We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nature lover's Paradise”

Review of The MudHouse

Nature's Delight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature's Delight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Nature's Delight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marayur, Idukki District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anjana V
1 review
“Nature lover's Paradise”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018

One of the best places to stay if you are looking for a quiet, safe cottage away from the city. Nestled amongst the mountains, this mudhouse offers a unique experience to visitors. The helpers Ajay and Vishnu are very professional and take care of all your needs.
Looking forward to coming here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh B
1 review
“Wonderful simple elegant ecofriendly place amidst western ghat around Sandal forests”
Reviewed October 4, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

MudHouse offered us a great experience. It took us back to olden age days of living in a simple setup yet artistic, eco-friendly atmosphere. My family and I loved the architecture, tasteful done interiors and the huge spacious bathroom was so nice. Wish there was rain so that we could have taken bath in that open (no ceiling) bathroom. The service was excellent. They took care to enquire about our dinner and made arrangements. They communicated with us right from the beginning and helped us get the information about local sight seeing. They kept us aware that only BSNL network is available. [Our Etios(Indigo, or low CC engine) driver was not happy to climb a 100-150meter from the road to the house though the driver enjoyed the ambiance and service] We requested for camp-fire and we got it. I would definitely recommend this place or come to this place in future.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrieLangl...
Leh, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Unique and beautiful experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We were so happy with everything about our stay at the mud house.e everything from the clean and fresh rooms, beautiful and cozy decor and very hospitable care takers who cooked beautiful vegetarian meals at our request. Tucked away from the chaos And very touristy areas this is such a perfect opportunity to experience Kerala authentically. We will definitely be going back and bringing many more guests!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Hello Irie. Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words. We are looking forward to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinshukBa...
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed September 22, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

I must say that the outstanding customer service mindset and the helpful attitude will remain a treasured memory. The ambience of the mud huts, the rejuvenating location, the masterful and delicious cooking of Ajay, suggestions for local travel, setting us with a knowledgeable guide, and the overall value of money are all cherished experiences. In the hospitality world, there are (and will always) remain points of minor dissatisfaction - but the urgency and empathy with which property owners can resolve it for their guests is the true differentiator. In that regard Ajith is a WONDERFUL host - one of the best I have encountered in 25 + years of my travels.

PROS

+ The SOUNDS (rooster calls, and local children playing and plain silence), SIGHTS (verdant garden patches across the property), TASTES (Ajay the in-house chef is excellent with delicious Kerala dishes) will stay with you long after check out.

+ The privacy (you could read, romance, trek) is unparalleled. Think of the mud huts as your date with nature and solitude + The simple ambience is not fancy or luxurious but tasteful and functional. It is a diversion from the usual city life amenities and helps the visitors meld into the rural setting. The open - ceilinged bathrooms are a fantastic "experience".

+ LOCATION - Superb. We liked the nearby "Sandalwood forest" (imagine driving through a "private" forest any time of the day or night - in the middle of a nearby village - Exciting). The Mud huts are close to Munnar, Eravikulam (absolute scenic and at times remote), Marayoor town, Kanthaloor (check out the eco-reserve farm for all kinds of fruits, berries, vegetables) or just feel free to loaf around the idyllic rustic landscapes + Great value for Money

CONS

- Do not expect luxury or fancy amenities (the basics like Wi-fi are available)

- If you like traveller company or certain amount of (in-house or nearby) attractions for children, then this is not the place

- Be conscious of energy saving. The property runs on solar power.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Thank you for writing such a detailed review Kinshuk. We look forward to hostbyou again. And this time, we promise you even better experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HasanKaka...
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay! ”
Reviewed September 20, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Stayed at the Mudhouse for 2 nights with family. Amazing place and service. It has a positive and vibrant energy to it. To start off, from the outside it looks quite pittoresque. The rooms were very spacious and had clean and very well designed bathrooms. An open sky shower was a plus! The caretaker Ajay was very sweet and helpful. And a great cook too! I recommend this place strongly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2018
Thank you for your kind words Hasan.
Pls come back and we will be glad to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing