We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talabgaon Castle Heritage Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dausa
Reviewed April 25, 2013

While Jaipur is the typical Indian city teeming with life, Talabgaon Castle offers you the perfect retreat of tranquility and beauty. Wonderfully situated in a nearly untouched countryside, luxury rooms and interiors, perfect service and exquisite food. You can make it your base when heading out to Ranthambore National Park - but I would recommend to stay more than a few days in this lovely family owned castle to recharge your batteries at the pool, enjoy a romantic hide-out, taste drinks at the bar and just discover the immediate surroundings on foot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ott_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Extraordinary and unique place. A shining Indian family castle converted into private hotel. We would never have thought this kind of place existed in the rural fields and villages. Well worth it for travelers who want someplace special.

Room Tip: Ask for the Dileep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billbowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We where lucky enough to be invited here for the day when we where staying at Jaipur. Our wonderful guide Annapurna invited us to meet the family and experience the magic of Talabagon. We only wished we had the time to stay for a few days. Everything about this beautiful Heritage Resort is perfect. We enjoyed the warm welcome, the rooms, the pool, the grounds, the bar and lounging areas. This just names a few of the delights you will discover. Stay for a few days or overnight, relax, enjoy the food and then explore the village by camel cart and then be spoilt with other surprises this hidden gem has to offer. We enjoyed watching the family play polo and sipping tea under the shade of the trees.Thank you for sharing your delightful resort we will visit again for longer next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reynajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

It's beautifully located in midst of fields, away from city bustle and yet not so remote that you can't do anything. Talabgaon is a excellent boutique palace experience if you are visiting Rajesthan

I went there to bring in 2013, stayed there for 4 nights and 5 days. Day journeys included trips to Jaipur, luncheons at river beds, exploring the village lifestyle nearby and Ranthambore national park, where we were lucky to see 2 tigers.

But that's not the best part of our journey. Dalpat Singh Rathore, our host and owner, was extremely gracious and spent a lot of time with us. The hotel is his family ancestral palace converted to a hotel. Probably that's why when you live there, you don't feel staying in a hotel but get a homely feel.

Polo ground, stables, manicured gardens, luxurious rooms and great hospitality, its a marvelous palace. At some such converted hotels you think of the history of the place; at Talabgaon, I felt I was being a part of that history. Amazing place, a must go.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsMihir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here after 3 hectic days in Jaipur - a couple of hours' drive away, it is actually closer to Lalsot than Dausa. Stunning pool and beautifully restored (rebuilt) castle. No expense has been spared and it shows - great beds, bedding, furnishings etc. Exceptionally clean, good service and friendly village - not a lot going on but this is a place to go for a rest. You need two or three nights to do it justice - it is very peaceful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble (we wanted breakfast in the sun and the staff happily obliged and set a table on the 1st floor roof terrace). The gardens have been attractively landscaped and although we were too idle to walk far, I am sure there would be some good countryside walks to be had! No hassle at all, a welcome change from Jaipur.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Recently searched Talabgaon Castle and happened to be there with family. This place is strategically located if you wish to take a break between Jaipur/Agra/Delhi and Ranthambhore. Ranthambhore is just an hour and a half drive from this place. You can also choose this wonderful place if you wish to take a weekend off from Jaipur city's hustle bustle.

Rooms are well appointed and painstakingly furnished. Do check in the suites with bathrooms without rooms and with curtains :)

The owner Mr. Dalpat Singh Rathore is an avid polo player and has its own stable for horses. You can enjoy horse riding, take a dip into a lovely and maintained swimming pool or do just nothing.

For people keen on enjoying ethnic rural Rajasthan experience this place is one of them.

Great food and service.

Room Tip: This castle have deluxe rooms and suites but the deluxe rooms are equivalent to suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royalescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Glimmering white in the afternoon sun, the Talabgaon Castle stood out from the picturesque rural background as we made our way through the country roads right into the lap of luxury. The warm welcome complete with Teekas (vermillion) on the forehead, a sprinkle of rosewater and flowers and refreshing cool drinks removed the last vestiges of travel tiredness that we had. The castle is breathtakingly beautiful and a fine example of how tasteful restoration of a 150 year old palace can bring out both the heritage and modern elements of luxury living.

The white marble expanses with intricate carvings and wall paintings done in the traditional Rajasthani style add to the old world charm. The well maintained greens stretching out as far as the eye can see complement the beautiful white buildings. I instantly fell in love with the elegant, spacious rooms with the stained glass doors and windows. Having your own personal jharokha in the room just added to the entire "I feel like a princess" theme that had been running in my mind the moment I had set foot in the castle. The staff was very polite and courteous and made sure that all aspects of our comfort were duly looked into. The food was a rare treat, having none of the oiliness and spiciness that I have long associated with outside food. In the evening, after playing with the pet grey hounds, we made our way to the swimming pool. Sitting like a blue gem amidst the vast green grounds dotted beautifully with lamps and with the castle lighted up tastefully in the background, it proved to be the perfect relaxing spot.

The next morning we went for a trip around the royal estate, visiting the centuries old Hanuman temple, the schools set up by the royal family and a tour of the local villages. After having a sumptuous lunch back at the Castle, we learnt and played the traditional Indian board game called 'Chaupad', usually played by the royal families in olden times. I must say, it has to be one of the most highly addictive games that makes you laugh and squeal with both delight and fear and can go on for hours and hours. In the evening, we went for a 4 km camel cart ride through the villages. And as we passed through each village, the retinue of little children following the carts kept on increasing. Their light hearted babble and their excitement rubbed off on us as well. At the mudhouse, we had tea cooked in the traditional style on a choolah and did a little horse riding on the beautiful thoroughbreds the royal family used for playing polo. Sitting on such fine horses was an experience in itself. A mouth watering Rajasthani feast of Daal Baati Choorma awaited us when we finally made our way back to the castle.

Whether it be playing badminton in the evenings or visiting the stables to see the horses, every aspect of the stay felt like a royal experience. The last night was spent playing Chaupad late into the night in the bar with its polo theme, having special dishes (the recipes of which were passed down through the generations in the royal family), swapping stories of ghosts, wars, sword fighting, traditional customs and practices and hearing first hand accounts of the interesting tit bits about the castle and the royal family.

And for all the shutterbugs out there, this place with its fine attention to detail, resplendent architecture, jharokhas, chhatris, wall paintings, traditional Rajasthani Jaalis and stained glass doors and windows- will provide hundreds of spots to click memorable pics.

It was with heavy hearts that we left the place to go back to the usual grind of our lives. The beautiful old world charm and the extravagant luxury has its own way of creeping into your hearts with you wanting to stay just a little bit more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Divya_Kesri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dausa
0 mi away
MYO Grand Ranthambore
MYO Grand Ranthambore
#5 of 6 in Ranthambore National Park
5 reviews
32.7 mi away
Umaid Lake Palace - An Organic Retreat
0 mi away
Geejgarh Eco Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 mi away
Hotel Pinky
Hotel Pinky
#2 of 11 in Dausa
1 reviews
47.8 mi away
No photo provided
Ganpati Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dausa
1 reviews
47.6 mi away
Highway Tadka
Highway Tadka
#1 of 11 in Dausa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talabgaon Castle Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talabgaon Castle Heritage Resort

Address: Village Post Talabgaon, Dausa 302015, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Dausa District > Dausa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dausa
Price Range: $66 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Talabgaon Castle – a 150 year old, beautifully restored Fort nestled in the palm of rustic nature – now re-imagined as a Heritage Resort for all to experience.Escape to the untouched surrounds of Talabgaon and experience the real Indian countryside. Descendants of the Sun invite you to the heart of Rajasthan, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Talabgaon Castle Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talabgaon Castle Heritage Resort Dausa, India - Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing