We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somnath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust
Ranked #1 of 22 Somnath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a beautiful property with all its rooms with a proper sea view. the rooms are large with clean toilets. It has an extensive lawn overlooking the sea. And the best thing it is right next to the Somnath temple. The property built by the Kokilaben Ambani Trust is being run by the Somnath temple Trust. Though neat and clean but could do a lot better in terms of customer relations as also amenities and in room facilities. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tulupatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    93
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
188
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had booked thro internet to stay at Lilavathi Athithigruh. Took the print out but the security and trust people make u go from pillar to post. They speak only in Hindi and Gujarati and if u do not know you are under their mercy. They dont even look at u till 10 Am, the check in time.
As the check out time is also 10 AM, yathris take their own time to surrender rooms and it takes time for the room to be ready.
If u land early, you are in trouble as the rooms will be given, but you can use the toilet and bath facility paying extra but difficult to change dress or leave the baggage safe.
Rooms are big, spacious, clean, AC is working well but the difficulty and trouble in the morning makes you sick. Temple is walkable, food served is reasonable and only vegetarian. self service and the lunch and dinner time re crowded a lot as outsiders also come and have food.

Room Tip: Get to speak to some one before in Hindi or Gujarati to get rooms for an early check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishnamurthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

nice location for relaxation but there is no management for food and service and food is very spicy
room service is ok not very good but location vice no 1 hotel i n somnath and walking distence from somnath mandir you look all veraval city from the hotel all rooms are sea facing and the garden and beach facing compound is awesome if you want for good food please take SARDAR Restaurant near Lilavati costaly but good food

Room Tip: All Rooms Are Sea Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I visited Somnath during 1st week of May'2014 from Delhi via Ahmedabad. We were a family group of 7 senior citizens. While staying at Sagar Darshan we however compared other accommodations but were glad to find it was the best. No hassle, simply book online in advance. Tariff of Rs 1500 per room night for a deluxe AC room is too low. Place and the rooms are very neat and clean, staff too co-operative and above all the full and close sea view from each room. value for money.
Food at dinning hall was very good with choice for all pan-India.

Room Tip: FF rooms having extended balconies provide better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sham0951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're with your group of friends and family, this is the ideal location to stay. All rooms are sea facing with huge balcony space for hang out with your dear ones. Rooms are big enough to accommodate 3-4 person.
Exactly on the sea and next to somnath tempt.
Tried tea and found it too good. Overall very satisfied with the option.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhibhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

the place is awesome we had booked the place online seeing its excellence on trip advisor !
rooms were neat and clean !! the sea view from balcony is very nice, and the view is more closer from other sea view places, I also stayed in hotel Tamilnadu kanyakumari but their sea view is from a distance !!
Take rooms on 3rd floor for good view of sunset and if you want big balcony then take rooms on first floor !!

it costs Rs 1500 and Rs 200 as deposit which is given back at the time of checkin !!
check in time is sharp 10 am !!

the behavior of staff is good and all checkin checkout procedures are quite smooth !

the dining area is on ground floor !! their is improvement in food court, as we have read on tripAd before our journey that food court is bad !! but we inquired that their is good improvement their food is also good

the place is 500m walking distance from temple and if you wanna attend aarti at 7am or 7pm ! then leave place before 1:30 hrs before

nice stay !!

Room Tip: 3rd floor for great sunset view or 1st floor for big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harshit_bly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Sagar Darshan Hotel by Ambanis is truly majestic. All the rooms, without exception, are sea facing. Rooms in First Floor have exclusive Balconies where one can sit with family and kids and enjoy the see breeze, an exhilarating experience indeed.

The food is good but the service is poor. In the Reception, the people are highly accommodative, attentive and empathetic.

Do not forget to get car pass to enter this hotel . it is an excellent stay - Value for Money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narayan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somnath hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Somnath Atithigruh
0.8 mi away
Lords Inn Somnath
Lords Inn Somnath
#2 of 5 in Somnath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Divine Resort
The Divine Resort
#5 of 5 in Somnath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ambar
Hotel Ambar
#4 of 5 in Somnath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fern Residency Somnath
0.7 mi away
Hotel Somnath Sagar
Hotel Somnath Sagar
#5 of 22 in Somnath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust

Property: Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust
Address: Prabhas Patan, Somnath Mandir Road, Somnath 382268, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Somnath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Somnath
Also Known As:
Sagar Darshan - Somnath Trust Gujarat, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing