We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagamon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nature at its best....”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

One of the most beautiful places I have ever visited in my life. Yes!!!

Myself, along with my husband and 2 year old son had been to Vagamon heights last week to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary. It was a 300 acre estate surrounded with greenery.

We were accommodated at Woodpecker top. The scenic view was amazing from the cottage. We stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days. Being a road less traveled, it was a serene place. As promised in their website, they offered boating in their private lake and jeep safari during our stay.

Food was tasty and hygienic too. Especially in a state where good vegetarian food is hard to get, they offered very tasty vegetarian food.

Overall a heavenly experience. A must visit for nature lovers...We are sure to visit the place again...

Room Tip: Go for woodpecker top. You can view nature at its best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajirahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
39
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gobichettipalayam, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this property on month of August and weather was amazing. We six couples enjoyed the two day stay to the core. These guys were very helpful and took care all our needs. We had 4W jeep ride and boating in their property which was amazing. The property is surrounded by green meadows and looks like green blankets. Its a must visit place....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sachithanandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in Vagamon Heights from the 30th August to 1st September. Truly impressed with the overall concept, of 300 acres and some cottages in its midst. The cottages are good and gives you the feeling of living in the jungle, which is the case anyways. Here's what we thought of the stay/place:

Good:
1. Location, peaceful, disconnected from outside world (though the mornings we could hear buses and vehicles rambling on the outside, which disturbed the peace)
2. Good staff.
3. Excellent Food.

Bad (Needs improvement urgently)

1. Rooms were never cleaned during the stay, until you specifically ask for.
2. Bed linen and others were not clean and not changed or tidied during the stay.
3. Choice of food is less if you don't like whats on the pre-prepared menu.
4. Fishing was a big let down. Actually felt cheated. They take you to a lake with some stick and nylon thread attached and use dough. Come-on that's not fishing.
5. Absolutely nothing to do for families except for couple of swings and some broken cricket gears.
6. Manager Sam, though tried to please, he seemed lost in his thoughts whenever you talk to him.
7. Expensive..!!!! @ 4000INR/night for a single cottage.

Overall an ok experience and nothing great to write about as some of the other reviewers have mentioned. Go for it in groups but stay away if you plan to take yours family.

Room Tip: Stay away if you plan to visit with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_TravelDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karur, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The property is good but the hospitality and our was horrible to the core.We had a very bad experience.......I would suggest everybody not even to think about the stay in "Vagamon Heights".
The food was not so delicious and tasy and we were keep on asking for some tasty food but they did even bother to provide the same.For your kind information, we are posting some few pictures pls have a look and comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Barath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. As i said in the title, you need to be there to experience what an experience !!!. We were 15 of us who explored the place which we enjoyed to the core. Harishettan has taken care of us very well - he is on the call anytime, anywhere. The food was so deliciuos and the staff has taken care of us very well. This was a truly amazing experience what we had. We love to visit once again. The trip was awesome... Hope to see you soon once again.

With love,
Trippers Adda

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomassony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The property is very large spanning 300 acres. There are only a very few cottages spread across the property which offers a peaceful stay and a lot of privacy. The staffs took care of us well and the food was great. There is nothing much to see in Vagamon as such. So, mostly you will end up spending much of the time inside the property. There are lots of activities to do inside the estate itself. They take you around the estate in their jeep which was quite fun. We also did fishing in one of the lakes there and it was a very good experience. Apart from these, you can play volley ball, shuttle and some board games which they offer. You can also try to stay in one of the camping tents there.. We did not try it though.

pros: nature @ its best.. cottages.. games.. safari..

cons: Price was a bit on the higher side but that's ok considering the pros ;)..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sathyaseelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went there as a group of 8 friends. We stayed in the house of four gables. The staffs are really nice and helpful people. The food is awesome. We enjoyed the Jeep safari.
Only thing we are afraid of is about the Leaches. They will give salt water to pour on top of the leaches which is sucking blood. Other than that its a nice and thrilling experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_b58Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagamon
3.8 mi away
Treebo Adrak Summer Sand Hill Resort
0.9 mi away
Chillax Vagamon
Chillax Vagamon
#1 of 2 in Vagamon
66 reviews
7.5 mi away
Urumbi Hill Palace Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Vagamon
Holiday Vagamon
#3 of 22 in Vagamon
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
SAJ Vagamon Hide Out
SAJ Vagamon Hide Out
#5 of 39 in Vagamon
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate

Property: Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate
Address: Off Pullikkanam-Vagamon Road | Vagamon, Vagamon, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Vagamon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vagamon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Vagamon Heights: Thankakanam Estate Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing