We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Kiplin Hall

Kiplin Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kiplin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award-winning Kiplin Hall is unassumingly tucked away between Richmond and Northallerton. This Jacobean Hall has been owned and lived in by direct descendants of King John, Charles II and the Earls of Shrewsbury. This hidden gem was built in 1620 by a local gentleman, George Calvert, who was born in an earlier house that stood close by to the existing Hall. Calvert rose to become Secretary of State to James I, the 1st Lord Baltimore in 1625, and founder of the colony of Maryland in America in 1632. Kiplin's families - the Calverts, Crowes, Carpenters and Talbots - were all related by blood or marriage. As each new owner took up residence, changes were made to the house and possessions added which reflected their individual tastes and interests. A 'Gothic' wing was built in the 1820s, and redesigned in 1887 by the renowned architect, W.E. Nesfield. Agricultural innovations, archaeology, gardening, new inventions, painting, politics, sea-faring and the Arts and Crafts Movement were just some of the interests of different owners during 350 years of the Hall's history. These are reflected in the eclectic mix of furniture, paintings, portraits, scientific instruments and personalia that fill the house, which is now displayed as a comfortable Victorian home.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We visited the house. It was very informative and personable as it’s not run by an organisation but by volunteers who love the property and have worked hard to save it and keep it open.
It meant you could walk all around the rooms (as opposed to parts of the room being cordoned off) and have very informative conversations with the volunteers in each room about the history of the house and the families.
It was such a treat to have tea served in the main hall of the house as you come in - very nice home made cakes and scones!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank DAk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walled garden"
in 36 reviews
"tea room"
in 49 reviews
"scones"
in 22 reviews
"round the lake"
in 8 reviews
"lakeside walk"
in 5 reviews
"homely feel"
in 6 reviews
"country house"
in 8 reviews
"charitable trust"
in 4 reviews
"large lake"
in 6 reviews
"sensory garden"
in 5 reviews
"bog garden"
in 3 reviews
"free flow"
in 3 reviews
"room stewards"
in 6 reviews
"north yorkshire"
in 12 reviews
"panelled walls"
in 2 reviews
"original entrance"
in 2 reviews
"lovely house"
in 9 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018

Our visit to Kipling hall was to see the gardens & grounds as we had our dog with us and he was not allowed in the house.
The house looked magnificent from the outside. We walked the gardens and saw the flowers & the fruit & veg that they sell on an honesty stall at the entrance. ( flowers were a very reasonable £1) . Had a lovely 20 mins stroll around the just less than a mile walk around the lake. Had fruit tea & scones which we were able to have sat outside picnic tables. There is also a woodland walk which we didn't do but lots of dogs with owners were seen heading to.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on the way north as it was a lovely day and was truly surprised at how nice Kiplin Hall was.

Given the lovely weather, we decided on the ‘gardens’ only and really enjoyed the walled garden and museum followed by a lazy walk around the lake.

The highlight was having coffee, scones and cake on the terrace overlooking the lake at the rear of the house. The service was excellent and the food homemade, including jams and was simply delicious, especially their own brand coffee.

Whilst there’s not enough to fill a day, there’s plenty to occupy a few hours and, as the tea room is free to visit, I recommend a visit given it’s close to the A1 and far better than Scotch Corner services!

Well worth a visit and delightful.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Claude102015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Was very impressed with Kiplin Hall, parking no problem, everyone we met not sure who were staff and who were volunteers but they were very friendly and helpful, ramp in place for our wheelchair user no problem entering or using the tea room, no issues here. Food home made and excellent very fresh, good value and hardly any time to wait for service and it was quite busy on this Bank Holiday Monday. Disabled toilet easy to find and use. Obviously with wheelchair user not really able to fully see the house although a reduced price if you wanted to see the downstairs was offered, but we opted to visit the walled garden and lake, very pleasant and easy to get a wheelchair round, only a small area was gravel. They have a honesty cart with fresh produce and flowers which had obviously been very popular over the weekend so not a lot of choice today although we did purchase potatoes, courgettes and some wonderful sunflowers.Would definitely recommend a visit we shall return would like to see the walled garden at the beginning of the season and think it is great that you can use the tea room without any charge which is not often the case in many places so ideal to call in if you are in the area just for a cuppa and snack.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank buddinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Having lived in Scorton for 10 years we decided on visiting the hall along with my parents.
Parking is free and the cost of the day,is according to what you want to see, ie, grounds, house or both, but not expensive.
Every room has a guide that will answer your questions, or will remain silent if that's how you want it.
And at no time are you rushed.
The hall has a built in tea room, serving an array of freshly made sandwiches cakes etc.
The grounds include a woodland walk around the lake, a rose garden, senceary garden, cottage garden and garden museum.
We easy filled nearly five hours and will happily return again.
In conclusion this is a marvelous period hall run by dedicated staff, that is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank MrChrisGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiplin Hall also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Leeming Bar, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Kiplin Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing