We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ko Lan Island; Must do in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samae Beach

Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Ko Lan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ko Lan Island; Must do in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Okay i know that everybody that goes to Thailand stays in Bangkok, or Phuket. But for people that are not mainstream Ko Lan is perfect. The Island is a 45minute boat ride from the City of Pattaya which is an adventure on it self. The main beach Samae Beach is perfect, nice location also also has nets protecting you when you swim and has many water sport options. The Area is not as commercialized as the West coast of Thailand so this is experiencing Thailand as Thailand.

Recommend it to every one

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    66
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good beach away from Pattaya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We travelled with "Kohlarn Travel Co., Ltd." for 150baht/person to and fro. The ferry was overloaded with more people that the number of life jackets. It took us around 45+mins to reach the beach and it seemed like ages because it made many stops in between to drop peoplw for para-sailing or on other beaches. The transfer from ferry to beach is via a boat and the boat was quite wobbly leading to people bumping into one other. On reaching the beach we paid 30baht/person for beach beds.

The water was full of sand , very salty, with no visibility during our visit. The water was pretty warm , little bit colder would have been better to enjoy in heat. The bathroom and changing facilities were okayish. No major food facilities.

It was a good day with family on beach away from Pattaya but cold crystal clear water could have been fantastic. May be at other time in the year it is better. I would rather say 3.5 than 4.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ankismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Samae Beach - Don't Miss It ! Best Beach In Pattaya !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wow !!!!!!!! Samae Beach, Koh Lan is undoubtedly the best beach ever in Pattaya. Beautiful blue clean water is best for swimming, snorkelling and many more water activities like parasailing, banana boat, water bike etc. This is a must place to visit in Pattaya. Well, how to go there from Pattaya? Going there is very convenient. There're two types of transportation available from Bali Hai Pier [end of famous Walking Street] from morning to late afternoon apart from rented speedboat [private]. One can go by Ferry @40 Baht/ person or @300 Baht/ person by speed boat [shared basis]. Nevertheless, if you're a group of more than 5 then it'd better to charter a speedboat @1,500 Baht [to go and back] and enjoy the journey/ trip more amongst the group members. Panoramic view of Samae beach is magnificent and really a worthy visit for everybody. Sun bed, food, drinks, lunch, toilet, massage everything one can get easily but price is little bit higher which is very common in all tourist area. Thus, better to full your stock from convenient store 7/11 after down @ pier in Koh Lan. It's simply a cool beach with visitors round the year but not too much crowdy. Accommodation facilities also available now a day. I've checked with local and tariff is like 500 ~ 700 Baht/ night [AC room with hot/ cold shower, balcony, double bed etc] If one'd like to explore the island then my suggestion is to do that please. We took Songtaew i.e. Baht Bus @800/= to explore the island. Coral Island or Koh Lan consists of 04 beaches i.e. Koh lan, Samae, Tawan and Nual Beach. We went all the beaches, took pictures, met with numerous tourists around the globe. Well, for the partygoers/ bachelors this beach is not a bad one to meet with freelancers. Trust, I went 07 times so far and would like to go again and again :-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Shohagepyllion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I called it a hiden nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Pros : A nice beach to swim , snorkling and do some activity water sport. When you hit the beach, take a look at the right side, you'll see a big building with it's gazeebo. Go up there, and just follow the little path way, then you'll see another hiden beach to explore.

Cons : I saw a bit of rubbish on the beach.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reni_119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A beautiful Beach with crystal clear water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second visit to Koh Larn Islands and my first to Samae Beach. I liked this beach a lot than the other beaches on Koh Larn. It has a very safe, clean beach with good restaurants serving seafood. The beach has some view points from where we could take excellent photos. I was told there are some resorts where you could stay on this island which I came to know very late. I would have definitely stayed on the beach had I knew this earlier than staying in the crowded crazy pattaya. I would recommend highly recommend this beach to any traveler to Pattaya

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank terryjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samae Beach also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Ko Lan, Chonburi Province
 
Ko Lan, Chonburi Province
Ko Lan, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Samae Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing