We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half-timbered houses and lots of stork”
Review of Ecomusee d'Alsace

Ecomusee d'Alsace
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Écomusée d'Alsace, just a 20-minute drive from Mulhouse, is the largest living, open-air museum in France. Explore an early 20th-century Alsatian village, with its streets, traditional buildings, and lush gardens and fields, and take part in all the festivities, events and demonstrations that take place in the village throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Half-timbered houses and lots of stork”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Large area with a big collection of old houses, cottages and farms from all over Alsace assembled into a live environment. Interesting to see how it looked inside the old houses and how people lived in the old days. While we visited the place there were not many activities or shows going on, but maybe we were there at the wrong time? Lots of storks on the roofs. Nice place for school groups and families if visiting while there is activity and shows.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oskaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    283
    53
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“End of June is a little bit off season?”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family visited this large outside museum for almost 3 hours totally including a light lunch. There were very many buildings as a museum and they all were accessible. We found them interesting but most of the activities or shows were either missing or only once or twice a day. On the other hand, families with very young children can't visit or see everything so for us it wasn't so big deal after all. The best part was seeing and petting nice animals and the idyllic athmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Konsta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An open-air museum and many storks”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The surrounding area has a bit of a run down look to it. But entering the museum itself is a revelation. One can see all sorts of different buildings from all over the Alsace. Most were working buildings and farms, but they also have small cottages. The interiors are done in such a way, that one realises how people had to live in those days. No simple matter. On all the roofs one can see storks, on one leg standing, in nests, with young ones...loads of them. The park is large and there is a good division between buildings and greenery. Plenty of rest places and facilities, worthwhile to visit for a couple of hours. Do not expect to see it all in one go, because I feel that in order to take it all in, one needs more than one visit. After all, each bulding is a museum in itself and tells its own story about times long passed. Wonderful place to go to with kids as well. There is also the interaction with live animals, doing there jobs of yesteryear.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something to interest all ages”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was amazing to see the variety of old houses from all over Alsace moved to this one location. Each house then functioned as a kind of museum focused on the trade of the former owners (e.g. ceramics, farming, baking, archery, etc.). There were demonstrations ranging from baking local pastries to milking a cow. Our group included my five-year-old daughter, two teenage daughters and teenage niece, my wife, myself, and my 69-year-old mother. We all had a great time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spend the day here”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a day spare and ended going here because it was close to where we were staying. We are so glad that we did because there is so much to see and do here. See other reviews for detailed descriptions but as well as the restored old buildings there are many farm animals, working horses, tractors, motorbikes and storks nesting on the roofs.

The volunteers and staff are very helpful while working in costume.

For lunch we went to the restuarant which we also recommend - good reasonably priced food. There are also other food and drink outlets cooking and baking on the premises plus a hotel which looked interesting.

It is built on an old Potash mine in the shadow of the old winding gear. No mention is made of this at the museum so if this type of thing interests you I suggest a quick look up on wikipedia prior to your visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecomusee d'Alsace also viewed

 

Been to Ecomusee d'Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing