We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location and best place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lonar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lonar
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“very good location and best place to stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

MTDC Resort is the only best option to stay near LONAR LAKE. Best part of the Resort is that one can see LONAR LAKE from the first floor of Resort having tea/coffee. Dinning is good. Cleanness need to be better. Staff is co operative. Resort's Campus is very big and wel maintained. Over all it is the best staying option for families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shaileshu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The biggest USP of the place is its location, the steps for the crater lake is just on the other hand of the road. Massive area though underutilised and like many other MTDC proerties, not very well maintained. The staff is helpful though with eased out check-out times and contacts for your guide or transporters ready with them everytime you ask. We stayed for one night in the AC rooms, one of which had a broken toilet seat cover and not so clean looking toilet seat. The sleeping was peaceful. Overall appearence of the place was good . The dormitory that we booked for a stay of few hours the next day had clean beds and linen but cleanliness was a downer when it came to the toilet.

Coming to the restaurant to the top, the cook probably did not understand what 'less spicy' means that compelled us look for other alternatives which sadly are missing in this small village. Service was quick compared to the only other 'veg' restaurant we visited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saugata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was sick when I arrived at MTDC Resort, and the staff was so lovely and helpful - they brought me fresh fruit from the village and had a doctor come in to see me. When I offered to pay them for their services they denied. It is not the cleanest place, but the room was spacious and had a terrace attached with view of the crater rim. It is beautiful and peaceful there. If you want cleaner places you have to go to more touristy areas - but then you've obviously got more tourists around you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissMonkey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

MTDC lonar carries on the tradition of MTDC havin the best location for its properties. The resort is located bang in front of the crater. The view is awesome.

We took a AC room and it was worth the money. I think the resort has been refurbished since the room was pretty decent in comparison to the reviews mentioned in the site. The AC worked well and a flat panel TV was there for company. The bathroom was big, spacious and clean.. No complaints there..

The food service was basic. Dont expect much there. Would tend to think that cleaniess could have been better but i guess this is one thing which is perpectually present in all MTDC canteens. Since they are privately managed hygeince is slightly compromised by private contractors.

Probably for better food one should go the town nearby which has some new eating joints.

Overall Lonar is a sight to see. One option of visiting Lonar is having night stay in aurangabad and travel by cab to Lonar. The distance is arnd 100kms and would take around 3 hrs one way. So you can visit Lonar in a single day if you are finicky about hotel quality.

Lots of mosquitoes so take liquid odomos or allout with you...

Room Tip: Lots of mosquitoes so take liquid odomos or allout with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumbai_Traveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Lonar is a small village with basic lodging facilities. The only big hotel close to the crater is MTDC’s Holiday Resort and so we had no option but to pick it. Unfortunately, it turned out to be our worst stay yet !

Calling this place a Holiday Resort is quite laughable! It is old and very poorly maintained. We stayed in one of their air-conditioned ‘cottage’ rooms. It was spacious but quite ugly. The bathroom was rundown and just about functional. There was a color TV but it ran only 4 national channels . At night there were quite a few creepy-crawlies in the room.

For more details and pictures check the following link
http://10yearitch.com/?p=2968

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tenyearitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We had being to Lonar Sarovar (crater) on 26th Dec 2009. It was one day picnic from Aurangabad & back. We had not stayed at the Resort but used their restaurant for food during our picnic.

Hotel is perfectly located just in front of the Crater Hole. You can have a marvelous view of the entire area from the restaurant top floor. The trekking route for Kamalja mata mandir deep in the crater starts just from the front of the resort. Area as well as resort is big enough in size (as usual in case of MTDC resorts) but poorly managed. The restaurant (Tarangan by name) do not have basic amineties like exclusive washrooms - whatever were built earlier has being locked due to improper maintenance. Even kitchen cleanliness is below average neither you have good choice on food variety. They serve some standard menu which is usually fast moving & may be easily availlable in the area around.

May be one of the reason for poorly managed is less number of guests as well as occupancy levels. As per the outsourced staff the hotel is full only in two weeks around Diwali & another two weeks around Christmas & new year. For remaining 11months there are rarely any guests turning up. Hence business transcations are very low & cannot cover the royal Maintenance cost of the resort.

On the other side, in Lonar this is the Best available option to stay or even to have your afternoon food. Other hotel around are like 'Tapri' style or even beyond imagination. Considering the natural beauty in & around Lonar crater, it is worth visiting this place. Do not forget to try for trekking into the crater with route starting from PWD guesthouse (front of MTDC resort) - highly recommended if you are young enough & has passion for nature around. Your will surely enjoy it. It takes roughly 2-3 hours. Not sure about recommending MTDC resort. May be in future with good business or guests turning up; the hotel Management will improvise on their Maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DhanrajKalbhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

If you want to stay within sight of the Lonar meteor crater (which incidentally is well worth a visit), there's no other option but the state-run MTDC resort.

If you do so however, you will require all your reserves of tolerance. This is by far the dirtiest place I have ever been. You will find damp blooming across the walls, dirt on every surface, cobwebs in the ceiling, a wide selection of animal life of which mosquitos are just one attraction, and dank and dirty sheets on a bed which is little more than a small piece of mouldy foam rubber on a tatty wooden platform.

The bathroom is so dirty that there surely could not have been any more dirt in the sink if it had been painted on, while the shower was caked in limescale and did not work, not that there was much hot water anyway. I did actually point out the dirty sink, thinking that this was something the staff could manage to put right, but when they proudly showed me the results of their work a couple of hours later there was no difference at all.

The food was mediocre at best and you can only eat what they happen to be cooking at the time, and of course the cutlery, crockery and the dining area itself boast the same standards of cleanliness as the rest of the place.

The service was certainly friendly, although quite what kind of training they've had uncertain. The location is terrific though, and the staff will set up a table for you on the terrace so that you can look out into the void of the crater as you eat your dinner.

I still shudder at the thought of my stay in this hotel. A better bet though may be to stay in Aurangabad and visit the crater as a day trip, since the crater itself is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The view of the crater
  • Disliked — The dirt
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Member403604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lonar
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saffron Hotel
Saffron Hotel
#1 of 18 in Jalna
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort

Property: MTDC Holiday Resort
Address: Paryatan Sankul Buldhana District, Lonar 443302, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Buldhana District > Lonar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lonar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Hotel Lonar
MTDC Holiday Resort Lonar, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing