We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Decent Hotel in the Area”
Review of Hotel Canary Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hazaribagh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Canary Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hazaribagh B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Only Decent Hotel in the Area”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Canary Inn is like an oasis in the desert. Its the only hotel worth staying the area. The rooms and hotel are well planned. Maintenance and cleanliness is not upto the mark. The hotel could do better with some trained staff both in house keeping and restaurant. The best solution is to ask for the service and avail it as they are understaffed. Rooms are spacious and don't feel claustrophobic. Linen is clean but I had some issues with towels both bath and hand towels. Food is good. Breakfast spread can be better. On the whole it doesn't make sense to complain as there is nothing better in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank agarwala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
3
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is good, and possibly the only good hotel in the area. Slightly high priced with compared to the rentals in the location. The staff and maintenance is a pain in here. After checking in i recognized that the room was not even cleaned since the last person vacated. Toilets were dirty, linen was not changed, there were used toiletries in the bathroom and even on complaining the same to the front desk, it took them ages to get it done. Orders at the restaurant takes long to be room serviced. When checking out, the cashier did not accept card payment saying he is in need of cash!!! (never expected this is a hotel)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Deepak_Kunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

In that town it is best. If we stay there we will not feel that we r in small town. Restauren was good too. We can find south indian food like dosa, idly, vada etc and north indian food too. Rooms was clean enfough. I love to stay there when i visit next time. Its cost is cheaper too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susheelkcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

On the way to Ranchi I stayed there for 3 days with firends. Hotel is situated at Central location, just close to the building of State Bank of India Hazaribagh Branch. The rooms are good and cleanliness is maintained. Room service are available at any time.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narenjcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I use to stay in this property whenever i visit Hazaribagh for my work, Hotel is good with having good location, Large room, good staff and cleanness. Front desk is also prompt as most of the time i reached hazaribagh at midnight and at that time also every one there are ready to provide the service. Rooms are good and clean. Only one thing needs to be improved in food. Its not bad but needs some improvement and cost is bit high as per Hazaribagh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhikom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed in a suite. The entry room is large and accommodates a drawing room with sofa and a dining table. The room leads to a large bedroom separated by a curtain. The bed is king size. There is a small attached toilet with a tub and western fittings. The toilet fittings were stained and appeared not to have been cleaned. The bed sheets were dirty white in colour. One bottle of mineral water was provided. Coffeemaker was provided after I moved in. But the tea bags and coffee sachets were insufficient. Room service was not up-to-the-mark. There were language problems in speaking in English at the reception. The food was provided in the restaurant in the first floor. Food was hot, spicy and very costly. Breakfast was complimentary with the regular dishes. Dinner was ala carte. There was no WiFi and net connectivity. A lift took us to the higher floors. The ambience of the hotel was good but the smelly. The hotel accepted all credit cards. Opening the room with the electronic key was a problem. And tell the room service not to enter the room in your absence. Travel desk was non-existent.

Room Tip: Room in the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Cancer_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Canary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canary Inn

Property: Hotel Canary Inn
Address: Beside State Bank Main Branch,NH-33,Ranchi Patna Road, Hazaribagh 825301, India
Location: India > Jharkhand > Hazaribagh District > Hazaribagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hazaribagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its ideal location, Hotel Canary Inn offers you world-class hospitality in a traditional and exotic ambiance. Spacious rooms, Delightful range of in-house dining venues . Canary Inn Hazaribhag is undoubtedly the preferred and convenient hotel in the city . Inspired and creative gourmet experiences, from exotic Indian to International, spread across 2 dedicated outlets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Canary Inn Hazaribagh, Jharkhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing