We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a fairytale wedding”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

we got married here 7th january 2011 and stayed 2 nights including the night before. there was 19 of us including a 3 year old a 2 year old and a 9 month old baby. Its a beautiful place and we couldnt have dreamed the whole experience to be as good as it was we are so pleased that we had decided to get married here as we had never seen it before we went so all the planning was from websites and phone calls.

All staff are lovely and friendly and are happy to help you with anything. all the rooms were beautiful, very clean (im very particular) and had been recently re-decourated the bridal suite is massive and we couldnt believe how beautiful it was the whirlpool bath is amazing and we really appreciated the little toouches they included non-alcoholic wine on ice instead of sparkling wine as i dont drink and 2 boxes of chocolates which we had on both days.

the food was beautiful and really big portions! we had a meal the night before at the restaurant and my partner had to eat my sticky toffee pudding as i was too full after my main course! the childrens portions were very big too and all of guests enjoyed all the meals.

the forge itself was beautiful and we really did have the most perfect day maggie the wedding co-ordinator was a huge help and everything ran smothly. we had fiona and june for hair and makeup, paul m taylor for photography and videography, craig irving scottish piper, a dove story dove release and tartan carriages horse and carriage ride all services were exceptional and would reccommend them all to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iluvmababyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 649 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2011

we had or wedding at the mill on the 29th jan 2011.we could not have asked for any thing better. The staff was friendly and allways happy to help from the management to the house keepers. We had the bridal suite which was fantastic, our family members rooms where very nice aswell had no one complained about them. On our wedding day the staff were fantastic again at every thing they did for us. if you are thinking of getting married in gretna green this is the place to come. We are even thinking of going back next year for a short break.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russell29012011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

we got married here 7th january 2011 and stayed 2 nights including the night before. there was 19 of us including a 3 year old a 2 year old and a 9 month old baby. Its a beautiful place and we couldnt have dreamed the whole experience to be as good as it was we are so pleased that we had decided to get married here as we had never seen it before we went so all the planning was from websites and phone calls.

All staff are lovely and friendly and are happy to help you with anything. all the rooms were beautiful, very clean (im very particular) and had been recently re-decourated the bridal suite is massive and we couldnt believe how beautiful it was the whirlpool bath is amazing and we really appreciated the little toouches they included non-alcoholic wine on ice instead of sparkling wine as i dont drink and 2 boxes of chocolates which we had on both days.

the food was beautiful and really big portions! we had a meal the night before at the restaurant and my partner had to eat my sticky toffee pudding as i was too full after my main course! the childrens portions were very big too and all of guests enjoyed all the meals.

the forge itself was beautiful and we really did have the most perfect day maggie the wedding co-ordinator was a huge help and everything ran smothly. we had fiona and june for hair and makeup, paul m taylor for photography and videography, craig irving scottish piper, a dove story dove release and tartan carriages horse and carriage ride all services were exceptional and would reccommend them all to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvmababyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My new wife and i had the best day of our lives at the mill forge hotel the staff were so helpful the food was top quality the room we had was second to none clean and tidy and also tastefully decorated our guests also commented on what a very good venue we had chosen all in all a great time had by everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

we got married here on 27th November, we only had 18 guests and it was great.. the staff were really pleasnt and very helpful. we had the bridal suite and it was really clean!! we got chocolate and champagne each morning. the food was really nice and presented lovely. the staff make us feel really special!!! the vicar "john carr" was absoloutly great he made us feel really confortable and tried to calm our nerves, he was also great with the kids.. the grounds were also really pretty and as we had snow the pictures are amazing. it was a really special and great wedding!!!! x

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenkev8579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We were married at the Mill Forge 06/11/10. The attention we received from the staff was excellent. The food was good. The actual place where we said our vows was lovely, very romantic. The "disco" in the evening was actually the staff playing CDs but this doesnt cost extra and we stll managed out first dance. The rooms were very clean. I loved the bridal suite - I was in and out of the jacuzzi! I would love to go back for my anniversary. one downside - when visiting I was worried abou the noise I could hear from the motorway but I did NOT hear traffic in my room, and I didnt notice the traffic noise when having our photos taken as I was too excited! You cant see the motorway at all. Overall I am so happy we chose this location for our special day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We went for our wedding with our family. Our rooms were amazing, good size, especially the bridal suite (which had gorgeous champagne and chocloates on our arrival). Our family were happy with their rooms, good size and comfortable.
Our meal was gorgeous, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and really made our weekend perfect.
The surroundings were stunning, lots of gorgeous wedding pictures.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
2.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
926 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: $65 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing