We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome!!! Unmatchable Hospitality”
Review of Blue Canvas Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chakrata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Canvas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there with family and friends for 3 nights in first week of December. From the moment we put our foot at resort we felt like we were at home. Though we had stayed in luxury tents earlier also but the way these guys have planned them out is simply superb. Nicely done interiors, modern toilets, cosy beds, everything is planned in a way to make stay very comfortable.
This infrastructure is backed by unmatchable hospitality which seems so natural to easy manners of people working at resort. Mouth watering food and snacks is comparable to the best offered in Delhi. It is amazing the way they have utilized small space available to offer so many activities which make stay truly memorable. We wish them all the success and look forward to visiting them again!!! and AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the east opens to the beautiful view of mountains and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank anumishraDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had to write this review when I saw these guys are listed in here.

I had taken my entire team of 14 people to a team building trip to Chakrata sometime in June 2011. The kind of arrangements that were made, food and all the other facilities were immaculate and the guys are extremely friendly customizing every bit of the trip. They made sure our stay was comfortable, food was excellent and we had an experience that stands out for sure. Kudos to the team, especially Vikram. Keep up your good work mate...

PS: I have mentioned January 2012 (in the when did you travel section) as that was the latest option. My team traveled in June 2011.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kunal_Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited Blue Canvas Resort with Family for 4 days and 3 nights. This was the first time that i was planning to stay in tents far from city with family, was quite apprenhenssive about the stay. But when we reached there and stayed for a while my definition of luxury changed completely.

In this review i won't talk about the quality of accomodation, tours organized by them for us and overall response of staff team as all of them were of high quality which were beyond our expectation.

People working for Blue Canvas are too courteous to believe. Perfect example of "at your service". Whether it's day or night they are ready to serve in the best possible ways.

We were being accompanied by lots of small kids, and people of blue canvas ensured that every small need of kids ar fulfilled in-time.

They planned the itenary in such a way that everyone was comfortable and was engaged in one or other activity. Lots of excursion, games at resort, decent and healthy food to eat and evening snacks with tea in open lush green environment was an awesome experience.

Luxury comes with a price but this one was cool !!!!!

I would recommend everybody to visit this place once either for excursion or just for rejuvenation.

Kudos to BLUE CANVAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ravi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

In simple words it's a must go place to be for anyone looking for weekend or long weekend destination. The organizers and staff are awesome and very helpful and one will feel homely for sure. I have been there with my family and friends. Every one of us is really touched with their hospitality.

I booked for a group of six families for 2 night and 4 days Itinerary. Our train reached early morning and they were there at dehradoon station to pick us up and finally after few hour of journey were were their at blue canvas resort. All the camps were clean and ready for us to settle down. With no time waste we all moved for breakfast :) and then went back to our camp for bath and then rested for some time. We were all ready and excited to go for our first activity and that was going to Tiger falls. We all trek a little bit and then jumped into the water. We had our lunch there near the pond and then we were back to the camp. In the evening we went to play volleyball with the camp staff there.

Next day we were ready to move to another camp site called Kanasr where we had planned to spend night. On the way we track a little bit to budher meadows. It s was a beautiful site. One must plan to camp at this place if time permits. It has a cave that considered having connection with mahabart and connecting to lakhamandal. make sure to carry goo head light if you want to explore this case as its ultra black inside and be careful about wild animal that might be resting inside the cave :) after exploring it a little bit we moved back to kanasar camp site where we had out lunch and then we plan to take rest as everyone was feeling tired after trekking to budher. In the evening we all enjoyed Flying-fox activity which was new for some of the team members but everyone tried and enjoyed. Even kids did not miss the chance and did it many times. Night was a surprise for us as organizer had planned folk dance, music and bonfire. Everyone enjoyed it and then had dinner. Sky was clear too that night and you could count as many stars you want :) please do keep in mind that this site has minimal facilities while planning.

Next morning again some of us enjoyed flying Fox again and some played cricket. We planned to trek to deoban but some of members in the group preferred to reach there by vehicle. So we decided to go by vehicle as we also running short of time. Finally we have reached there after taking lunch at kanasr itself. On way we get a chance to do Rappelling and again had a fantastic time. We spend few hours at deoban as we plan to be back to blue canvas for that night. One should plan to camp at deoban and I am sure it will be a memorable experience spending night there. There is FRH as well if one does not want to stay at the camp. While going back we stopped at chakrata market and enjoyed mouth watering momos. Everyone just loved that evening snack :) it’s highly recommend if you are in chakrata market. We were back everyone was tired of day full of activities and travel but everyone was happy after such a beautiful day.

Last day we all had breakfast and were in the ground to do more exciting stuff. All of us tried hand with shooting :) ladies took the lead and then we played some of our games. Then we all were ready to try hand with Flying-fox again. Once finished we had lunch and moved towards Dehradoon as we had to catch train in the evening. Day was still not complete as we still have more activities to do. Some of us did not wanted to get into the water but other experience the fun of river crossing in Yamuna River :) it was late and everyone was feeling sleepy, tired and hungry. We had a late night train back to Delhi. The own offered us to take rest at his house in dheradoon and also served us the really tasty homemade food. Really appreciate his gesture for taking so much care of all of us. Then they transferred us to railway station and we were back to Delhi next morning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ehsviku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chakrata
16.7 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 76 in Mussoorie
710 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#4 of 76 in Mussoorie
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Burans
Hotel Burans
#4 of 8 in Chakrata
14 reviews
14.3 mi away
Incredible Camp
Incredible Camp
#17 of 30 in Dhanaulti
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Canvas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Canvas Resort

Address: Village-Korwa, Chakrata 248123, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Chakrata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Chakrata
Price Range: $20 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The central theme of our resort revolves around the concept of "Small is beautiful" and "Less is more". The idea is to develop tourism in complete harmony with "local milieu". It involves preserving and promoting local culture, conserving and developing community resources, yet giving travellers all the comforts of modern life.Facilities:- Luxury Swiss Cottage Tents with attached modern bathrooms- Authentic Indian and Jaunsari Cuisine - Wi fi High Speed Internet - Well Stocked Library - Ample Parking Space- Tourist Information Centre - Eco Shop selling local products - Indoor and Outdoor activities: Target Shooting, Rappelling, Rock climbing, Flying fox,Jungle Camping, Trekking, Hobby clubs (handicraft, Bird watching, Star gazing)- Cultural Showcase, Local folk dance and music ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing