We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a good holiday”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This review is a little late as we stayed here about 4 months ago but I have only just managed to get around to it now.

First impressions - the resort is definitely in need of a little upgrade & some basic renovations.That's not to say the property isn't well maintained but it is very dated & could do with some local flavour & character in the common areas at least.

But what it lacks in interiors, it makes up in service. The staff is warm & friendly & will go out of their way to take good care of you.

We stayed in a charming villa with a private garden right on the beach & for a city dweller like me, it was amazing to be able to wake up & see the waves breaking a few metres from your doorstep. Or to laze away an afternoon lying back in a hammock with a book. However, one feedback I would like to give is regarding the housekeeping - the grass was not trimmed well in the villa garden & I hesitated more than once before I finally stepped out onto it. There was a little cemented area just outside our patio where you could wash the sand off your feet before you stepped into your room - I couldn't use this at all as the grass was so overgrown around it, I preferred to stay away. There are also a lot of crows here which makes for a lot of mess (esp when they eat the little fish on the garden tables & chairs) so perhaps the housekeeping can make it a point to clean these regularly?

Food was excellent throughout the resort - even in the coffee shop (which, in most hotels, serve good, but uninspiring food). The Upper Deck restaurant served some excellent Mediterranean dishes but it was extremely expensive & the staff must learn that sometimes 'less is more' when it comes to service.

The restaurant that had us raving was the Bayview seafood restaurant right on the beach. Chef Thiru has a way with seafood that not too many chefs can boast of & his food, combined with the setting & the beautiful waves, made this an experience I remember vividly even after all these months. For us, complete foodies, Chef Thiru's seafood preparations will be a prime reason for us to return to the Taj Fisherman's Cove. Service at the restaurant was very good; friendly, warm, good recommendations & just the right amount of attention given to us by the staff; a refreshing change after Upper Deck. We also found a lot of locals from Chennai driving down here over the weekend, always proof of good, fresh food.

The Jiva Spa at the resort is one of the best I've experienced, though prior booking is required when the resort is full which happens quite often when there is a conference group.

The best part of the resort, though, is quite simply, the beachfront. For me, a Goa regular, the clean blue water, long unbroken stretch of golden sand, stretching in both directions as far as the eye can see, and unspoilt by shacks was a refreshing change from beaches of Goa. The waves are different too, higher & faster & I wasn't surprised to find a lot of surf shacks further down. We spent most of our evenings walking the length of the beach as the sun set over the waters.

If you'd like to get out, a trip to Mahabalipuram is a must for the fabulous Shore Temple while a visit to the Madras Crocodile Bank & snake venom collection centre a few kms down the road from the resort is also worth your while.

Overall a charming resort that grows on you the longer you stay. Definitely plan to go back.

Room Tip: if you are a couple or a family, stay in either the cottages or the villas. The views of the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmritaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    611
    224
    79
    28
See reviews for
581
430
53
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Taj Fisherman's Cove is one of my favorite hotels worldwide!

Rajiv from the front-desk made our stay fantastic. He went out of his way to greet us, and upon hearing my twin sister and I were celebrating our birthday arranged for a Cake to be delivered to our Cottage (C-18). He was also kind enough to invite us to a special Tea where they treated us to some exotic snacks and once again pampered us.

Slevam the Lifeguard, took us on a walk along the beach to show us to different types of wildlife.He found a guitar Fish, showed us different types of crab species and the highlight of our stay, showed us 2 different Turtle Nests! His respect for the environment was contagious!

The staff at Bay View were also very sweet. After our main course, we couldn't decide on a desert. So the waiter brought us a special mocktail to wash down the incredible dinner on-the-house. It was the perfect way to end a weekend of pampering at the Taj. I will definitely be returning here!

The Garden View cottage is very quaint. C-18 where we stayed has a view of the ocean is a close walk to the Spa, Restaurants and Pool. The outdoor shower was my favorite!

The breakfast buffet was delicious (had a good selection of Indian and continental food) with live counters for Dosa, Poori, Waffles, Pancakes and Eggs. If you haven't tried the bakes Yogurt here, you must!

We had a relaxation massage at the Jiva Spa and the masseuse's were fantastic. The massage was so good, we went on both days! The hotel was kind enough to give us a discount upon receiving my Taj Inner Circle membership number.

In my opinion, the Taj Fisherman's cove relationship management and service surpasses that of any of the other Taj's in Chennai. From the check-in, to the in-house dining & housekeeping, to the special invitation to tea, to the exclusive mocktails at the Restaurant when we couldn't decide on a dessert for dinner, to Selvam's walk along the beach hunting for wild life. The team pampered us and made us feel very special. The willingness of the team to go out of their way to help was exactly what makes me refer my peers to the Taj Group when choosing accommodation for their travel.

Room Tip: C-18 is close to the lobby, spa, pool and restaurants. It also has a partial view of the Sea even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest

We are pleased to note that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and appreciation

We have passed on your compliments all the team members, they felt greatly motivated by your positive comments. It is always our endeavour to ensure that everyone of our guests who visit us enjoy a memorable stay with us

With warm wishes
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
263 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cover is located about 45 minutes south of the Chennai aiport. It is in the Cavelong beach resort area and what a resort it is! It is very isolated (although there is a fishing village about a kilometer or so down the beach) and when you come in, you definitely sense it. Upon entering the property, you see lovely landscaped grounds everywhere, small residence huts, and the main building. Check-in at the main building was great, you get personal service by someone at one of several desks. My hut residence was a few minutes walk away from the main building, but I was ushered with my luggage using a golf cart.

My residence hut was great. The main room was circular (as was my hut) with a large comfortable bed. The separate bathroom had a bathtub, sink and toilet. In the back was the outdoor shower. The outdoor shower was landscaped into the hill with high bamboo shielding the shower. The air conditioning worked very well and there was also a large ceiling fan above the bed.

I spent time each day I was at the Taj, wandering the private beach as well as the wonderful grounds at the resort.

I ate at both the Seagull restaurant (in the main building) where I had lovely breaskfasts as well as a nice Indian lunch and the Upper Deck restaurant which was outdoors for Mediterranean food (very, very good). The Anchor Bar in the main building was an excellent place to relax with a drink.

Service was very good at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a hut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for very descriptive appreciation on our food, room and service.

Yes, the cottages are very well designed like a shell shaped with open shower, bath, bed and sit out and enjoy the sea and breeze..

I am glad, you visited the Seagull our all day dining, the Upper deck the med cuisine and relaxed in our Anchor Bar

We are grateful for such a lovely feedback and looking forward to your next visit

thank you

B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our visit to Chennai. It is located right on the beach, but it's not private beach and local people do walk around. There's nice restaurant right on beach which serves very nice sea food. this is the only restaurant in the state which has this perfect location. The swimming pool is clean. Buffet breakfast spread is just ok, on weekend lot of local people come for breakfast who make the place noisy and children running all around.excellent spa, must try. Try staying in cottages facing sea. Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay in cottages facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnaprabhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback

The beaches are not owned by any one in India, However we take pride in keeping the beach clean and have employed with life guard & security personal to ensure our guest have private time on the sands..

The Bay View, is the finest restaurant serving the fresh catch of the day with the ocean view

Looking forward to welcome you back at the resort

warm regards
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very nice rooms and excellent service. I stayed in the main hotel with view over the swimming pool.
Very nice garden and you are at the beach which is very clean (small fishervillage at walkable distance on the beach)
Breakfast is outstanding as always.
The massages are very good.

Room Tip: Try to have an independant room with full seaview, lathough the room I had in the main building was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
199 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went to the resturant close to the beach. Ordered three main courses. Indian gravys were good, but really nothing special... The mud crab was a crab shell without any meat, kinda disappointing. If we didnt share meals and i had the crab myself i would be very very sad. THe place itself i cant say nothing bad about, its a paradise, its beautiful, its just... a place to go away to take rest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed in this property on 22nd January 2014 and was on a business trip. The first and the most important aspect that catch your attention is the beach which is extremely close. The evenings are the most thrilling. The cool breeze which comes from the sea is enough to bring back the memories of your life.
Location wise this is the best beach property in Chennai.
Talking about the rooms. I have stayed in the cottage which is close to the beach. The rooms are good. Service is also good. Food is great as well.
As this is a huge property, one will have to use the bicycle or the cart to move around through the Resort.
All together this is an excellent property. Would suggest this to all my clients, friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzMLTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covelong
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing