We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate place to visit Somnath Temple, Gujarat”

Somnath Mahadev Temple
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Somnath
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Udaipur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ultimate place to visit Somnath Temple, Gujarat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Somnath temple is ultimate place to visit. Very good facilities for visitors. Well maintained however in summer the sea view garden can be better maintained with some drinking water facilities. Really a place where feel peace and so good.

In the summer season the flooring was terribly hot but no mate was there. People and kids were literally running because the floor was so hot and there is distance between place where shoes are taken off and entry.

Recommendation is keep your socks on, take them out before entering in temple.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vinod v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    185
    18
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Magnificent Temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Leather and camera are not allowed inside and you will need to keep it in the locker. The temple has a internal organization which you can give money to for puja so no pandits running after you for puja.
Outside the temple entrance people were taking photos but using a dlsr keep your eyes opened. I was using a dlsr and police came running to me blowing whistles if i am press photographer. Normal camera police didnt say anything but dlsr only press are allowed..:P

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ujjain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Jyotirlinga - Magnificent Temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Visited this beautiful temple with family & friends on tour to coastal Gujarat.... the location the grandeur of lord shiva - a place with magnificent carving in sandstone.... the arabian sea at back drop just perfect combination of beauty - pilgrimage and peoples.

The pooja is performed at old temple in complex, enjoyed though too many pooja ceremonies were going on simultaneously... spend evening and morning there... loved every moment.

LORD SHIVA ...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Achalkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Somnath , with nice beach too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had gone for a religious trip to Somnath, and our aim was too just visit the temple and come back. But to my surprise it has a very pretty beach, that too very clean, not like Mumbai beaches. There are lot of stalls nearby the beach. So rather than it being religious trip it became a fun trip. Also on our way to Somnath we encountered very beautiful beaches on the way. It seemed that it wasnt like usual tourist beaches.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kavya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“very beautiful temple on sea shore.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

somnath temple is one of the jyoutirling located on sea shore.......very beautiful........awesome.......unlike other temples where pandits trouble u for pooja.....there everythng is paid on counter if u want some pooja........crowd follow lines........lovely overall.......people of gujarat always cooperative and good.........

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank samiksha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somnath Mahadev Temple also viewed

 

Been to Somnath Mahadev Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing