We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bucket List experience

My 7 year old and I had an incredible time on the St Croix w Dave Conley. We were in very capable... read more

Reviewed April 12, 2022
U8363OTpatricks
Canoe the Allagash

Went on a 7-day Allagash canoe trip. Lisa and Will were terrific guides. Great canoeing on the... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2021
John S
,
Franklin, Massachusetts
Read all 120 reviews
  
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
119
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
119
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open fire wonderful trip great guide playing cards unforgettable experience croix river learning how camping gear sleeping bags bucket list lots of fun st croix allagash paddling adventure knowledge moose
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 120 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Had an amazing trip with Dave and crew on the Bonaventure River. Incredible scenery, white water, food and adventure. Meals were delicious, entire crew was helpful, river was crystal clear. Thanks to Canoe The Wild for a wonderful escape!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank transamerica1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

It was so good to have you and the crew on the Bonaventure and hope we see you on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Great guide/outfitter, with lots of attention to detail, and much emphasis on safety. The Bonaventure River is a must do trip.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Glenn, Is was a pleasure to get to know you on the Bonaventure outing and hope to see you and the crew on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Just finished a trip with Canoe the Wild and it was outstanding. Although my family and I had previous canoeing experience we all learned a great deal from our time in the water with Dave and his team who even took time to teach the kids how to pole.

I have spent enough time outdoors to know that even a one day trip can have an unexpected turn of events. Our trip was as smooth as could be expected but it was clear that the folks at Canoe the Wild have spent a significant amount of time on the water and spend a ton of time preparing for each group.

Thanks to everyone at Canoe the Wild for your patience and professionalism. We had a great time and would recommend you to anyone looking to have a wonderful canoeing experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Cookchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

It was great to have you on the Bonaventure outing and hope we see you on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

With the optimum mix of prudence and daring, Dave led our group through stunningly beautiful Bonaventure River rapids -- a fun and thrilling canoe ride. His cooking over the campfire is phenomenal too.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank KTHhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

So glad you had such a great time on the river and hope we see you again on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

My family just got back from a 4 day trip on the Allagash River with Dave. This is our second trip with Canoe The Wild; last year we did a 3 day trip on the St. Croix. As a parent I can't express how important it is to disconnect from technology and get back to the basics as a family - 10 years from now when my children are in college (eek) they'll remember these trips rather than a fun game they found on a tablet.

Dave and his other guides do a wonderful job of organizing the logistics, so you're able to participate without having to stress over the difficult things (food, camp kitchen, tents, etc). At the same time it is an opportunity for the whole family to chip in with camp chores (now if only the kids were that enthusiastic with chores at home!!!) and share a meal they helped prepare over a camp fire. Our two canoe trips have been some of the most memorable activities we've done as a family and I know the experience will be remembered by children for their lifetime. I know it won't be our last trip with Dave and Canoe The Wild.

Dave also takes wonderful photos of people, wildlife, and all the other aspects that make the trip so memorable....heck we had one of the photos in our holiday card last year! When people ask how your trip went, you just need to share the photos and they'll understand by the expression on your face.

Take the plunge, you'll love it.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank drewkellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Drew,

It was a pleasure to have your family back on the river and hope we see you again on future outings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews