We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to Improve Service Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs to Improve Service Quality”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Frankly I was very disappointed with the quality of service at the hotel - not befitting a Taj property at all. The rooms are nice enough and the food is exceptional, but the service was bit of a let down.

The first night, we wanted to order room service but the in-room dining menu was missing in the room. Despite repeated calls, the menu was not delivered for more than 90 minutes, and that too only after we spoke to the hotel manager.

And there were several other small service mis-steps, which kept adding up. A request for a knife at dinner, went back and forth, till we finally gave up. The next day, on asking for ice, the ice bucket was delivered without tongs. Wine/Bottle Opener in the room was missing and was never replaced, and even the two glasses in the room were of glaringly different sizes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    628
    231
    81
    28
See reviews for
607
443
53
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are expecting a room befitting a Taj property then choose the delux rooms only. The superior charm rooms are old and musty. The delux rooms are superb. The cottages are also outdated and need to be upgraded urgently. The service, the people, the pool, the beach and food are excellent, it is the vast difference between the new and old that leads to a very unsatisfactory and very un-5 star experience unless you are in the delux rooms. Please note we did not see the delux cottages so can't comment on those.

Room Tip: Choose the delux rooms only. The superior charm rooms are old and need to be upgraded as are the cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junegloom686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A truly relaxing stay while in Chennai - the place is a very good hideout after spending a long week at the Asiana along OMR Road. The rooms are well appointed though could use some renovating. The mattresses needs some changing as well. The service at the reception is fabulous and during my stay they had some great finds at the veranda white a glass artist sculpting some souvenirs.

The elevator is quite small but its ok. The pool is huge and they have a walkway that will take you to the other parts of the hotel - especially the villas on the side.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levelalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A lovely place to go to. Far away from the city, meant for a beautiful escape with your loved one. The Welcome to the Hotel was Awesome! With a nice welcome drink and faces with smiles and shell necklaces.

The room I stayed in was Okay - was in the main building (closer to the restaurant the bar and the pool) was older compared to the deluxe rooms (which are in the back but newer and much nicer. The room was cozy and nice.

The things you cannot miss are a nice dinner at the sea-food restaurant which is spectacular, the swim-up-bar which is so much fun and then when you walk to the end the moon watching spot on the beach (really romantic).

The beach is romantic at night, the hotel security who happens to be there gets you a chair if you turn up and then gives you your privacy.

People are nice, the beach is lovely and the food is great at the sea food restaurant.

Breakfast was large and nice -

I would recommend this place anyway.

Room Tip: You can choose the deluxe rooms (they are newly built and are amazing) - A little further away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed_Farouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place was booked when our clients had come to India. We planned for a Business dinner. The road reaching to this place has a lot of resorts/restaurants and have to drive carefully. We had our booking at the bar and the restaurant near the sea-shore. We were served well, both the drinks and the food was great. The Vege items in the menu are limited but was nice. We had a refreshing walk on the sea-shore after the dinner which is maintained well. A good value for money and nice place for beach dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor_Vij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Saty @ Taj - that says it all. I was very excited to stay at one of their property. The day came and when i checked in i just felt like any other 4 or 5 star accommodation and rather it was much lesser than what i got from other hotels. The ambiance ...service ...everything i am talking about. The rooms were not that spic and clean...a normal room. Overall it was not a 5 star stay.

Room Tip: Any room you choose, do not have an expectation of 5 star accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetha2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed there for two nights for a conference and had a lovely time. Even though I didn't spend much time in the room (stayed in the new wing), the service and facilities were very good. I recommend the new wing as the rooms are far bigger, especially the bathrooms.

The food was good. Didn't expect the same quality as other Taj properties so in a way got what I expected. The breakfast spread was nice and they were ready to get you 'made to order' eggs, waffles, etc. Nice beach-side restaurant where we had dinner.

The pool looked very tempting but I just did not have the time even though I carried my trunks. Next time!

The hotel is located far from anything so don't expect to step out for a meal unless you have a lot of patience!

The hotel has an old world charm to it (except the new wing) and has rooms as well as cottages so it's very popular with the locals for a weekend getaway. Not cheap so the hotel gets a certain kind of clientele.

I would definitely stay there with my family if I wanted a weekend getaway though would try and combine it with another destination as Chennai doesn't quite cut it as a holiday stop for me!

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing or the cottages unless you want to stay in the main wing, near the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covelong
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
383 reviews
Welcomhotel Kences Palm Beach
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
117 reviews
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#17 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
Address: Covelong Beach, Covelong 603112, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanchipuram District > Covelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Covelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove, Chennai, built on the ramparts of an old Dutch fort, is now riding on a fresh new wave. Yet it remains the charming beach resort that's almost one with the Bay of Bengal. Where fun lovers return for good times. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Fisherman`s Cove, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing