disturb you as there is no connectivity at all.
Its a b'ful resort that is designed in an organic way. It gives a deserted look that adds to its beauty.
please plan for 2-3 days to enjoy to the fullest. Carry books and swimwear with you. You would not like to go anywhere from resort.
service is awesome. Resort people will never say "no" to you.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padmalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us at The Windflower Tusker Trails Bandipur was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was my first Windflower experience. I have visited many hotels ad-mist jungles, and this one is the best amongst all. Jungle hotels have certain restrictions, but windflower scores above all and offers comfort , serenity with surprising elements like monkeys, deers , beautiful birds around you. Food was good and play area was ok. Swimming pool is great.Studio room is great and cleaner washroom.

overall a great experience and a good place for short vacations.
Please keep the good work, but kindly look after your play area as the soccer table and Pool table was not in a good shape.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leena1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us at The Windflower Tusker Trails Bandipur was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Pros:
Inside Bandipur forest range
Easy access to Bandipur and Mudumalai sides
Decent food for more than just survival(I am no foodie)
Comfortable clean suite
Massage in spa was done well
I liked the not so big pool with max depth of just about 5.5 ft because of the exotic insects I found swimming along (I like insects)
No TV (what a relief)
Cons:
Staff have long forgotten something called a 'smile', a big minus for hospitality business
Terrible pool table

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadodiganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us at The Windflower Tusker Trails Bandipur was a good one. We have noted your comment about the staff not smiling and we will ensure that guests are made to feel more welcome henceforth. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We celebrated my mum's bday with a family holiday at Bandipur. We had taken three cottages (studios) for the weekend. It's located about 5 hours from Bangalore and close to the jungle. Hence guests are advised to not step out of their rooms between 10 pm and 6 am to avoid close encounters with animals. During the day, monkey troops frolic around with a few babies as well. A lot of beautiful birds also perch on the trees. Meals are served buffet style with a barbecue every evening. We went on a safari one morning and saw elephants, deers, sambals, peacocks and wild boar as well as on a guided jungle walk. It was quite nippy early morning in the jungle so worth carrying a light jacket or a shawl. Good warm service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust-diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us at The Windflower Tusker Trails Bandipur was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hi,

I visited Windflower Bandipur last weekend alongwith my husband and another couple friend of ours.

The resort was in mid of the jungle without having any boundaries which sound a little adventurous. You also get to see deer hovering around in the premises. Monkeys pay a regular visit. You could see some cows moving around in the morning.
You could hear the birds chirping around and you would see a lot of different kind and colors of sparrows.

The food was quite good. We stayed at Suite room, it was good. It included all meals. Meals were good. We also used spa services which were quite good and relaxing as well.

The bar services were quite expensive though. A mineral water bottle will cost you 75 rupees.

It was a relaxing trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your stay with us was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandipur National Park
1.7 mi away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 3 in Bandipur
303 reviews
8.7 mi away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
563 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
8.4 mi away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dhole's Den
Dhole's Den
#2 of 11 in Bandipur
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur

Address: Mangala Village Road, Bandipur National Park 571126, India (Formerly Tusker Trails)
Location: India > Karnataka > Chamarajanagar District > Bandipur National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bandipur National Park
Price Range: $193 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur welcomes you to a land that's off the grid and nurtured by nature at our jungle resort. Trade your ringtone for birdcalls, and keep your eyes open for a real education. The forest has much to teach us, if we only listen. So rise with the sun and a steaming pot of chai, and then connect with the jungle with an unforgettable safari done by the jungle authorities through the mist-laden national park. Return to a wholesome, homely buffet spread in our open-air restaurant. Take a dip in the infinity pool, RE-EMERGE with our Spa or go sit by the water's edge at the Mangala reservoir. Warm your feet by the fire or under our soft, duvet covers. And do it all over again, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa Bandipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tusker Trails Hotel Bandipur National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing