We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shubh Suvidha = No Go Zone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Shubh Suvidha
Ranked #18 of 23 Somnath B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel Shubh Suvidha, in Somnath
The meaning of Shubh = Auspicious, Suvidha = facilities
It is neither Shubh, nor it offers any Suvidha

Stayed on Nov2nd

We checked in as late as 7 pm on 2nd Nov as the road we travelled from Porbandar was atrocious, only to find our room was not done, the toilet seat was urinated on, by the previous occupiers or the staff them selves.

There was water every where in the room as the air conditioning was leaking, I told them to place some towels to absorb the water from the flooded area, and switch the air condoning off completely.

The bed linen looked like never been washed since they were first purchased, as they looked so pale, full of stains, and smelled horrible. After complained, they were changed to some better looking ones but still not to a hotel standard.

Bathroom was a grim place to be, as you could not spread your both arms, the poor shower was in hardly working condition, and toilet seat was not too far away from it.

All in all the whole room looked like a room in Mumbai slum, even a room in slum would be better lit.

When complained about the standard. There was a standard answer “Sir we can change room for you” not realising we had had a tough day on the road and were desperate for some rest.

I even asked for a refund of full (hefty) amount of £56, which was sky higher than what we paid, for Sonnest Inn in Goa only £38, which offered unbelievably 4 star, luxuries (please see a separate review)

We have had a breakfast in their dirty looking restaurants, lucky enough not to have picked up any bugs.


I am shocked to know and experience such a poor place run as a hotel to exploit unsuspecting pilgrims who visit pilgrimage place like Somnath!

Is there any one who can shut down such black hole that is sucking up money form the innocent customers?

Or shall I expect this realistic review on Subh Suvidha will one day help customers stop going, and it will shut itself down!

I hope so.

Did Subh Suvidha pass A Happy Traveller’s 11 points Test?

1, Found the location peaceful? -----No
2. Comfort in room? ---- No
3, Good sleep quality? -- No
4, Comfort in bathroom? ---- No
5. Tea coffee making facility, hair dryer provided? – No
6, Bed linen, Towels clean? –No
7, Supplied enough towels and napkins? -- No
8, Cleanliness? --- No
9, Crockery used were claen? ----No
10, Was the standard of food Good? ---.No
11, Courtesy? ---- Only in hope of tips

This place has failed to score any point out of 11

Thank you all
A Not so Happy Traveller from UK

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VerryHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in Nov 13 during the period post Diwali and I believe this must have been the reason for the high prices. In fact, most hotels were running full house. Rooms are small, staff were good and location is quite close to the railway station, though we drove down from Ahmedabad.
My recommendation, if you are planning to visit Somnath during season time... do book yourselves in advance, as paying a high price of 3k for this kind of product, is definitely going to pinch. However, the restaurant next door is great food. Look more like a fast food joint with open parking in front (with tons of dust flying around). Try their a/c section only. As a destination, Somnath would be a good 1 to 1.5 nights destination.

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway, no elevators, hence choose lower floors, if any family member has proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AashuBhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at the property on the night of 15 October, 2013. When we reached and checked into the room, it wasn't ready. There were no towels in the toilet which itself ws not clean.

Next morning the cistern in the toilet stopped working. Upon complaining there was very little effort made to rectify the problem, probably the management knew that since we were there only for 1 night so it did not matter to them what experiece we take from there.

The worst part of it all is that there is no room service. The restaurant on the ground floor is where you need to go for even a cup of tea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikhil8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in the area. This hotel is under-rated and not properly marketed by the owner. The room was very clean, had a small balcony. Hotel has a quite atmosphere. The hotel staff is very courteous. They guide and provide you the information you need.
Food is very delicious and restaurant manager is very good.
Only problem is that the bathroom size is very small, little drawback. But overall excellent stay at the budget price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuptaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked a room for 4 days. The room quality is fine. Also the bathroom attached is clean and sound. The attendants , room service and the receptionists are highly cordial and surely you will get a warm reception. The cupboard is large enough to accommodate your all belongings. What I loved most is the restaurant outside. It's food quality is delicious and the waiters will be at your service all the times. If asked they would arrange car for your travel and the rent also be very reasonable. Even they give you a wake up call any time at late night if requested. The only problem is that the Somnath temple is about 2km away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amit_bhatta2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

i travel to last month to somnath temple and stay in hotel shubh suvidha i like this hotel,services and good pure veg food really tasty food This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the temple is limited.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mukesh221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After some search, i booked this hotel room 'Deluxe Non Ac Double Bed' for a night. Myself and my bro stayed there on 3rd march 2013 for a night. They gave us Ac room, for non-ac booking ;)

Room was nice, so much space with clean bath room and bed. Loved it.

Room Tip: We have walked 2km to the temple. Which takes 10-20 minutes from hotel. You can use tuk-tuk (Ricksha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BantakalDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somnath hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somnath Atithigruh
0.1 mi away
Lords Inn Somnath
Lords Inn Somnath
#2 of 5 in Somnath
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fern Residency Somnath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Divine Resort
The Divine Resort
#5 of 5 in Somnath
21 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ambar
Hotel Ambar
#4 of 5 in Somnath
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somnath Sagar
Hotel Somnath Sagar
#5 of 23 in Somnath
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shubh Suvidha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shubh Suvidha

Address: Somnath Bye Pass Corner | Prabhas Patan Somnath, Somnath 362268, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Somnath
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Somnath
Price Range: $21 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shubh Suvidha 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shubh Suvidha is ideally located just 1.5 KM from Somnath Temple, from Somnath Railway Station. The hotel has 25 well designed Deluxe, Royal Rooms with attached bath. All Rooms are Air Conditioned and T.V with satellite connection, Direct-dial Telephone in each room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Shubh Suvidha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shubh Suvidha Somnath, Gujarat, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing