We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bishnupur Tourist Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
17
53
8
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
53
8
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnon acthe ground floorbeautiful gardenplace to staydining hallricesenior citizensbasic amenitiesrailway stationfront officecomplimentary breakfastwalking distancenice stayterracotta templesmorning teahigher sideomelette
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 85 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We reached there on the verge of Bishnupur Utsav 2012, while all the Organiser and WBTDC officials were present to organize the festival. Early booking is a must in this time of the year. Our booking was confirmed and so we were given Room no 205/206 with balcony overlooking the garden. Moreover, my car car was permitted to parked just below my balcony, far from the regular busy parking place. The rooms were spacious, clean and well furnished but lacks a carpeted floor which may be a concern in the winter. The toilet as per the govt standard, big and the taps not dripping. The hotel staffs were busy at that time but somehow they managed to serve us as per our requirement. In fact, the front-office officials were too much cordial and helpful. This lodge offers the breakfast free and it bears quite a good taste but less in quantity. The meal rates, both veg and non-veg are a bit costly but it do not add more negative points as there are good food available nearby. The morning mist can be enjoyed in the adjacent garden which is professionally managed and bears a good looks. It has a bar. The lodge really offered me a home-far-from-home feelings.

Room Tip: The lodge is a busy one, so make an early booking. The AC rooms are good but near the dinning. I felt non-AC's are well located.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tusharkanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have not stayed in too many Govt hotels, and had minimum expectations. So the delight was genuine, when we got a large room, which had space to spare even after the additional bed was put in. The bathroom was large, and a walkout closet with the cupboard gave the needed luggage space and privacy. Balcony overlooked the garden, and the morning sun came in through this side. The food was good, typical Bengal fare, with the "Posto Bara" (Fried couscous cakes) being the signature dish. But the highlight of this stay must be the hotel staff. They are not the uniformed, pasted smile, robotic service one gets used to in chain hotels. It is indeed difficult sometimes to make out the staff from the guests, and offer help and opinion on every aspect of the stay, be it customising the lunch, calling (and haggling) for the care hire, getting the rickshaw in attendance, even when we have just mentioned a desire, and chasing away monkeys (yes, they are there on the trees that abound). The cleanliness in the room may not be great, the food may be a bit too homely (especially the fare is short on the "paneer butter masala" and may be a stretch for vegetarians), but the staff more than made up for these shortcomings. They made the stay almost like a visit to a family.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors, to avoid thefrequent passersby on ground floor corridors
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolkata_Babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The best hotel in Bishnupur.
The room we stayed was 207 the suite.The room was a large single one and not a suite type(having 2 seperate rooms).There are also few AC rooms and Non AC rooms too but one have to book this hotel before coming to this place,specially if it is a weekend.

The staffs are co-cordial and helpful and are always ready to extend their views about the places to visit with a smile.

Only tea and snacks are serviced in room.Lunch and Dinner are served in the Dinning Hall ONLY and are served HOT.The complimentary breakfast is very nice.

The Garden area of this Hotel is beautifully decorated with many beautiful plants.
One can find the Bengal Tourism Flags always flying high....

And unlike any other hotel where the staying time is 24 hours here you check-in at 12Noon and check-out time is 11a.m....

Room Tip: Always prefer to stay in the suite and the AC rooms ONLY.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandyKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Too good to be believed. After traversing through what can be called a drivers hell, we managed to reach the Bishnupur Tourist Lodge. Located close to the Rash Mancha. Everything from the upkeep of the building to the rooms is above average. Room size, furniture and fixtures are all worthy of praise. The only let down could be the kitchen where very few items are prepared. Complementary breakfast is of very good quality.
Manpower is limited with the housekeeping guys doing kitchen work too, but with a smile on their face. Overall hard to believe that we are in a govt. institution. Kudos to the team that manages it. I feel the folks at WBTDC managed Pathik Motel, Durgapur need to visit BIshnupur Tourist Lodge to see how things need to be done to the satisfaction of one and all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajesh-Born2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A perfect weekend trip I must say! Started from Kolkata early morning. A blissful drive till Singur via the Durgapur expressway(although I found that the recent rains have taken some toll at places). After you take the left lane to Tarakeshwar, things get average, with pedestrians and cycles-vans on the roads.. But terrible patch comes after Arambagh! Almost no road with huge pot holes. Had to drive real slow. But the last stretch of around 20 kms to Bishnupur is through a forest, which is actually the best part. The road is an absolute pleasure to drive, and breathtaking scenic beauties of "Gram Bangla"..
Reached Bishnupur in the afternoon. The hotel has a very good location. had no troubles locating it.. All the A/C rooms had been booked, and we had to manage with Non A/C one's.. The hotel is huge, with lots of space..no trouble parking even a Truck! :P
Rooms are big, clean. bathroom was also neat n clean.. food is very good, posto being the favorite.. The hotel guys arranged for a guide who would help us sightseeing the entire temples, and at a very reasonable rate of 200 bucks only! The food at the lodge is quite good, and it has a bar.. the only thing which was a major turn off was that, the bar was meant for tourists, but when we went there for some drink, it was occupied by local people! Eventually, we found a place after standing at the counter for more than half an hour. Also, the bar being over crowded by localites, the service was bad, with only 1 waiter taking all the orders, serving the food-drinks, cleaning the tables..but apart from this, the overall stay was nice.

Room Tip: If you are not going in the winters, its wiser to take an A/C room. The heat really gets into you at times!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sumit_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews