We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Canoe Trip. Do Not Miss It”
Review of Canoe The Wild

Canoe The Wild
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let a Maine Guide help you get lost for a weekend and discover real Maine adventure! Get ready for a wicked good time as you paddle the wild and scenic St. Croix or Allagash River. The St Croix offers lively whitewater while the Allagash is our best trip for spotting moose! Swim, fish, learn a new skill, relax and laugh around the campfire with friends and family. Wake up to the smell of cowboy coffee brewing! Awesome meals cooked over an open fire. Canoe trips from two days & one night, family friendly & guided. Includes all necessary equipment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Canoeing the St. Croix with Canoe The Wild and our guide Tammi and helper Noah completely exceeded my expectations. The river is pristine and has lots of fun, yet very manageable, fast moving water. The surrounding area is remote and beautiful. Our campsites were clean and spacious. Tammi and Noah did a fabulous job flexing their support and guidance according to the skills and engagement of each person in our group. We were two families of four with a wide range of canoeing and outdoors experience. We were on the water for five days and four nights. Regardless of experience level everyone felt at ease the entire time. Canoe The Wild provided us with excellent equipment. Tammi provided fabulous leadership and also happened to cook outstanding meals. (Everyone loved the food and no one ever finished a meal hungry. This was a real feat given the capacity of some of us to pack food away). In fact, the entire trip could not have been easier given the professionalism and thorough planning that Tammi provided. If you are looking for an extraordinarily peaceful, social, somewhat physical and fun way to get off the grid, I would highly recommend hitching up with Canoe The Wild.

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kirkf410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bald eagles"
in 6 reviews
"open fire"
in 6 reviews
"river trip"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 4 reviews
"the entire week"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent teacher"
in 2 reviews
"expert advice"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 3 reviews
"white water"
in 5 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"excellent equipment"
in 3 reviews
"st croix river"
in 4 reviews
"skills"
in 16 reviews
"paddling"
in 8 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017

We were so very fortunate to have taken a canoe trip on the St Croix River with Dave, Tammi, and Matt of Canoe the Wild, which our family now calls "a trip of a lifetime!" Before going on this trip, we questioned whether this would be good for family members who were not completely in love with the outdoors - now everyone, even the most reluctant, are planning our next trip! We found this trip to be memorable in many ways. Some things that stood out for us were 1) the organization and structure of the trip - everything was very well planned and executed; 2) the quality of the trip - the food, supplies, and gear were top of the line; 3) the guides - they created a feeling of connectedness, bringing together several different families as a community; and 4) the rowing techniques and navigation taught throughout the trip made us feel ready to take on some of the most challenging parts of the river. We might add that Dave takes absolutely beautiful photos and shared the album with us online within one day. He captured our best moments and we have so many amazing memories to frame. Thank you, Canoe of the Wild - we shall return for many more trips!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank jisikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Jeremy, The river is the great equalizer bringing everyone together to share and learn from each other. It was a pleasure to work with your family as they learned to read the river and perfected proper canoe strokes. Looking forward to future trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

The staff from Canoe the Wild were all knowledgeable, polite, and fun to be with. My family of four attended and one item of special note is how patient and kind they were with my children (ages 7 & 9) even at sunrise when those little minds were full of questions and excitement.

The food was excellent and was locally sourced when possible. The equipment was all in good shape and obviously well cared for. The locations we stopped at were nice and offered the opportunity to swim, fish, or just enjoy the sounds of nature.

I already found myself looking ahead to what next's years schedule had to offer.....

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank drewkellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Drew, it was a pleasure to have you and your family on our river trip. Its was great to see how much fun your kids had in the outdoors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Fabulous trip down the St. Croix River, with views of both the US and Canadian sides; few other humans and no sounds of any motors; beautiful wildlife, including at least two bald eagles; and great enjoyment and company. Dave, Tammi, and Matt were patient and fun guides.

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank max n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Max, it was a pleasure to have you and your family on the St. Croix River trip. Glad you enjoyed your time on the river!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017

What a terrific experience to paddle our nation's waterways. I had a wonder full time with Dave and the crew of Canoe the Wild. Dave and his staff is very knowledgeable. They are gentle teachers and are so very generous with their knowledge of the river, canoe skills, setting up and maintaining a efficient working camp site. They helped everyone feel relaxed and confident. I am ready for another trip!! Thanks Dave, Tammi and Matthew.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Catherine67mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Catherine, It was a pleasure to have you on the St. Croix River canoe trip. Perhaps we'll see you on the Allagash next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe The Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing