We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's celebration at Echo Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jesmond
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New Year's celebration at Echo Valley”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

After all the Christmas craziness, we couldn't think of a better way to ring in the New Year than to go back for another visit to Echo Valley. We made the drive up New Year's Eve and came prepared with chains to face winter driving conditions. We didn't need them at all as the road conditions were good, even after turning off the highway.

We were warmly greeted by owners Norm and Nan and shown to our beautiful room upstairs in the main lodge. We went for a long walk with the wonderful border collies and came back prepared for a fun gathering and to enjoy an amazing New Year's Eve dinner. As on our previous visits, we met many interesting and very nice guests and had a great time socializing with them. After dinner, we all went outside for a campfire and were entertained by Tania and her guitar.

We came back inside from the cold just before midnight and rang in the New Year with champagne, yummy snacks and a dance party with the ranch staff.

One of our favourite things about Echo Valley is how relaxed and welcoming it is. We didn't participate in all of the activities that we had enjoyed previously as we wanted to take it easy this time. A lot of the other guests were very busy as there are still many activities to enjoy at the ranch regardless of the weather outside. It was great to hear about the other guests' adventures at mealtime over a glass of wine and lots of laughs. In particular the spa treatments are a wonderful indulgence.

The morning after the New Year's Eve party, we were treated to a delicious brunch. After another delightful meal that evening, we all went to the conference room at the Baan Thai lodge for a slide show of the New Year's Party and a hilarious karaoke evening for those of us who dared. It was certainly an unforgettable start to the New Year.

Thank you to Norm, Nan and the amazing staff at Echo Valley Ranch and Spa. This is a very special place that we can't recommend highly enough. On each of our visits we have been treated like royalty and had such a great experience.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room but treat yourself to the Baan Thai on at least one of your many visits
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
106
146
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cawston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The setting is stunning, the hosts and staff are exceptional, the food and service are without compromise. Both times we have been there we were made to feel like family and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Well worth the commute which was a pleasant afternoon trip from the South Similkameen... Enjoy

Room Tip: Our favourite are the cabins, with big soaker tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My friend and I had planned a weekend of x-country skiing and snowshoeing at this lovely location but unfortunately nature wasn't cooperating but Norm, Nan and their staff made sure we had no time to feel sorry about that. Between Nan taking us for an afternoon walk with all the awesome dogs (Love you Anna !), the staff giving us a private thai yoga lesson and the chef spoiling us with three gourmet meals everyday there would have been no time to do any strenious exercise anyways. Besides who would want to work out when you could somebody make your body work out by having a thai massage, that was definetly the highlight of the whole trip. This was my second time at the ranch and my friend and I decided we should make this an annual event. Go and enjoy it yourself, you will love it !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Everything here is superb. Yoga, Massages, especially the Thai massage, unbelievable scenery including the horses in pasture outside your door, healthy delicious food, warm, comfy, welcoming decor and happy, very capable staff. My eight year old loved the freedom of a such a safe place, her really cool loft bedroom and her many visits with the horses. Great for kids, great for adults. Echo Valley can make a wonderful holiday whatever the reason for going there. The lights at Christmas are stunning. Even the pet turkeys are a sight. Very clean. Norm and Nan and all of the staff are gracious and lovely. Would reccomend this as a holiday destination for anyone.

Room Tip: Many choices of accomodation. All would be different and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We hosted our Kal Tire senior management meetings over 3 days at the ranch and would absolutely recommend this to any other business looking for an off site event.
The food was superb and was kept interesting over all three days-thai night, western "thanksgiving" theme, outdoor bbq, etc. What appealed to me most was the meeting space since it's a very open room with lots of light and could accommodate a large group. Of course it goes without mentioning that the location is gorgeous with stunning views all around and so a very relaxing place in between meetings to unwind and enjoy.
Above all, what was most impressive for our group was the high quality and commitement to first rate service. All of our requests were met and acknowledged, even on short notice. Our entire event was tailored to our needs and specifications. Norm, Nan and all of their staff really go above and beyond to ensure that your experience is exactly what you hope to achieve. I am sure some of our guests will plan to revisit on their own time!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

At the end of long gravel road lies the most beautiful valley with amazing views in every direction. We went there this summer with our two teenage kids and had an amazing time. We are two riders and two non-riders and there was plenty to do for everyone. The food is great, the wildlife stunning, the wine flows free, the early morning yoga a delight, the games room great for kids, the trip to Cougar point breath-taking, the spa treatments are outstanding. And the riding? Fantastic. My daughter and I had spectacular long canters and gallops along old logging tracks and all the wranglers were great. We rode a variety of horses between us all of whom were terrific. We stayed 5 days but I could happily have stayed longer because aside from all the activity is this lovely feeling you start to get come over you as you relax into the habits and rhythms of the ranch under the genial hosts - Norm and Nan and their lovely staff.
Everyone talks about the collies - but if you are an animal lover they really are a delightful pack!
Our cabin worked brilliantly for the 4 of us with the right amount of privacy but still with a feeling of inclusion of the day-to-day workings of the ranch. We met an interesting array of people from all around the world which also added to our enjoyment.
As we drove away we all realised that we were really sad to be leaving and still some weeks later remember our time at Echo Valley ranch with enormous affection. We had just such a good time.
Norm and Nan - we salute you - you've made such an enormous effort to make EV special and it really is - we look forward very much to sharing your home again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

A recent trip back to Echo Valley Ranch reminded us why this is our favourite place to spend family holiday time in Britsh Columbia. When you wake up in the morning you are spoiled for choice of what to do. Our favourites include: horse riding, long runs, hikes, feeding the charming pigs and definitely the thai massages. All of these activities are made more relaxing by the amazing fresh air, gorgeous surroundings and the presence of eight beautiful border collies. But this place is really about the staff and the generous owners, Norm and Nan. It is a true pleasure to spend time with such professional, talented and caring people. We can't wait to come back to Echo Valley Ranch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jesmond
20.6 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
20.6 mi away
Round Up Motel
Round Up Motel
#1 of 2 in Clinton
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Nomad Motel
Nomad Motel
#1 of 5 in Clinton
43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Echo Valley Ranch & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Valley Ranch & Spa

Property: Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
Address: 10635 Jesmond Road, Jesmond, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Jesmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jesmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Echo Valley Ranch & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 'cowboy country' above the Fraser River in BC's scenic Cariboo Region, Echo Valley Ranch & Spa entices those seeking a restorative sojourn, as well as those looking for a higher-octane activity. Whether your idea of heaven is a trail ride through rolling hills, a 4x4 wildlife safari, or a day at the spa, at Echo Valley guests find harmony and rejuvenation. The fusion of eastern and western influences is best seen at the spa, where both western massage and Thai treatments soothe muscles and mind; while dining options encompass dishes from east and west, fuelled by produce from the ranch livestock and kitchen garden. Activities also include hiking, bird watching and fly-fishing, as well as trips to white water rafting. Winter options range from snowshoeing to ice fishing and snowmobiling. Echo Valley is an idyllic spot for weddings and elopements, and caters to meetings and retreats for corporate groups. Flying into the ranch's private runway is one way to arrive; the ranch is also accessible with a scenic five hour drive from Vancouver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Echo Valley Ranch & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Valley Ranch And Spa
Echo Valley Ranch Hotel Jesmond
Echo Valley Hotel
Echo Valley Resort
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa Canada/British Columbia - Jesmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing