We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISINGLY SURPRISED”
Review of Linge Hotel Elst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linge Hotel Elst
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elst
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“SURPRISINGLY SURPRISED”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

WE have been living and traveling in Europe for over 25 years. As you can guess, we have stayed at many he hotels from two star to five star of which some were good and some were terrible. So, when we stayed at the Linge Hotel Elst we were surprisingly surprised.

The hotel is located in the center of Elst and has loads of off street parking. You can park your car and walk around town to soak in the local environment. We have been to Amsterdam, Rotterdam and other parts in the Netherlands west. However, this was the first time we were able to visit the east.

The staff at the hotel is friendly and helpful. The make suggestions on what to see and where to go.

The rooms are somewhat small, but that is not unusual in the Netherlands. They were clean and well appointed. You do not have a refrigerator in the room, but there are plenty of places to which you can walk to get snacks and drinks. We had a room on the first floor which had a patio,
two chairs and a small table.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a buffet style. It is above a continental breakfast but not a full board. You have selections of cheeses, bread, cereal, yogurt, coffee, meats, etc. We were able to ask for a tray to prepare plates to take back to the room.

The hotel is very pet friendly but you need to tell them you are traveling with a pet. There is a charge for the pets.

The hotel is family run and the staff takes great pride in the hotel, the service and the community. Hats off to the staff for making our stay very pleasant.

Parking is free.

For those traveling in the summer and like to have air conditioning, there is no air conditioning but a fan is provided.

If you are in the area, I would highly recommend staying in the LIngue Hotel Elst which is rated by the Netherland rating service with 3 stars, but provides its guests with 4 star service.

Room Tip: Traveling with a pet - ask for a first floor room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
23
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overnight stay on way to the ferry (11/2 hr away) good clean modern hotel, reasonably priced and includes continental breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable and the staff were polite, helpful and spoke English. In a nice location with restaraunts and shops on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wanted to go to an airshow at Volkel (half hour drive south of Elst) and this hotel kept coming up on all hotel websites as being one of the best in the area.

I wasn't disappointed with the location, friendliness of the staff, who all spoken excellent English, and was amazed by the quality of the restaurant attached to the hotel (have the weinershnitzel, it's amazing).

The only downside, if you could call it one, was that the tea making facilities were not geared up towards to the British palette. Plenty of coffee to hand but not that much in the way of tea!

But this is only a minor setback as the hotel itself was more than comfortable for a short stay, and the town of Elst is ideally located for exploring the local area. Just pop on a train at the near by station (5 minute walk away) and you are only a few minutes from Arnhem (make sure you visit the Airborne Museum at Oosterbeek) or Nijmegen, Germany and the town on Kleve is just 30 minutes by car.

Would like to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have a good view of the church but you may be disturbed by the bells chiming the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andywilson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found this a great place to stay for a visit to Arnhem and surrounding area. This was our second visit - the first one had been 7 years ago - and the reception had even registered that fact. We were quite surprised and pleased to be welcomed back without any prompting on our part. The hotel had been extended since our last stay - the result was that the breakfast room was larger and busier than before but that did not affect the excellent choice of foods. I was able to use the internet access in the breakfast room. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms delightfully furnished. And for me one of the big plus factors was that it had a hair dryer - I never take my own. There is a pavement restaurant at the front where we had dinner - it was excellent. It is a lovely relaxed typical rural town where all the locals are going about their business. We would definitely recommend this to others and would return ourselves at a future date.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in this pleasantly surprising hotel in a room less than $100 with complimentary breakfast! Up until then we were in pretty expensive high end hotels with mostly annoying inconveniences and disappointments. This place was clean, friendly and helpful staff and great value! We almost turned back to stay longer and enjoy the lovely town of Elst with rustic charm, smiling relaxed people enjoying the many outdoor cafes and interesting shops..but had other pressing commitments. A place to definitely come back! It's a no frills type of place, but really don't need much more here. The breakfast had a nice selection with fresh fruit and you better get there early for the pastries ! The attached restaurant, Grand Cafe De Vereniging, has wonderful fresh food and pleasant wait staff and hard working owner! My husband is large 240 lbs and the small twin beds were very comfortable and quiet rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flsouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst on a Battlefield tour of the area round Arnhem and Nijmegen, The area it is located in is very quiet, which was perfect after a busy day travelling around. We had a twin room, it was a perfect size, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. We didn't need to have any real dealings with the staff but when we did they were polite and friendly. The breakfast was continental- cereals, rolls, bread, cooked meats, cheeses, yoghurts, tea and coffee- sometimes that's a nice change from a greasy fry up!

We ate in the restaurant and chose the 3 course menu for €22.50 each, the food was really good-very tasty and well presented.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a quiet place to relax in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannef55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A clean hotel, friendly staff ,excellent food. What more could you want

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elst
0.0 mi away
Het Wapen van Elst
Het Wapen van Elst
#1 of 2 in Elst
43 reviews
4.8 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
633 reviews
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Nijmegen- Lent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Doorwerth-Arnhem
18.3 mi away
Hotel Stadt Emmerich
Hotel Stadt Emmerich
#2 of 2 in Emmerich
14 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linge Hotel Elst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linge Hotel Elst

Property: Linge Hotel Elst
Address: Dorpsstraat 23b, 6661 EE, 6661 Elst, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Elst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linge Hotel Elst 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linge Hotel Elst is offering you 20 comfortable decorated rooms wich are accommodated with bath and/or shower, telephone, TV, laptop safe, coffee/tea facilities, free internet and a dvd-player.We also have an elevator, Honeymoon suite, a special room for disabled people and non-smoking rooms.We are happy to welcome you in the Grand-Cafe for lunch or an a la carte dinner. You can also choose for the weekly changing four course menu. Our hotel offers the standard services you can expect such as: large breakfast buffet, free parking space, laundry, dvd rental service, dry-clean service and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Linge Hotel Elst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linge Hotel Arnhem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing