We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Pahalgam (Must Visit)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munsiyari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Munsiyari Hill Station
Ranked #2 of 6 Munsiyari B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Uttarakhand disaster in Garwal hills made a huge dent into the tourism industry. This was apperent by the low turnout of tourists and the constantly threatening news channels. Even the hard core kumaon gents were intimidated by the fact that one of the rouads to Munshiyari was impacted and close to 3 kms was under water near Darchula, Pithoragarh. We had bookings with KMVN at Munshiyari for 25th and 26th June 2013. We connected with the manager at KMVN. He was very helpful – he was kind of graphic in his description of the route and explained that it was pretty safe to travel on those given days. It was kind of 125-150KMS from Pithoragarh city at an altitude of 7,200 feet over sea level. We reached Munshiyari within 4 hours. The route gave us some of the most breath taking views. And it was constantly getting colder. The due drops were forming on our vehicle’s windscreen constantly. There were some places where route was rough due to landslides. Suggest vehicles with bigger wheels in this road around this time. The hotels location was out of the world. The view of snow-capped peaks of the Mount Kailash range can’t be missed. The service was average. They offered free parking facility and accommodation for the cars and drivers. They were seeking orders for the meals at-least 3-4 hours in advance. Electricity was a problem – suggest keeping a torch handy. Carrying your own drinks will help as getting premium drinks in Munsiyari will be a challenge. It is a hub for trekking and trekkers. Munsiyari is promoted as the key winter sports destination for Uttarakhand. Another place I strongly recommend – Must Visit (next to Pahalgam, Kashmir)

Room Tip: Look out for a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent view, neat and clean rooms, good food, great service. 10 out of 10. We saw sunrise and sunset on Panchhuli peak lying on the bed in the hotel room.

Places of sightseeing - Nanda Devi Temple, Thamari Kund, Helipad (from here you will get clear view of Panchhulli peaks), Saras Bazar etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMBRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

KMVN munsyari is located at the best location in the beautiful small town. There is an old building situated in front and the new building situated behind it, which are interconnected. Rooms in the 1st and 2nd floor of the new building have balcony and provide better view. Rooms are standard and spacious, warm blankets provided, bathrooms are clean and fitted with geysers, staff is courteous but a bit slow in service, food is average, but the best thing is, when you sit in the balcony, you feel that Panchachuli peaks are just a stone's throw away from your room. We stayed in the executive rooms in 1st floor of new building(201). In our last trip to darjeeling, we had to get up at 3 a.m. to go to tiger hill, just to see the sunrise, but here, you don't need to go to any place, you just relax, and see sunrise right from your room, just terrific. The place is quiet, ideal for nature-loving people. Try to stay at the first rooms, 201 or 301, these are located just at the end of the building, and provide nearly unobstructed view of both sides, and have large windows in two walls. Overall my stay is satisfactory.

Room Tip: room 201 and 301 provides best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skolkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

During my medical camp at Munsiari I stayed in KMVN Rest House. A Wll constructed building neat and clean in its natural surrounding. The rooms are spacious and well furnished with attach bath. Each room gives a direct view of Panchacholi. Though there are many lodges and hotesl but this is well managed spacious and no crowdings and offers reasonable rates with no compromise on the rate and quality. So people of a particular standard can stay and enjoy the environment.Food is excellent and one can have the type of food one likes veg or non veg. It is a excellent base for onward travels to himalayan peaks including milan. So if the budget permits this is an excellent place to stay. The personal service also is excellent and the people are trust worthy.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms on 2nd floor particularly on the west side as there is no obstruction in view of Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayantSathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very well located , spacious rooms , Magnificient view(See Photo), proper housekeeping, friendly staff. Only problem is that they have power cuts most of the times and the Generator is not repaired. We could not charge the battery for my Camera as a result of which could not capture some of the magnificient views.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandip461d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited Munsiyari with my family in November 2012. Great Place...The KMVN rest house is as usual at an Amazing location.. Clear view of the Panchachulis... The food is simple but ok.. Well maintained... Clean room and bathroom.. Would highly recommend this place...

Room Tip: Look at the rooms which are on the higher floors to get a clear view of the Panchachuli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Aindril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms have fantastic view of the mountains but not from the ground floor rooms. The food is ok.Rooms are big and clean. Bathrooms are good.The resort is well maintained . Best choice for stay in Munsiyari

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PARTHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munsiyari
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 17 in Almora
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milam Inn
Milam Inn
#1 of 6 in Munsiyari
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ojaswi Resort
Ojaswi Resort
#1 of 1 in Chaukori
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pandey Lodge
Hotel Pandey Lodge
#2 of 12 in Munsiyari
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Palace Munsiyari
Hotel Royal Palace Munsiyari
#7 of 12 in Munsiyari
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Munsiyari Hill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Munsiyari Hill Station

Address: Pithoragarh, Munsiyari 262554, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Pithoragarh District > Munsiyari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Munsiyari
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing