We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming stone cottage in Paul and Eliane's...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coulombs, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rhinette
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming stone cottage in Paul and Eliane's secret garden”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Guests stay in a separate, spacious, nicely designed and decorated building across from the home of the welcoming owners. He speaks excellent English and has a wonderful sense of humor; she is very gracious in French. We were just two, but there is room for four. A short stroll through Paul's amazing flower and vegetable gardens lead from the house to the private parking area. Washing machine and dryer are a few steps away from the guest house. It's an ideal location: a five-minute drive takes you to the highway leading to the medieval cities of Caen (to the east) and Bayeux (to the west), and it's an easy drive to the D-Day sites. We're looking forward to our next visit here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and the hosts.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreafre...
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place and location”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We book this cottage for 9 days, as we plan to visit all D Days landing beachs and area around, and we could not be better located, the cottage is on a very quite village suround by a beautiful gardens well look after by its owner, by the way a very helpful man and will be there with his wife for everything you need. Cottage also has everything you will need, so we used to make our picnic basket and go out for the day, all motorways was close enough and easy to go anywhere for shopping of course if you go by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sky C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and a good location for visiting the Calvados region”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked this gite at short notice and arrived to find a bijou and absolutely spotless accommodation, located in the quiet village of Coulombs.

The gite is right opposite the owners' home sharing their front garden but with it's own outside seating area. The owners were very helpful and discreet and our daughter was allowed to use the children's swing in their garden anytime. Bed linen, towels and beach towels were provided and we had access to a separate laundry room by the owners' house.The only real downside was, as the previous reviewer said, the wifi which only works if you stand by the front door or in the garden.

As there are no local shops in Coulombs,we drove to Creully which is only 5 to 10 minutes away, where there is a small castle, an amazing boulangerie, Boulangerie à Jules, a small supermarket, 2 restaurants and also a surprisingly good pizzeria, Astro Pizza.

I would recommend this gite for it's location, ideally located for day trips by car to Bayeux, Caen, beaches and the main motorways around the Normandy Calvados region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its location to the rest of Calvados region
Liked least: wifi only worked if sat right by the front door
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiim82
Mechelen, België
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and ideally located”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This gite has the perfect location for a visit to the Calvados region. About 15 minutes from Caen, Bayeux and the three British/Canadian beaches and 5 minutes from the main road connecting the cities, you can't wish to be more central.
The gite itself is small but has all the amenities. It was renovated recently but still has an old-fashioned feel to it, which is not a bad thing. The thick walls did interfere with the wifi connection, so we had to sit by the frontdoor to actually use our smart devices - nothing a wifi signal booster can't fix.
The owners were absolutely charming and helpful, providing us with a baby bed and chair for our 9 month old, free of charge. Sheets, kitchen and bathroom towels were also provided. Off-street parking is available. The double bed was a bit small for me (I'm 2m+), but if you're of normal height, it shouldn't be a problem.
We very much enjoyed our stay, and the price/quality ratio was particularly good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi-Fi connection
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps72476...
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Désolé pour la connexion wifi,mais il semble que la plus ou moins bonne connection dépende du matèriel utilisé,certains n'ont aucun problème;merci d'avoir participé à cette revue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolein...
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Thank you for your review, it's a pity I can't understand Dutch,but I see you were pleased with your stay,which is the most important thing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j01950
Viry-Chatillon, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing