We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best A Man Can Get ! ! !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This was probably the best time we have ever had on a vacation. More than a year later, our family still recalls those magical moments. Excellent location, Out of the world service, Best staff in the world, mind blowing experience. Property is beach facing with beach hardly 100 yards from your room! And those 100 yards include a swimming pool.
Only drawback that I thought at that time, limited Spa services (no jacuzzi/ steam bath). Though we were promised that all that would be rectified soon. Hope it's done now.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrotGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,654 - 1,660 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

Second visit to this hotel

Just had 4 nights here, I stayed in one of the Villa's, these are all located with Sea views, in fact the end of your garden is the start of Beach. I really enjoyed my stay here, the staff are very attentative and very welcoming. The rooms are quite spacious, especially for 1.

The food at all the restaurants is very good, I was quite surprised to be honest.

There is a small Gym and a Spa which all my colleagues used but I was to late to book.

The pool is in need of some attention, lights hanging off near the Pool Bar, needs a lick of paint here and there.

Despite being on the Beach the security is still tight so no problems there.

Morning breakfast is good with a varied choice on offer. The Bar in the main Hotel has sport channels for your soccer and football fix too.

Overall I would stay again, funny how the resort turns into a Hitchcock movie at about 18:00pm when all the crows meet in the trees, it's quite a spectacle.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essexbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Great location, lovely grounds. Hotel well past its prime, in need of renovations. Staff very good but as its a long way from anything, they have a captive market. Food & drink very expensive even by Western standards. eg. Tea cost Rs270 for 2 people? In India?? Mailed a letter from the hotel to Chennai, got charged Rs15 for the stamp, never had to pay for a stamp before at a hotel. Food was good, enjoyed a seafood buffer BBQ which was excellent but with "luxury" tax this worked out at Rs2,200 per person. Bit much for some shrimp on the barbie. Use of internet is expensive, Rs150 per half hour.

The foyer is small, always lots of guests arriving & leaving so makes it very busy. Foyer opens onto terrace which is lovely but marred by noise from foyer.

Getting taxis very difficult, had to call cabs from Chennai. There are better value hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

working for an Outsourcing Company in Chennai.I have been to most of the Best hotles in Chennai on Business reasons but heard very high about this place...., Got an opprtunity to visit this place when my Clients from US came down on a Business visit.. i heard that one of the restaurents over here normally catches the live Fish from the pond & prepares the fish fry or anything expected out of it as per the request. Well i was excited to see this happening but mind me i am a Veg. so wouldn't like to see that happeining.
We booked a Cottage for the Clients near the Beach side & it was lovely feeling... though little expensive but worth for renting it at least for a life time experience... Ours was Cost to the Company :), In the evening we stepped into the Restaurent for dinning... It was a Bufet having a combination of Indian & Continental dishes... There were many Options to choose for Starters, Main Course, Desserts & guess what even the Chats were around the corner.
Well i was happy by getting tasted Pani puri, Soup, Dhokla, Ladiesfinger Vegetable, Samosa, Mixed panneer, Cali-Allo, Black Dal, Rice, Pulav, Rotis & nans were available as usual, & no doubt you will find the typical South Indian dishes as well in the menu... so as the pastas... trust i though was not able to eat more as i wanted to taste almost everything on teh Veg Menu, Got to the desert with Icecreame having around 5 flavours, & there were 4 types of Halwas including my altime favourite carrot Halwa.. Trust me it was like a feast on that day..., I was just wondering the name of the place should be changed as few Vegies might think it is only Non- Veg you get tasty over there, but trust me there is more to it than what is there in the name for vegies :) & i heard from my Folks that Non- Veg dishes were equally awesome... could see my self the Tandoori Kababs they were looking Lush red... gives a perfect belnd of cooked perfectly...,
What was most appealing was you will find the Incharge Shef going round & noting the reactions of there customers no doubt can understand he is trying to read the reactions of all his customers.
After having a heavy dinner we went on to the Beach of the Hotle & it was awesome... the Breeze & it was a Full Moon day it perfectly added to the beauty..., Trust me i was just thinking that God had made the whole day & night Perfect for us.
After relaxing on the Beach we have guided the Clients to there beautiful Cottage & there on we took our car & drived back to Chennai on the Beautiful ECR Road... There is lot to say but i need to rush for a Work....,

Guys u can visit this place & trust me you will expreience the lifetime experience which can't be measured with Money...!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pravik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Excellent service by the hotel staff and very well maintained ambience

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chennaipleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The thing I love about TATA is the hospitality and quality. Taj fisherman's cove is the living example for this. Everything about this place is just so perfect.

You really wouldn't care about Chennai's weather once you are here. Fisherman's cove is on the shore of Bay of bengal and the evenings are heaven. YOu can enjoy in their beautiful wide pool and take a catamaran ride in the sea. Enjoy their awesome cocktails on their bar overlooking the sea.

This is a perfect place to stay and relax. Do not miss their jiva spa. Though you find that it's quite expensive to stay here but you won;t regret your stay here.

Heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank renachaluvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

What a great setting! The pool scene was beautiful. You can hardly believe how wonderful the scenery is just 30 mins away from the hustle and bustle of Chennai. The food was great, the extra care taken by the staff to cater to one's needs was well appreciated and the hotel had a good bar scene as well. This is quite popular with expatriates as well as the local affluent people. There are loads of things to do around, with the old town of Mahabalipuram another 30 mins up the road, the Crocodile farm a short distance away as well as a decent beach, and 'back waters' where salt harvesting takes place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewaterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covelong
11.0 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
11.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
400 reviews
2.0 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
804 reviews
13.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#7 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range: $146 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing