We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better to stay near temple....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Subam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Subam
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Palani
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better to stay near temple....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed this hotel 30th june 2014.Online booking facility is very nice,as they contacted us instantly.Apart from other hotel they take ID proof of all of us,its very disappointing for us.Car parking facility is average as there is no roof.Restaurent is nice.Front office is nice.Room rent is slightly high as compared to other hotels with this facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DileepMonCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    84
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
127
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

To start with very receptive reception staff. They upgraded me - of course with the corresponding charges - to a suite. Very neat and clean room. Do not expect luxury rooms as we need to remember that this is a temple town. Ideally located as hop step and jump and you will be at the steps leading to the temple. The only negative is the road leading to the hotel which is very narrow and bumpy. Food was also sort of ok - no great shakes, however we need to remember that this is not a pleasure trip.

Overall a decent stay mainly when you are going to a new place with your family in tow. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RV_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed twice in this hotel, with my family. 2013 April and now, 2014 April 26th. One night stay only. It is very near to Palani Hill temple, you can get good view of Murugan temple at the top of the hill. In particluar, during early morning @ 5.00am, the view is wonderful and gives a serene atmosphere for prayer to Lord Murugan. Hassle-free check-in, we booked over phone.

Rooms are neat and clean (we stayed in 2 rooms ,one night), a/c was effective and bath was neat.Food is only average. Main drawback with this hotel is, you have to wait till 6.30 am to get a cup of coffee, whereas we planned to go to Hill top around 7.00 am.

It is OK for the price and the location, who wants to have good dharshan of Hill Temple Lord Murugan.

Room Tip: If you want to have good serene view of Hill temple on night and early morning, better to opt for se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rasa006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
496 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is located extremely close to the entrance to Palani temple at the foot hills. Room is just functional and the best part is its locational advantage. Hotel has ample parking space though access is a bit tough due to roads being closed for vehicular traffic. Hotel should improve lobby for a good first impression as the sofa is damaged. Food served in the restaurant is just average.

Room Tip: Select a room with window towards temple side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sridharan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall nice place, clean rooms and bathrooms. Slightly high on the cost considering the amenities but located just near the temple entrance, it definitely was a good stay. Staff was cordial and energetic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sudmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Traveled on 9-4-2014

Though the reaching this property is bit hard and unwanted views on way, the hotel itself is big and clean. The hotel has parking facilities, lift service , bell boys and a nice Veg restaurant. The room we stayed was deluxe family 3 bed. The room has palani hill views which looks stunning in night. The room was neat and clean. Toilet was spacious and clean with cold and hot water facilities. The AC worked well. No internet available.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing palani hill has excellent views att night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AneeLiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was planned to stay in Hotel Subam on 29/March/2014 night. I got one A/C room.
The room was very hot during the night. The ceiling fan was pushing very hot airs and the bed was a kind of foam in which we will be roasted. The A/C was not working. It was showing 20 degrees and getting a cooled air for around one meter (1 meter) from the device.
The waste part was, the Hotel Staffs didn't give me the remote control of the A/C and it was a horrible night for me and my family. During night we were walking through the corridor to get some fresh air. I had already given complaint about it 4 times during the night and still they didn't give me the A/C remote. I am very disappointed with these irresponsible workmen.
Next day, they give me a bill for the A/C room and I told them about my experience and they were unwilling to reduce the price. From their statement, I got a hint that it was my fate and I am bad luck. Finally they gave me a 10% discount - and got Rs 160/- back. I was expecting around 600/- since this was the rate for a non a/c room.

My second experience was, I have ordered Masala Dosa for dinner and I got it. But a stinking white coloured Masala in. Woooh.. it was really a horrible one. But they didn't charge me for that.

Third Experience. The bathroom was very bad. Not cleaned well. No shower, no hand pipe. Also so many bird droppings. from the window. IT WAS TOO BAD.

Guys, There are lots of good hotels in Palani to stay. That's what I can say.

Room Tip: I am sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank APNOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palani hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palani
0.2 mi away
Ganpat Grand
Ganpat Grand
#1 of 8 in Palani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
14.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#22 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#33 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
13.8 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#14 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
13.5 mi away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Subam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subam

Property: Hotel Subam
Address: 7 North Giri Street | Adivaram, Palani 624601, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Palani
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Palani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Subam 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Subam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing