We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chennai Fisherman's Cove needs a facelift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covelong
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chennai Fisherman's Cove needs a facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were keen to stay at 5 star hotels, so for Chennai, we booked at Taj Vivanta's Fisherman's Cove. It was highly priced for its ambience, which is so basic and common to most resorts. This place definitely needs a facelift and maintenance of its furnitures, fixtures etc. room was standard mid size room but the Toilets were old and did not have our basic necessity of a toilet backwash spray in our rooms. In this modern day and age, there were ' plastic ' mugs ' in the bathrooms! though very clean and perhaps new, hah possibly to cater to the 'fishermen/ people who prefer the backward bucket and mug water wash! The spa was so basic - steam room could hold only 3 people and that too very tightly next to each other. Unless there is a major change, avoid this place Service very mediocre, totally not a 5 star effect ! Would love to have a concession returned!!

Room Tip: Always read reviews before YOu start booking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mydas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback

We have recently introduced 64 rooms in the new wing with state of art facilities and features.

We are continuously improving on our product up gradation and your suggestions will help us better to renovate the rooms in the correct prospect,

regards
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    591
    221
    77
    26
See reviews for
545
415
53
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was there for a vacation with my family for 3 days. Thinking that it was a Taj property, I expected a particular standard. Was a little run down property - No problem - Next to the sea and a very old property

Internet poor and i was asked to pay for each device and I used 3 of them.- No problem - The place is a village and they use third party providers who charge them.

Requested for a late check out - by 1 hour. They tried to make it look like a big favor even though the occupancy was poor. No problem. Since I had a flight to catch, checked out at 11 instead of 1 and saw the wonderful city of Chennai

While checking out, they asked me my view and I expressed my dissatisfaction at the total experience. I really felt short changed. - No problem since I choose the wrong hotel chain. Paid the bill and was about to leave.

The front office called the General Manager. He wanted to give a token discount and I refused as I was not upset at the costs. I was upset at their attitude towards making small things right for me. I told him to charge more for a 5 star client experience but deliver on the experience. He promised to send me a mail after reviewing the reasons for my dissatisfaction. Expected a courtesy mail as the experience was really bad. A month since I checked out and no response. For a Taj Group hotel - BIG PROBLEM. Promised myself that I will not stay in a TAJ hotel in a hurry again.

I have spent over 100 days in hotels in the past 365 days across Asia, Europe and Middle East. Given the kind of work the staff put into making a guest feel good, I always give my appreciation to the management pointing out the staff who have made me feel nice. Here, the staff were poorly trained and I can see why. If the General Manager of the hotel is not client focussed, why blame the other staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VijaiS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your mail

Kindly accept our sincere apologizes for not meeting up to your expectation at the Vivanta by Taj Fisherman’s Cove, Chennai. While it is our principal focus to immediately address and resolve issues that our guests face, it is clear that we have not risen up to your expectations in this instance.

Necessary corrective measures have been taken up and will ensure a comfortable stay with us on your next visit

Thank you
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

stayed at this place with my husband & 2-5 year old daughter in November. First impression of this place was just average, not wow! we were attended promptly by one of the friendly front office staff & we were taken to our deluxe room. AS soon as we stepped inside there was this strong old,musty smell, i was shocked at the size of the room which was very small & basic.My next horror was the washroom. It was so tiny that we had to watch out the way we moved about inside, there was this ugly stain/mark on the floor of the bath area & the hand shower needed repair as it splashed water in the opposite direction too, each time i had to shower my 2-5 year old daughter, i would get all wet. there was only one bathrobe provided though we were two of us.The room was a total disappointment. it was not even upto a 3 star category.
there are about 3 restaurants here, the one overlooking the beach is a nice place to sit & spend time. food was average, there is a private beach too.
there is also a kids play area which was fine.
We asked for a baby crib & were provided promptly.
the overall experience was below average considering it was a Taj property!
Its a beautiful property which needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheeja c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Visited this Hotel in the last week of December. The Hotel was very busy being peak season. We had to wait in the lobby for a while till someone came to attend to us. I was fairly disappointed with the look of the hotel as soon as I entered. The lobby looks run down and very basic and so do the restaurants and public areas. The pool is also quite small considering the size of the property.
We checked into the deluxe room category which has been renovated 3 years ago. Although these rooms are much better than the others, they too have started showing their age. Finishing is quite poor and the cupboards, cabinets etc are fidgety to operate. The basin faucet is poorly designed with most of the water falling out of the basin and splashing on the counter. There is a lounger placed in the balcony but i didn't try it because it had several food stains on. I also found a tshirt in the bathroom probably left behind by the last guest!
The restaurants have a very limited menu, especially for vegetarians, which is surprising for a hotel in India. Service in the restaurants was quite poor with us having to ask repeatedly for basics like napkins, cutlery etc. This even though we were the one of the few people ordering from the menu, while most guests seemed to be on a meal plan with the buffets included.
We tried the Upper Deck restaurant in the Hotel which is supposed to be fine dine. Other than the extremely high prices, there was nothing exceptional in the food served. Choice again was very limited and the food got cold by the time it reached the table. Ambience is also very ordinary with tables scattered around in an open lawn area covered by little tents which didn't offer any protection from the wind.
The hotel had mentioned they had bicycles available for the guests but when my kids went to look for them we were told there were a total of 4 bicycles between 160 rooms - which too were old and rusted.
The Spa was the only outlet with acceptable standards in the hotel. However the changing rooms can only accommodate 3 persons at a time, that too without giving you any privacy.
Taj would be well advised to close down this property and immediately take it up for extensive renovations before it tarnishes their image further.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have been renovated 3 years ago and have modern decor. Most of the other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maniish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore ,india
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I, my husband and 2 ( five year old twin boys) stayed at the Fishermans cove over the Christmas break from 23rd- 26th December. This was our second trip to the hotel as we had visited in August 2013 as well and really enjoyed our stay.
We just decided to go there two days before christmas and the only room category available were the deluxe rooms. The Hotel manager Mr Brij who remembered us from a previous trip was especially very helpful in getting our booking confirmed and during our stay we saw him several times walking around the facility and ensuring the guests were happy and things were going smoothly. The best compliment I could give for this property is in regards to the staff. The people are exceptionally warm, friendly and trained to ensure that the guests every needs are taken care. They are very good with kids too and that's probably the reason that there are lots of familes here always. There is a nice swimming pool popular with kids , very nice white, wide beach so kids enjoyed making playing here.There is a small indoor kids area with a TV/Video and toys mainly geared towards kids upto 2 years. There were tennis courts, badminton courts and a gfew old bikes for kids to cycle around. The kids enjoyed the buggy rides to/from the rooms as often as they could.

The deluxe rooms are some what smallish although well equipped but it was really a pain to open/close the bathroom as the small bolts on the doors are very difficult to handle and I had to always struggle with that. Also the main heavy wooden doors to the rooms are very difficult to handle especially as there is always a strong ocean breeze and a child can easily get hurt trying to get in/out. The rooms and public areas are beginning to look tired and in need of renovations. Doesn't feel like a 5 star property at all.

There are three restaurants- seagull is the main serving buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food is ok but repeatitive despite the Christmas season and after two days one gets bored of the same spread. The seafood restaurant at the beach has a lovely setting and we enjoyed a lovely dinner here. We were feeling cold here ad the manager arraged for hot towels for us to drape ourselves as we enjoyed dinner.

Would go back again for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful and elabrate feedback on our services and product

I have passed on your compliments to all the other team members, they felt greatly motivated by your positive comments.

It is indeed thoughtful of you to have spared the time to give us this valuable feedback

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and we look forward to have you with us in the coming days and assure your of our best services and fullest attention at all times.
Warm regards,

B. C. Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is great, less than an hour from Chennai Airport on the East Coast Road, which makes a perfect location. Staff are child friendly, efficient and professional. Our stay here was perfect for a young family. The de luxe rooms by the beach are modern, spacious and the patio is great for lounging. The pool is extremely popular,and to secure a lounger you need to get there early and find a shady spot. The shallow pool and a deeper pool adjoin. There is a pool bar as a bonus. The grounds are spacious and buggies are always available to bring you to and fro if you do not wish to walk any distance.
The buffet breakfast has a great variety of choices to suit all tastes.The Bay View restaurant down by the beach is very popular also and is a great spot for lunch. Wonderful fresh local seafood is their specialty and the al fresco dining with a sea breeze is very pleasant and the sea view terrific.
We have stayed here three times over the last two weeks, the busy Xmas /New Year, and the Taj has proved to be the perfect find for this family.

Room Tip: The deluxe beach rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feedback and we are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every part of the hotel and the bliss of the Bay of Bengal

The generous feedback has motivated us to do better and hope to see you soon at the Vivanta by Taj Fisherman's Cove, Chennai

Warm regards,

B. C. Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fisherman's Cove is certainly scenic, right on the beach! The rooms were spacious enough, but somehow, furniture and appliances seemed a little old, as if in need of renovation. Service was good, but the food was average. Expected better from a Taj property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skakar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covelong
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing