We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wedding at the Mill Forge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect wedding at the Mill Forge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We were married at the Mill Forge 06/11/10. The attention we received from the staff was excellent. The food was good. The actual place where we said our vows was lovely, very romantic. The "disco" in the evening was actually the staff playing CDs but this doesnt cost extra and we stll managed out first dance. The rooms were very clean. I loved the bridal suite - I was in and out of the jacuzzi! I would love to go back for my anniversary. one downside - when visiting I was worried abou the noise I could hear from the motorway but I did NOT hear traffic in my room, and I didnt notice the traffic noise when having our photos taken as I was too excited! You cant see the motorway at all. Overall I am so happy we chose this location for our special day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    54
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
229
218
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We went for our wedding with our family. Our rooms were amazing, good size, especially the bridal suite (which had gorgeous champagne and chocloates on our arrival). Our family were happy with their rooms, good size and comfortable.
Our meal was gorgeous, all the staff were very friendly and helpful and really made our weekend perfect.
The surroundings were stunning, lots of gorgeous wedding pictures.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We got married at the Mill Forge last weekend (3oth Oct). We were a bit worried as it was just the 2 of us but we were made to feel welcome and comfortable from the minute we arrived! Nothing was too much trouble.

The bridal suite was perfectly decorated, wonderfully clean & all the little treats were repeated on our second night (chocs & bubbly!). The gardens were so well kept making a lovely backdrop for photos.

We would highly recommend getting married here to anyone, top notch from start to finish. Thank you so much for making our wedding day perfect! xx

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthdavies1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

we got married at the mill on friday 22 oct and it was the best day of our lifes the staff at the mill could not do enough for us,our guests stayed at the the mill was impressed and had a good time, I had my hair and makeup done by fiona and june what a good job they did my flowers by gretna flower basket was lovely

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

I got married @ The Mll Forge Sept 2010 booking online I must admit was a bit risky but all information provided was accurate and the staff are very friend and happy to help with any questions. When we arrived at the mill forge day before the wedding (5 hour journey) we checked in and was given our room key straight away, although the weather was not the best it still looked really pretty, we had other friends staying at other hotels in the area but decided to eat at the mill they were happy to accomodate our guests(12 including 2 chilren) and we all had a lovely meal, after that we all went to our room (bridal suite) and had a few drinks the room is very spacious and clean. The wedding day itself was great well organised, the Forge is a lovely building the gardens are also lovely it was raining on our wedding day but it did not matter and we still have photos outside with the kissing gate in the background and the wheel. We would not change a thing. The staff are very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSmith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Got married here 20th July with a group of 26 guests. We had booked the bridal suite for 2 nights which are absolutely fab!!!. Very clean and luxurious with a lot of nice little touches. The other guests had booked a variety of rooms but were all very pleased with there accomodation.
On the wedding day itself the staff were so friendly and helpful and took all the worry out of the big day!!!, although they do weddings day in and day out they still have that personal touch to make you feel as though you are the only one getting married. The booking from start to finish was easy and very stress free.
The minister was Jack Strachan who was so nice and made every feel relaxed and had a good sence of humour too!!!, Hazel Carpenter as the photographer, excellent and craig irving as the piper, again excellent..
The food served in the evening was very tatsy and plentiful, the only downside was on the day it was quite warm and we were in the upstairs room for the meal and it got very hot and stuffy despite fans being on!! but hey only a minor issue!!
The grounds are beautiful and kept so tidy and clean that they are a pleasure to walk around and have your wedding pics taken there.
Overall i would recommend this location to anyone for a more intimate wedding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daz3444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

I got married here on 14th Sept 2010. arriving the day before to pouring down rain and very strong wind I was still blown away by the beauty and charm of the Mill Forge, the grounds are so beautiful.

The staff are very helpful, everyone from the cleaners, bar staff and Maggie the wedding co-ordinator, they all made us feel like we were the most important people in the world. Even tho there were 5 weddings in total on the same day as ours you never would of guessed it, each wedding is so different and its lovely to speak to the other brides and grooms the day before your weddings. Even more amazing to see other people as happy as we are getting married on the morning when i was getting ready in the bridal suite for my own marriage, or having them come out to tell you how beautiful you look whilst being piped to the Forge.

The food is very tastey and offers a wide variety catering for all tastes, the waiting staff in the morning were very helpful, especially with my fussy little boy. And the bridal suite was huge, very clean and welcoming, with champage and chocolates waiting on our arrival, the huge whirlpool bath is a great way to unwind after a long day.

The Forge itself is a lovely building filled with character and personality, even better was the fact we could have a religious service here conducted by a minister-not many hotels are able to do that. The wedding service itself took around 30 mins and was very relaxed, and as the rain was so bad Maggie even let us throw confetti in the porch of the Forge as we couldnt do it outside. As I said before nothing is too much trouble. I was able to decorate the roundhouse myself as I had taken my own centerpieces and decorations, the staff were happy to let me do this, and luckily the weather got better later so we were able to go out and take photos in the beautiful grounds as the sun was setting. My party of guests were the only ones who attended the disco and having that opportunity to have our first dance was wonderful. The staff even brought our cake to our guests in the evening, which was much appreciated.

I have to admit to shedding alittle tear when the time came to leave. The Mill Forge truely is a magical place which my words alone dont do justice. If youre thinking about getting married here I would definatly reccommend it, everything added together really did make my day the happiest, I couldnt of asked for more and wouldnt change a single thing. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_M_Coates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
2.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Property: The Mill Forge
Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing