We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A slightly smaller stately home but perfectly formed - to surround you on arrival with all the amenities.

Kiplin Hall does indeed exude a special atmosphere with its graciously warm welcome to all and... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Ray S
A Hidden Gem.

We came across this beautiful hall almost by accident. It is a delightful place to visit with very... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
David F
Read all 194 reviews
  
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
116
55
10
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
55
10
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden tea room scones round the lake lakeside walk large lake jacobean house sensory garden charitable trust bog garden room stewards homely feel original entrance previous owners cups and saucers north yorkshire garden games
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 193 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Kiplin Hall does indeed exude a special atmosphere with its graciously warm welcome to all and sundry. There is a sense of relaxation as soon as you start to meet the friendly and basically volunteer staff. Your comforts are immediately accommodated upon arrival with toilet and cosy, wood panelled tearoom just inside the main entrance where you pay for entry or present your Historic Houses membership card if you have one! We elected to have an al fresco coffee and cake outside just through the original ornate entrance gates by the refreshments tent larger tents showing/selling potted plants, books, woollen goods/clothes and pictures/prints. The gates and long grassy driveway gave clues to the fact that at least one previous owner had moved the main entrance from the east side to the north and managing apparently to get the main road running between Northallerton and Richmond which passed close by Kiplin Hall on the eastern side moved further north whereupon it was then shrouded by estate woodlands. We wouldn't have been as welcome in those days! We started our own tour as suggested through the lovely drawing room, then library and finally on the ground floor, the dining room. All resplendent rooms with historic paintings and many other items of interest as well as period furniture. We started to pick up even on the ground floor of the beautiful window views which became quite an item once upstairs and looking down on the garden areas and view across the large look with the usual folly/viewpoint on the opposite bank. The grand staircase imposed its importance by forcing the redesign to rooms on all floors! Upstairs through the hall lovers of maritime history would be rapt by Admiral Carpenter's Study. Lady Waterford's Room reflected her love of art and education which she promoted certainly following her early widowhood. There was a lovely bedroom and a down to earth bathroom converted from a dressing room in the C19. Another room reflected the use as a kitchen for the accommodated men from the East Lancashire Regiment evacuated from Dunkirk in 1940. There's references to the daring travels of some of the ancestral Calvert family - one ancestor, George Calvert, had tried to settle in Virginia (USA) but the Puritans were opposed to his Catholic religion so managed to obtain Charles l's patent for land (Maryland, north of Virginia in honour of Queen Henrietta Maria). George died around the same time so son Cecil, 2nd Lord Baltimore, became the first Proprietor of Maryland - hence the present day visitors to Kiplin Hall from the "New World" USA who can enjoy the permanent exhibition of the Calvert/Kiplin connections. We continued our wanderings through the Long Gallery etc before having a final walk round the gardens and by the lake shore. A great day out.

Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We came across this beautiful hall almost by accident. It is a delightful place to visit with very friendly and informative room guides. The Tea Room serves a good range of cakes, including gluten free options, along with soups, sandwiches, tea and freshly brewed coffee. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went for an afternoon tea, which was very nice, big pot it tea with proper tea cups, plenty of sandwiches and enough cake too with a scone and clotted cream and Jam, delicious, thank you. The house was lovely, there are guides in different rooms to give you a little more info if you require than the fact sheets provided. An elderly gentleman discussed Napoleon with us and was so lovely as was the elderly lady in the downstairs room (expect they are husband and wife). Then on to the gardens, although we are getting to the end of the season the gardens were so pretty beautiful oranges and yellows with loads of butterflies and a very friendly ginger cat. Sadly ran out of time as we would have loved to have walk round the Lake. The staff were very nice how lucky they are to work In Such beautiful surroundings. Thank you

Thank ALISON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We visited Kiplin Hall on our annual visit to The Yorkshire Dales. Very interesting House with a lovely atmosphere and lovely and knowledgeable house volunteers. The walled garden is beautiful and there is a lovely walk round the lake. The house has a lovely tea room. I would recommend a visit to Kiplin Hall

Thank kerriekhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Very welcome arrival with tea & coffee and homemade biscuits, followed by a very informative guided tour. We had lunch of soup & sandwiches and beautiful homemade cakes to follow. A lovely place to visit with the most exquisite tearoom. The gardens and lake are wonderful - you can almost imagine Mr Darcy emerging from the lake. A must visit little gem In Yorkshire.

Thank MrsS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We visited the house. It was very informative and personable as it’s not run by an organisation but by volunteers who love the property and have worked hard to save it and keep it open.
It meant you could walk all around the rooms (as opposed to parts of the room being cordoned off) and have very informative conversations with the volunteers in each room about the history of the house and the families.
It was such a treat to have tea served in the main hall of the house as you come in - very nice home made cakes and scones!

Thank DAk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Our visit to Kipling hall was to see the gardens & grounds as we had our dog with us and he was not allowed in the house.
The house looked magnificent from the outside. We walked the gardens and saw the flowers & the fruit & veg that they sell on an honesty stall at the entrance. ( flowers were a very reasonable £1) . Had a lovely 20 mins stroll around the just less than a mile walk around the lake. Had fruit tea & scones which we were able to have sat outside picnic tables. There is also a woodland walk which we didn't do but lots of dogs with owners were seen heading to.

Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on the way north as it was a lovely day and was truly surprised at how nice Kiplin Hall was.

Given the lovely weather, we decided on the ‘gardens’ only and really enjoyed the walled garden and museum followed by a lazy walk around the lake.

The highlight was having coffee, scones and cake on the terrace overlooking the lake at the rear of the house. The service was excellent and the food homemade, including jams and was simply delicious, especially their own brand coffee.

Whilst there’s not enough to fill a day, there’s plenty to occupy a few hours and, as the tea room is free to visit, I recommend a visit given it’s close to the A1 and far better than Scotch Corner services!

Well worth a visit and delightful.

Thank Claude102015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Was very impressed with Kiplin Hall, parking no problem, everyone we met not sure who were staff and who were volunteers but they were very friendly and helpful, ramp in place for our wheelchair user no problem entering or using the tea room, no issues here. Food home made and excellent very fresh, good value and hardly any time to wait for service and it was quite busy on this Bank Holiday Monday. Disabled toilet easy to find and use. Obviously with wheelchair user not really able to fully see the house although a reduced price if you wanted to see the downstairs was offered, but we opted to visit the walled garden and lake, very pleasant and easy to get a wheelchair round, only a small area was gravel. They have a honesty cart with fresh produce and flowers which had obviously been very popular over the weekend so not a lot of choice today although we did purchase potatoes, courgettes and some wonderful sunflowers.Would definitely recommend a visit we shall return would like to see the walled garden at the beginning of the season and think it is great that you can use the tea room without any charge which is not often the case in many places so ideal to call in if you are in the area just for a cuppa and snack.

Thank buddinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Having lived in Scorton for 10 years we decided on visiting the hall along with my parents.
Parking is free and the cost of the day,is according to what you want to see, ie, grounds, house or both, but not expensive.
Every room has a guide that will answer your questions, or will remain silent if that's how you want it.
And at no time are you rushed.
The hall has a built in tea room, serving an array of freshly made sandwiches cakes etc.
The grounds include a woodland walk around the lake, a rose garden, senceary garden, cottage garden and garden museum.
We easy filled nearly five hours and will happily return again.
In conclusion this is a marvelous period hall run by dedicated staff, that is well worth a visit.

1  Thank MrChrisGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews