We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip - exceeded all expectations!”
Review of Canoe The Wild

Canoe The Wild
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Weston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let a Maine Guide help you get lost for a weekend and discover real Maine adventure! Get ready for a wicked good time as you paddle the wild and scenic St. Croix or Allagash River. The St Croix offers lively whitewater while the Allagash is our best trip for spotting moose! Swim, fish, learn a new skill, relax and laugh around the campfire with friends and family. Wake up to the smell of cowboy coffee brewing! Awesome meals cooked over an open fire. Canoe trips from two days & one night, family friendly & guided. Includes all necessary equipment.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful trip with Dave and Tammi down the St Croix river! Excellent guides, they provided all the equipment and supplies and we just had to show up. They expertly instructed us on how to steer the canoes and took us through gradually more challenging waters as we built skills and confidence. Plus we explored a beautiful part of the world in a fun manner! I can't rate this operation highly enough - they really look after all the details.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank markpA2591WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness_Dave, Owner at Canoe The Wild, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Mark, you and the crew were a pleasure to have on the river. Hope to see you again on another river trip someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bald eagles"
in 6 reviews
"open fire"
in 6 reviews
"river trip"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful trip"
in 4 reviews
"the entire week"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent teacher"
in 2 reviews
"expert advice"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 3 reviews
"white water"
in 5 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"excellent equipment"
in 3 reviews
"st croix river"
in 4 reviews
"skills"
in 16 reviews
"paddling"
in 8 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2016

My husband, 2 children (5 and 7 yrs), and I had an amazing time canoeing the St. Croix river. Our guide, Dave, was an excellent teacher, (before this trip we had little to no paddling experience). Dave was great in helping us navigate the small-medium rapids, he was a wonderful camp cook, he knew all about the terrain and wildlife we encountered, and he was patient and kind with the children, (we took many breaks to catch frogs, fish, salamanders, and check out many other things that young boys find interesting. The trip was meant to get us out of our element, away from electronics and other distractions, and just be together as a family out in the wild. It WORKED! The children got dirty, hiked, fished, explored, talked to each other, helped each other, got a few bumps and bruises, and worked hard in helping paddle. They didn't even mind paddling in our brief stint with pouring rain.
We had excellent camp food, great dessert (which was well earned), the coffee was always hot and ready when we needed it, and Dave supplied all the equipment needed.
I would recommend Canoe The Wild to anyone and everyone! It was a truly special adventure that we will remember forever.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank duffandtuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

If I could rate 6 stars, I would. Our day on the St. Croix with Tami was perfect. We asked for help learning how to canoe in whitewater, and Tami was a perfect instructor for adults and teenagers. She suggested a better location than what we asked for, and she was right. We came away with great family memories, new skills in canoeing, and a teenager with even more interest in the wilderness than before.

Maine is the right place for family trips to the outdoors, and this is the right team to do it with.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank kacone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Had an amazing time on the St. Croix with Dave and Tami! Excellent guides that helped us navigate some small to medium rapids. Beautiful trip in a pristine piece of Maine. Would definitely explore other wilderness places with Canoe The Wild!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Spent several days on the St. Croix river with Canoe the Wild and had an amazing time. Wonderful and experienced guides, Tammi and Paul, had us all feeling confident about our canoeing skills that we tackled rapids (most for the first time) with confidence. The food was amazing - blueberry pancakes, salmon, and a birthday cake cooked on the campfire! The trip was very well organized and planned and exceeded expectations.

If you are looking for a well planned trip that will adapt to a variety of skills and needs, then Canoe the Wild is for you. They will take you out of the city and get you to experience and appreciate the beautiful natural surroundings while building your confidence as a camper and canoeist.

I came back refreshed and ready to do it again with my family. Thanks for bringing the love of canoeing and camping back to me!

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank gillian0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canoe The Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing