We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic beach cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. We were there on two separate occassions within a fortnight in a sea view cottage both times.
These cottages are well worth the extra cost as they are far enough away from each other to be very private and relaxing. Inside they do need a little repair in places but not enough to worry about! The beds were lovely and comfortable with duvets and pillows very soft and excellent. Directly outside, the view over the beach and Bay of Bengal were great and you could have your own sunbeds and mattresses to laze on.
The swimming pool and surroundings were excellent with plenty of shade.
The restaurant served fantastic food with an amazing choice, the cost of which we didn't feel was excessive. (e.g fantastic 3 course buffet dinner at weekends for £7-50 inc coffee and eat as much as you like) 24 hour In Room Dining was as excellent with a great choice and very efficient.
The staff were very good and helpful throughout and we used the Business Centre to check in for our return flight (Another reviewer said there wasn't one!)
The only thing I would say is that the outside chairs at the bar are very uncomfortable. Although the inside ones are better. Hotel managers please take note! I would not class it as a 5* but a 41/2* as some very minor repairs are needed. Stay Here, it's good.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,789 - 1,795 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2007

Hotel is nice and clean. The people are very friendly. It is very expensive compared to other hotels in and around. Breakfast costs Rupees 480 - which little more than 10$. And the drinks are riduculously expensive. There is no place around to buy anything outside. Pretty much everything you pay as if you pay in a 4 star hotels in the US in a big city. For instance the water bottles in the room cost Rupees 280 (6$). For India -- this is ridiculos.

The beach is so so. I would go to Varkala or Goa for this beach anyday. Beach seems to cause choppy waters and not so "swimmer" friendly. I stayed there for a night. Overall, it cost me about 275$. Airport drop / Train station drop costs about 50$. Again, too expensive and a beach resort that doesn't really offer a great beach.

On the positive note, staff were very flexible. Offered us early check-in, late check out and etc.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank RaghuAGowtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Overall I loved this hotel...they took care of us very well. Our room looked over the Bay of Bengal, and the room itself was ok, but the bathroom looked like the fixtures were from the 1950s..very worn. The infrastructure of the hotel...walk ways, pool, etc. looked like they were on the decline...crumbling, rusty. But this being said, we had a very good time, and the food is fabulous. So on balance, I would definitely stay there again, but I hope they will fix it up so it matches other Taj properties. That might mean closing it for 6 mos for a makeover, but they really need to invest in the property.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmet2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Stayed here in the Middle of November 2006. Being outside Chennai the area is far more peaceful and situated on a nice stretch of beach which at the time was free from Cattle and Dogs.

I stayed in one of the Garden Bungalows which was absolutely fantastic, they even have an outside shower in the walled rear "Yard".

The Bars and Resaurants were all very nice, as with any hotel more expensive that the local places but you expect that.

In short a great hotel, with very good facilities and very friendly staff. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CompleteF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2006

There were definitely fleas here. I have the bite marks to prove it. the normal room are awful, but the beach villas are quite pretty -- great backyards. The beds are SO hard! They form a 90 degree angle at the corner. When you sit down on them there is 0 give. My beach villa did not have plugs that converted from India to US like all the other plugs in the hotel, and the hotel had no adaptors or business center.The staff was very friendly though.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank carcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

the F&B is overpriced and hardly worth the price....the sunday brunch costs 1000/- but the service and the spread hardly makes up for the price. the beach side restaurant is an absolute rip-off....the seafood is priced as if 'we will not be getting anymore of these in the future so eat it while it lasts'..and the beverages- only ridiculously excpensive imported stuff here although the State has domestic brands on sale. strange...
the aircons in the room do not work and I did wonder why they had fans in the room when I checked in; now I know why....
all in all...a case of milking us for being on a great location...

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sumenon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

I loved the Fisherman's Cove, but felt that the beach cabins where way over hyped. next time I come to Chennai, I plan on staying in the less expensive hotel room. They're about 50% cheaper and have the same accomodations minus the outdoor shower, which in my opinion were not very nice.

The service was efficient, but a tad smug. They certainly were concerned with my comfort, which I appreciated, however there always seemed to be a bit of grumbling by the resort staff.

The restaurant was superb and room service was excellent.

My only real complaint is that the property is quite a way from Chennai. I'm guessing it's about 30-40 km. And with Chennai's streets clogged with cars and cows, it can make getting anywhere a bit of a challenge even for the best leased drivers.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kernmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covelong
11 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
2 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
220 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
441 reviews
13.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range: $189 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing