We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Suffers from a common Indian 5 star hotel problem: poor value for money and in need of an upgrade. This is compounded by the fact that it's the best beach resort anywhere near Chennai as it is, so little incentive to invest money.

Service is good, but common areas could do with an upgrade.
Same goes for the rooms, which are a little old (esp. bathrooms) and pretty damp.

If you want to be anywhere near the ocean, get a cottage, because the main building is quite far from the beach. Beware though that the beach is not used much: not groomed and often it is dangerous to swim. Most of the activity revolves around the grounds.

Grounds are lovely and the restaurants good (we particularly liked the one by the beach). Pool is one of the warmest I've ever been in (sun-baked and just over a meter deep).

It's a decent property if you are near Chennai and want some sun, or if you're there for an event (like us). Otherwise, I don't think I'd travel far for it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,789 - 1,795 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

This hotel was recommended to me for it closeness (40 minutes) to the IT Express way. I will visit again for the excellent standard of accommodation and service I enjoyed.

What makes it memorable is the location and atmosphere. The delightful beach and the peaceful gardens are a world away from the normal identikit business hotel. This is a hotel with character and iife. The room I had was very good: clean, comfortable and well-equipped.

Perhaps the main restaurant could be more adventurous than the evening buffet. Similarly the achingly romantic Upper Deck restaurant, although the European meals served are perfectly well done, would be better with some local dishes on the menu. The business facilities are just a little flaky, but work well enough. Anyone doing business in the city centre at rush hour needs to allow 1.5 hours to get there and the same to get back.

However for me that doesn't spoil this wonderful place. Most hotels I stay in on business, however luxurious, I can't wait to leave. After seven nights, I was sorry to leave Fisherman's Cove. Without doubt, one of the cottages in the grounds would make for the perfect honeymoon spot.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lewis-Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I have gone over quite a few hotels and resorts in India, and I must say the Fisherman's Cove was definitely way above the average resort I have stayed in anywhere in India.

We stayed at a cottage by the sea...which is what I would reccomend for those considering a stay, only because the standard rooms don't quite impart the same feel. This one comes with a decent sized bedroom, leading into a rather congested bath, which then leads to a sort of private courtyard at the back with a shower fitted there...for anyone that fancies a shower under the sky, but with some degree of privacy.

The beach was great. Very clean, and quite private. Would also reccomend the special dinner for 2 on the beach...quite an unbeatable experience and right up there as far as romantic dinners go.

My wife and I also went over to the spa for what they call a couple's massage. Rather embarassing to see the masseurs touch our feet with a "Atithi Devo Bhava" (Translates to Guests are like God). The massage was average, but sipping champaign in a rose water bath immediately after the massage was quite a treat!

All in all, a great romantic outing.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sxa93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

we stayed at FC after my wife's hip resurfacing surgery, so this qualifies as 'medical tourism'. we found FC exceptional in every respect -- excellent service from everyone from the concierge (Patrick) to the pool & groundskeepers. and the accomodations were first rate -- nothing was run down, everything was extremely well kept. the breakfast buffet was to die for, and kept us going until dinner.

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend FC 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Two_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We arrived at the Fisherman's Cove straight from Chennai airport using their airport pick-up service. Cool towels and bottles of iced water were provided by the driver during the journey. On arrival, we found the staff to be welcoming, even allowing us access to our rooms before check-in time. Our rooms were smaller than we were expecting and smelt of musty air conditioning as the windows weren't designed to open.

However, the outside space is so relaxing we spent little time in the rooms so it really didn't matter too much. The laundry service was excellent, the staff were courteous but the best area is most certainly the pool and gardens which are very well maintained. We only had two disappointents; small items were missing from the side pockets of our rucksacks on arrival (which we had in our possession during the journey from the UK) and the wine is extremely over priced (although to be fair, India is not well know for its wine!) The follow-up from management was exceptional who clearly care about the experience of guests.

Would we go back? Most definitely yes!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tillymintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

nice place, good restaurants, great service

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank witenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

My partner and I stayed here in March 2008 for 12 days in one of the seafront Villas with our own private garden and direct access on to the beach. Our accommodation was superb – well decorated, clean and very comfortable. Our housekeeper, Guna, could not have been more obliging and helpful, and made sure that our stay was top class. The villas are the best accommodation available, followed by cottages which have either a garden view or beach view. Then there are the rooms in the hotel itself, which seem to get varied reviews but, as we did not see them, I can’t comment. The beach in front of the hotel is well kept. However, once away from the hotel’s perimeter, it was littered with rubbish, the occasional dead fish plus one dead turtle, and not very inviting. A short walk south on the beach takes you to a local fishing village which was affected by the tsunami of 2004. These people are extremely poor and some supplement their livelihood by selling shells. Some of the fishermen will approach tourists and have a chat etc, ultimately looking to gain a few rupees or old clothes, toiletries etc. We were quite happy to oblige.
There are 3 restaurants, 2 of which are outdoors, and all offer different menus. Our favourite was the Bay View, directly overlooking the Bay of Bengal. We had some lovely meals in all 3, but a beach side table at the Bay View takes some beating! The chefs are all keen for your views and welcome feedback - we were really pleased when the Bay View chef ordered in some shark especially for us. We found the price of the meals to be very reasonable but wine and spirits are extremely pricey.
The gardens and pool are beautifully kept as is the Reception, with gorgeous flower displays etc. The hotel offers a good rate of exchange for currency also.
I tried several treatments at the Spa and would recommend a visit – a very calming experience and thoroughly enjoyable.
We found all of the staff to be very courteous and willing to please. They all had ready smiles and seemed to enjoy interacting with their customers. Most speak English to varying degrees, which can have some delightful results. For example, I rang Reception to order some food for the room and was promptly presented with a basket of apples – they thought I was asking for “some fruit for the room”! ! ! Wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Beedubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covelong
11 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
2 mi away
MGM Beach Resorts
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
245 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
450 reviews
13.8 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range: $175 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing