We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and organized”
Review of Canoe The Wild

Canoe The Wild
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let a Maine Guide help you get lost for a weekend and discover real Maine adventure! Get ready for a wicked good time as you paddle the wild and scenic St. Croix or Allagash River. The St Croix offers lively whitewater while the Allagash is our best trip for spotting moose! Swim, fish, learn a new skill, relax and laugh around the campfire with friends and family. Wake up to the smell of cowboy coffee brewing! Awesome meals cooked over an open fire. Canoe trips from two days & one night, family friendly & guided. Includes all necessary equipment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We had a fantastic 5 day trip with Canoe the Wild on the St Croix. Tammi was a fantastic guide and far exceeded my expectation. We really enjoyed her company and our teens all felt very comfortable with her. How nice it was to see them fishing, cutting wood, playing cards, and helping with meals and camp setup while at the campsites while technology free. I was Pleasantly surprised that we had fresh delicious food everyday and for every meal. The scenery of course was beautiful. I'd highly recommend Canoe the Wild.

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank laurieg400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bald eagles"
in 6 reviews
"open fire"
in 6 reviews
"river trip"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 4 reviews
"the entire week"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent teacher"
in 2 reviews
"expert advice"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 3 reviews
"white water"
in 5 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"excellent equipment"
in 3 reviews
"st croix river"
in 4 reviews
"skills"
in 16 reviews
"paddling"
in 8 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017

Our entire family just spent 4 days on the Allagash with Dave Conley and assist, Andrew. Dave made it seem easy and the food he served for 12 of us was quite unbelievable! We had beautiful days canoeing the river and much togetherness at the campsites. This was a Christmas gift to our entire family and the memories made will last a lifetime. Thank you, Dave and Andrew, for all you did to make these 4 days special.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank irenemaxcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Irene,

It was a pleasure to guide your family and facilitate quality time together. Hope we can do it again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Amazing experience for my middle-schoolers on the St Croix. Guides were great teachers and connected quickly with the kids. The lessons they learned about paddling, river ecology, wildlife and themselves was something that will stick with them for a long time. Thank you Dave, Tammi, and Matt. We'll be back!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank tzierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Thanks Tom for bringing such a great group of middle schoolers! We look forward to connecting with you again on a future river trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

This canoe trip was absolutely amazing, being able to relax down a river in Maine is not something you get to do often! The food that was served was delicious and saw breath-taking scenery and so many beautiful animals. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who is adventurous and not afraid to get wet!

Date of experience: July 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank thomaschrisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Hi Thomas, glad you enjoyed your whitewater canoe trip down the East Branch of the Penobscot River. Hope to see you on a future canoe trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Wow, can't say enough about Dave! I took 4 high school graduates as a part of a senior trip through our church. I wasn't entirely sure what we were walking into, especially having never whitewater canoed before, but Dave was an excellent guide making sure we had a basic knowledge of safety and maneuvering and then getting us out onto the water. He had so much wilderness wisdom to share and you could tell he really enjoyed teaching us!

He provided a great lunch and dinner and kept us feeling safe and equipped the whole time. Dave handled all of the details from booking, equipment, supplies, and getting our vehicles to the bottom of the river. Dave thinks of it all, you just get to relax and enjoy the ride.

If you're comparing outfitters, I would highly recommend Dave and Canoe the Wild! There's something to be said for all of his years of experience that others can't stack up to. Also, there's a calmness about Dave that makes you feel safe and able to take on every challenge the river throws. Dave is great, can't wait to book my next trip!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Joshua, It was a pleasure outfitting and guiding your group of teens on the river. Hope we can do it again in some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe The Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing